Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: High ping downloads fine

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    5

    High ping downloads fine

    Ok so I have been having an issue for the past month and I am just at my wits end.

    Usually when I play games online I get anywhere from 50-80ms ping. Lately, especially at night, I get 150-200ms on servers that I have played on for years.

    Here is a tracert to Google:

    Tracing route to www.google.com [66.102.7.99]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 13 ms <1 ms <1 ms . [192.168.2.1]
    2 12 ms 146 ms 28 ms 10.32.216.1
    3 14 ms 17 ms 22 ms ip68-2-1-49.ph.ph.cox.net [68.2.1.49]
    4 27 ms 36 ms 26 ms 70.169.75.90
    5 118 ms 67 ms 28 ms 72.214.144.69
    6 73 ms 54 ms 24 ms langbprj02-ae2.0.rd.la.cox.net [68.1.1.231]
    7 * 79 ms 73 ms 216.239.46.180
    8 44 ms 36 ms 253 ms 72.14.239.246
    9 49 ms 64 ms 42 ms www.l.google.com [66.102.7.99]

    Trace complete.

    My router is a Belkin Surf 300n
    Here are my modem stats (Motorola SB5101)

    Downstream:
    Frequency 579000000 Hz
    Signal To Noise Ratio 37.7 dB
    Power Level 3.7 dBmV

    Upstream:
    Channel ID 1
    Frequency 34500000 Hz
    Power 35.7 dBmV


    I had my modem plugged in with a tv and lamp that are usually always off, but I moved it to my desk before I took these readings, only thing that changed was the Downstream power went from 1.7dBmV to the 3.7dBmV.

    I know that my router and modem are the culprits but I can't figure out what it is for the life of me. I have had this setup for years with no issues until a month or so ago. Modem and router both run pretty cool.

    I appreciate any advice. Let me know if you need more info.

  2. #2
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Did you sit the modem near a electrical object such as a lamp or speaker? How is the cable line run from your modem to the outside box then to the pole..is it new, is it split off at any point, does it look bent, have you had alot of electrical surges?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    5
    I just remembered that we had moved around the furniture since the problem began and it used to only be about 2 feet from the lamp and right next to the router.

    The cable outlet is only a few feet from the modem, but there is a splitter for the cable tv.

    I do think the socket it was plugged into before was a bit iffy but even on a new, more reliable, socket the issue persists.

    I live in an apartment complex so I am not sure exactly where the cable goes outside of my wall.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    5
    Here is a Google tracert when I bypass the splitter (though this is afternoon rather than evening)

    Tracing route to www.google.com [66.102.7.104]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms 1 ms 2 ms . [192.168.2.1]
    2 90 ms 66 ms 63 ms 10.32.216.1
    3 53 ms 112 ms 100 ms ip68-2-1-53.ph.ph.cox.net [68.2.1.53]
    4 53 ms 54 ms 57 ms 70.169.75.94
    5 73 ms 85 ms 74 ms mcdldsrj01-ae2.0.rd.ph.cox.net [70.169.76.225]
    6 138 ms 77 ms 51 ms langbprj02-ae2.0.rd.la.cox.net [68.1.1.231]
    7 100 ms 60 ms 112 ms 216.239.46.180
    8 123 ms 108 ms 131 ms 64.233.174.70
    9 91 ms * 71 ms www.l.google.com [66.102.7.104]

    Trace complete.

  5. #5
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Well your downstream power level numbers didn't move enough to really cause a issue. What is the server your connecting to for what game? Can you post a tracert to that IP# for the game server? Also post a www.speedtest.net result? Also wouldn't hurt to have a TCP Analyzer report

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    5
    The server I am usually connecting to is for Day of Defeat: Source

    tracert for the server (which is located in Atlanta, GA)

    Code:
    Tracing route to 68.232.178.178 over a maximum of 30 hops
    
      1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  . [192.168.2.1]
      2    15 ms    11 ms    54 ms  10.32.216.1
      3    28 ms    31 ms    29 ms  ip68-2-1-53.ph.ph.cox.net [68.2.1.53]
      4    13 ms    14 ms    14 ms  70.169.75.94
      5    23 ms    39 ms    29 ms  mcdldsrj01-ae2.0.rd.ph.cox.net [70.169.76.225]
      6    25 ms    27 ms    27 ms  langbprj01-ae0.0.rd.la.cox.net [68.1.0.232]
      7    37 ms    39 ms    58 ms  ae0-50g.cr1.lax1.us.nlayer.net [69.31.127.137]
      8    63 ms    74 ms    48 ms  te1-3.ar1.iah1.us.nlayer.net [69.22.142.121]
      9    71 ms    73 ms    68 ms  xe-4-2-1.cr1.atl1.us.nlayer.net [69.22.142.118]
    
     10    84 ms    71 ms   148 ms  ae1-40g.ar1.atl1.us.nlayer.net [69.31.135.130]
     11   136 ms    73 ms    74 ms  68.232.178.178
    
    Trace complete.
    The thing about this is, once I am in game it seems to choke on the packets...but no loss. Causes some major hiccups and lag skyrockets. If I exit and immediately do a tracert it looks like above. This seems to happen on all games, even when playing on my PS3.


    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 11.30.2010 20:40
    IP address: 24.56.xx.xxx
    Client OS: Windows 7

    TCP options string: 020405b401010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 17520 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0 bits
    Unscaled RWIN : 17520
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 701kbps (88KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 280kbps (35KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 117
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)



    Download isn't usually so low. I am Cox Preferred which is 12mbps+

  7. #7
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by deadpixel View Post

    Download isn't usually so low. I am Cox Preferred which is 12mbps+
    I'd start first with calling Cox and have them look at everything..if your on a 12mbps package your not getting anywhere near that so they may have issues with your lines or within your area causing this problem.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    5
    I ran the speed test again this morning



    I am really at a loss. Cox has said they see no issues

  9. #9
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by deadpixel View Post
    I ran the speed test again this morning



    I am really at a loss. Cox has said they see no issues
    so we are to assume your having most of your issues at night huh? If so wait till your seeing them then get them on the phone and explain what your seeing.

    May also fire up www.pingplotter.com and set to 1 second trace intervals and see if your getting packet loss which is a very very quick way to get one of their techs to your door...you just can't have that with modern gaming or FTP transfers that need that steady stream.

Similar Threads

  1. High ping to my gateway address(2nd hop)
    By beejayLOL in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-20-10, 06:18 AM
  2. High Ping - But Fast Downloads =/
    By Tsuchigo in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-03-08, 09:52 AM
  3. High PING Problem
    By deapsea in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 02-14-08, 04:18 AM
  4. Help! High Ping Times
    By FaZe in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-05-07, 10:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •