Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30

Thread: TCP Optimizer version 3.0.6 released

  1. #1
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6

    Lightbulb TCP Optimizer version 3.0.6 released

    We've updated the SG TCP Optimizer!

    As with all 3.x versions the software supports all Windows OSes from Windows 9x to the latest Windows 7 release in both x86 and x64 variants.

    This build 3.0.6 is now the latest stable release.

    It can be downloaded from the same location as previous releases:



    Please post bug reports, comments and feedback about the release in this thread.

    For any personal questions, help with tuning your connection, please start a new thread with your current settings and enough information so we can help you.

    The online documentation is not yet updated with all new settings, but available here: TCP Optimizer Documentation
    The documentation includes a changelog as well.

    Changes:
    3.0.6
    - fixed a program crash under Windows 2008 Server.
    - added traceroute capability to the MTU/Latency tab.
    - improved netsh current settings reading under Swedish versions of Windows.

    3.0.5
    - bug fix for Windows XP/2k - wrong values selected for TCPAckFrequency and TCPDelAckTicks only when opting to modify "All network adapters" as reported here.
    - improved international Windows support. Program should now read netsh settings correctly for many languages.
    - minor internal improvements

    You can view previous updates and past issues with the program in the following threads:
    version 3.0.4
    version 3.0.3
    version 3.0.2
    version 3.0/3.0.1
    version 2.0.3
    version 2.0.2 final version 2.0.2 RC2 version 2.0.2 RC1 version 2.0.2 beta
    version 2.0.1 final
    version 2.0.0 final version 2 beta


    Feedback:
    Please post any constructive feedback and bug reports in this thread.

    We'd especially like to know if you're running an international version of Windows whether the current netsh settings (General tab) are correctly recognized by the program with the new version. If you're running an international version and some current setting is not being read correctly by the Optimizer, please execute these in command prompt and post the output so we can take a closer look:

    netsh int tcp show global
    netsh int ipv4 show subinterface
    netsh int tcp show heuristics

    Note: Any posts asking questions about how to tweak your internet connection using the Optimizer should be posted in a separate thread, and will be deleted or moved from this thread.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  2. #2
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    I've used the 3.0.4 on a few Xp systems over the last few days and I never noticed a issue with the "all network adaptors".


    What are the minor internal improvements?

  3. #3
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    Mainly netsh international Windows support, parsing netsh current settings in different languages.

  4. #4
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    no promblems in windows 7 x64

    What's odd it did trun on reverse side scailing.
    Comptia a+ n+

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    7
    Hi,

    Windows 7 64 bit (French)

    The only thing that is badly reported on Current is MTU=0

    Selecting Optimal show MTU=1500


    Thank you very much for this great tool!

  6. #6
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by wmaniac View Post
    Hi,

    Windows 7 64 bit (French)

    The only thing that is badly reported on Current is MTU=0

    Selecting Optimal show MTU=1500


    Thank you very much for this great tool!
    Thanks for the feedback, we try. What do you get when you try this command in command prompt ?

    netsh int ipv4 show subinterface

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    Thanks for the feedback, we try. What do you get when you try this command in command prompt ?

    netsh int ipv4 show subinterface


    MTU État détect supp O entrant O sortant Interface
    ------ --------------- --------- --------- -------------
    4294967295 1 0 0 Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1
    1500 1 7341816376 4651600430 Connexion au réseau XXX

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3
    This new version no longer causes the extreme slowdown I saw in previous 3.0.x versions.
    Thanks for fixing the bug.

  9. #9
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    Updated to version 3.0.6 - change log is in the first post.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    8
    All perfect Philip except for current MTU value = 0 (windows 7 32bit ITA)

  11. #11
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    What's LargeSystemCache for ? I didn't find its definition in TCP Optimizer documentation !
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  12. #12
    Regular Member 100 010 00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Between the legs
    Posts
    196
    It is an old tweak (from win98) and has good results, if the amount of memory is more than enough. if the value=0 the amount of memory that windows uses to cache in the HD is only up to 8MB and if it is 1, the windows uses up to 80MB (if i remember well), but u may experience crashes sometimes, espessialy with some ati drivers. In a new pc with dual core cpu and an amount of memory more that 2G, is good to enable it and it will increase the overall performance. It is good for servers too, but if u are a gamer leave it default or disable it
    There is no patch for stupidity

  13. #13

    Bad MTU report with 3.06





    Win 7 X64 French

  14. #14
    XP + akbarri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Caterpillar Inc
    Posts
    938
    Blog Entries
    3
    Max "MaxUserPort" = 65534 or 65535 ??

    from :
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/e...displaylang=en

    MaxUserPort
    Key: Tcpip\Parameters
    Value Type: REG_DWORD—maximum port number
    Valid Range: 5000–65534 (decimal)
    Default: 0x1388 (5000 decimal)

    # OS: Windows, Linux # Browser: Blink, Gecko, Presto, Webkit + Squid + Bind

  15. #15
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Can TCPO detect modem/router 's brand & model ?

    In case : http://forums.speedguide.net/showpos...91&postcount=4
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  16. #16
    Regular Member 100 010 00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Between the legs
    Posts
    196
    Something i have noticed....

    I use to use MTU more than 1500 (actually 1514) and if i want to optimize a gigabit lan, i cant do that with optimizer, cause u have set a limit to 1500. Plz fix it Philip.

    P.S. Rolling? i think this is impossible
    There is no patch for stupidity

  17. #17
    Regular Member 100 010 00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Between the legs
    Posts
    196
    "deleted"
    There is no patch for stupidity

  18. #18
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Quote Originally Posted by 100 010 00 View Post
    Something i have noticed....

    I use to use MTU more than 1500 (actually 1514) and if i want to optimize a gigabit lan, i cant do that with optimizer, cause u have set a limit to 1500. Plz fix it Philip.

    P.S. Rolling? i think this is impossible
    RegEdit ?
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  19. #19
    Regular Member 100 010 00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Between the legs
    Posts
    196
    of course!
    There is no patch for stupidity

  20. #20
    Junior Member Hirschgoulasch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6

    Question

    German - Windows 7 x64 - MTU shows zero.

    netsh int ipv4 show subinterface

    says:

    C:\Users\Admin>netsh int ipv4 show subinterface

    MTU Medienerkennungsstatus Bytes eingehend Bytes ausgehend Schnittstelle
    ------ --------------- --------- --------- -------------
    4294967295 1 0 25838 Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1
    1500 5 0 0 LAN-Verbindung 1000
    1448 1 1552858815 52327233 LAN-Verbindung 100
    1500 5 0 0 Tunngle


    C:\Users\Admin>

    My internet LAN is the "LAN-Verbindung 100", the other one is internal.

    I suggest that the phrase "LAN-Verbindung" should be the one you have to use in coding to recognize setting on german x64 machines because that is the default name of a LAN, the numbers are set by me to tell the speed.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-16-10, 11:02 AM
  2. TCP Optimizer version 3.0.3 released (64-bit Windows 7/2008 fix)
    By Philip in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 09-06-10, 11:18 AM
  3. TCP Optimizer version 3.0.2 released (Windows 7/Vista support !)
    By Philip in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-29-10, 04:07 PM
  4. Attacks on certain ports
    By clown01 in forum Network Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-07-09, 07:00 AM
  5. Port 7000
    By clown01 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-25-08, 09:21 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •