Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: What’s the best way to ghost my C drive?

  1. #1
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219

    What’s the best way to ghost my C drive?

    I have an older 30 gig Raptor and I’d like to use my newer 70 gig Raptor instead and still have the extra space usable.

    Do I just tap my pencil three times and say alla gazam or do you know a better way?



    :EDIT: On second thought maybe this belongs in the software forum.


    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  2. #2
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786
    WD should have software on their site to clone.

  3. #3
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,148
    i love acronis true image, works great for me.

    this thread reminds me to image me C-drive this weekend

  4. #4
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark View Post
    i love acronis true image, works great for me.
    ditto

  5. #5
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    ditto
    ditto the ditto.

  6. #6
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786
    I think WD has a crippled version of Acronis on their site.


    http://support.wdc.com/product/downl...19&wdc_lang=en

  7. #7
    Senior Member Easto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    5,042
    Very timely info for me. My raptor appears to have a problem and I'd like to clone it. Has anyone used the WD program? Easy?

  8. #8
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,940
    Most of the hard drive brands out there have free tools you can download from their site...often yes an stripped version of Acronis, which will check to make sure one of your pair of drives is their brand before proceeding. And yes easy.

    For other software....pay for, Acronis, or Paragon Software are two examples.
    For "free" 3rd party software, I also like P.I.N.G. (Partimage Is Not Ghost), there are others like Macrium Reflect, Euseus Disk Copy, DriveImageXML, Clonezilla, amongst others.

    And if you're using Windows 7....it's built in for free!
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  9. #9
    Senior Member Easto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    5,042
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post

    And if you're using Windows 7....it's built in for free!
    Please explain

  10. #10
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,940
    Quote Originally Posted by Easto View Post
    Please explain
    Off your Start button type in "backup" without the quotes. This brings up the Back and Restore wizard.

    Two choices on the left..one of which you haven't seen in prior versions of Windows..."Create a system image". The other one is Create a system repair disk.
    Windows 7 now supports making disk images with its own backup utility. You can even backup the images across a network. You also don't need partition management software to resize your partitions..it can be done natively now.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  11. #11
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post

    And if you're using Windows 7....it's built in for free!
    That f'n rocks! I love it.

  12. #12
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219
    Thanks for the help. Acronis True Image is what I think I’ll be using.

    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  13. #13
    A+, S+, M+, C+, CySA+ Shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4,436
    Blog Entries
    1
    On some of my systems, I've used Macrium Reflect Free. As long as the bootable recovery CD/DVD works in your system, the program is awesome, even across a LAN.
    _______________________________________________
    Vendor neutral certified in IT Project Management, IT Security, Cisco Networking, Cisco Security, Wide Area Networks, IPv6, IT Hardware, Unix, Linux, and Windows server administration

  14. #14
    A+, S+, M+, C+, CySA+ Shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4,436
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark View Post
    i love acronis true image, works great for me.

    this thread reminds me to image me C-drive this weekend
    _______________________________________________
    Vendor neutral certified in IT Project Management, IT Security, Cisco Networking, Cisco Security, Wide Area Networks, IPv6, IT Hardware, Unix, Linux, and Windows server administration

  15. #15
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786
    EASEUS TODO backup.

    A colleague swears by this.

  16. #16
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465
    just adding my two cents:

    Depends on what HD company you buy from buy they usually provide some ghosting software on their site. My personal favourite is acronis (usually comes with non-oem drives).
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

  17. #17
    single malt maroon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Memphis
    Posts
    263
    Is there any limit to how many times you can clone a drive? Does it create extra overhead on the copy or anything like that?

  18. #18
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,940
    Quote Originally Posted by maroon View Post
    Is there any limit to how many times you can clone a drive? Does it create extra overhead on the copy or anything like that?
    Some cloning software is limited in the amount of times it can be used...but most aren't, such as the freebies and most of the standard retail products you have in the long selection.

    There's usually not anything "added" to each clone that adds overhead.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  19. #19
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,940
    Quote Originally Posted by CableDude View Post
    EASEUS TODO backup.

    A colleague swears by this.
    Easeus is great for compatibility with lots of newer hardware, it's fine "if you have the time"...but for a tech doing an onsite, it's not practical. If you're using to Ghost or True Image...the cloning operation is usually under 30 minutes on most modern hardware. However with Easeus...it's at least a several hour affair. I love the software, I'll use it when I can do the image overnight..because it can take overnight.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  20. #20
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Easeus is great for compatibility with lots of newer hardware, it's fine "if you have the time"...but for a tech doing an onsite, it's not practical. If you're using to Ghost or True Image...the cloning operation is usually under 30 minutes on most modern hardware. However with Easeus...it's at least a several hour affair. I love the software, I'll use it when I can do the image overnight..because it can take overnight.
    never used it.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-04-09, 08:17 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-22-09, 05:57 AM
  3. Other Software like Norton Ghost Corporate?
    By Brent in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-10-08, 05:47 PM
  4. Umm how does it work?
    By Rivas in forum Console Gaming
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-11-07, 12:27 AM
  5. ok I'm really confused (external drive Q.)
    By 9mmprincess in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-07-07, 03:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •