Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Please help TCP Optimizer version (here 3.0.3) does not save any changes being admin

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs down Please help TCP Optimizer version (here 3.0.3) does not save any changes being admin

    Hi,

    I am using Windows 7 (64-Bit) and TCP Optimizer version 3.0.3. Type of connection is ADSL (PPPoE via Belkin router). My is ISP is Alice with 16K connection.

    « SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results »
    Tested on: 08.13.2010 18:09
    IP address: 78.54.x.xxx(proxy:80.239.242.30)
    Client OS: Windows 7

    TCP options string: 020405b40402080a8fd9c91b0000000001030307
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 5888 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 7 bits (2^7=128)
    Unscaled RWIN : 46
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 236kbps (29KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 94kbps (12KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 54
    Timestamps: ON
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)



    I got massive problems with loading some pages. Problems means: The pages do not load. what means i see only white pages and the browser never stops loading and loading and loading. This happens with IE, Firefox, Opera and Safari. Examples: amazon basket, a lot of other shop/basket pages, some microsoft support pages, Some games in Facebook (but the facebook wireframe loads). Even in Opera i get some better results when i activate Opera Turbo. (but its damn slow)

    Starting TCP Optimizer, it shows me:

    MTU:0
    TCP Window Auto-Tuning: disabled
    Congestion Control provider: ctcp
    TCP Chimney Offload: default
    Receive-Side Scaling State: default
    Direct Cache Access (DCA): default
    NetDMA (TCPA): default
    Time to Live (TTL): 64
    ECN Capability: default
    Window Scaling heuristics: default
    Checksum Offloading: enabled:0
    TCP 1323 Options: x Window Scaling


    Choosing Optimal, it shows me:

    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window Auto-Tuning: normal
    Congestion Control provider: ctcp
    TCP Chimney Offload: enabled
    Receive-Side Scaling State: enabled
    Direct Cache Access (DCA): enabled
    NetDMA (TCPA): enabled
    Time to Live (TTL): 64
    ECN Capability: enabled
    Window Scaling heuristics: default
    Checksum Offloading: enabled:0
    TCP 1323 Options: x Window Scaling


    After Reboot, it shows me the following again:

    MTU:0
    TCP Window Auto-Tuning: disabled
    Congestion Control provider: ctcp
    TCP Chimney Offload: default
    Receive-Side Scaling State: default
    Direct Cache Access (DCA): default
    NetDMA (TCPA): default
    Time to Live (TTL): 64
    ECN Capability: default
    Window Scaling heuristics: default
    Checksum Offloading: enabled:0
    TCP 1323 Options: x Window Scaling

    So it seems nothing changed.

    but now its starts getting "funny". When i use netsh int tcp show global
    after the same rebooting (German description), I see
    Empfangsseite: enabled
    Chimney-Abladestatus: enabled
    NetDMA-Status: enabled
    Direkter Cachezugriff (DCA): enabled
    Autom. Absimmungsgrad Empfangsfenster: normal
    Add-On "Überlastungssteuerungsanbieter": ctcp
    ECN-Funktion: enabled
    RFC 1323-Zeitstempel: disabled

    Anybody can help me? Pleeeeeaaaaase!

    Thank you in advance.
    Last edited by Tobiko; 08-13-10 at 05:12 PM.

  2. #2
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by Tobiko View Post
    but now its starts getting "funny". When i use netsh int tcp show global
    after the same rebooting (German description), I see
    Empfangsseite: enabled
    Chimney-Abladestatus: enabled
    NetDMA-Status: enabled
    Direkter Cachezugriff (DCA): enabled
    Autom. Absimmungsgrad Empfangsfenster: normal
    Add-On "Überlastungssteuerungsanbieter": ctcp
    ECN-Funktion: enabled
    RFC 1323-Zeitstempel: disabled
    These properties are correct. The last item is Timestamp which is correctly disabled.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    IP address: 78.54.x.xxx(proxy:80.239.242.30)
    TCP Window: 5888 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    Using Proxy program ? (like Toonel ?)
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1

    Post

    Hello! You might want to try with ECN off
    Explicit Congestion Notification (ECN) is an extension to the Internet Protocol and to the Transmission Control Protocol and is defined in RFC 3168 (2001). ECN allows end-to-end notification of network congestion without dropping packets. ECN is an optional feature that is only used when both endpoints support it and are willing to use it. It is only effective when supported by the underlying network.

    Traditionally, TCP/IP networks signal congestion by dropping packets. When ECN is successfully negotiated, an ECN-aware router may set a mark in the IP header instead of dropping a packet in order to signal impending congestion. The receiver of the packet echoes the congestion indication to the sender, which must react as though a packet was dropped.

    Some outdated or buggy network equipment drops packets with ECN bits set, rather than ignoring the bits.[1]
    from wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Explici...n_Notification

    I remember I had lags and timeout with ECN on, and as soon as I disabled it (win7 64bit also) the net started to run fast and those problems went away.

    To disable ECN, in elevated command prompt type:

    netsh int tcp set global ecncapability=disabled

    more details here: http://www.speedguide.net/read_articles.php?id=2574

    then check it with:

    netsh int tcp show global

    I don't think a reboot is needed but just in case nothing seems to change, you might try rebooting before going back to normal..
    Hope this helps..

    Note that I had a direct connection to the internet, no router, well there was a modem on LAN and it was a pppoe through it, though it wasn't a belkin-like router that was doing the auth for me(the auth was done from my comp). However now, I enabled ECN (w/o rebooting) while using a belkin router (like in your case) and I have no such problems (I'm too lazy to try connect directly bypassing the router, with ECN enabled to see if those problem are there in that case) because I have active connections that I don't want to interrupt
    I'm assuming that the belkin n+ router knows ECN...

    On another note these are my settings now with the belkin router:
    Querying active state...

    TCP Global Parameters
    ----------------------------------------------
    Receive-Side Scaling State : enabled
    Chimney Offload State : enabled
    NetDMA State : enabled
    Direct Cache Acess (DCA) : disabled
    Receive Window Auto-Tuning Level : normal
    Add-On Congestion Control Provider : ctcp
    ECN Capability : enabled
    RFC 1323 Timestamps : disabled


    C:\Users\Joe>

    By the way, let us know if you solved your problem (and how) so we don't bother worrying

    EDIT: nevermind, if you were using a proxy...
    EDIT2: seems comodo firewall + ECN had issues (I had comodo) here http://forums.comodo.com/bug-report-...8583#msg368583
    Last edited by joerandom; 08-28-10 at 03:12 AM.

  5. #5
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,478
    Blog Entries
    6
    The current version of the Optimizer (3.0.3) has a problem reading the current netsh settings for international versions of Windows. It still applies/changes the settings correctly, as can be verified by: ( netsh int tcp show global ) in command prompt.

    We're working on resolving the issue for the next update, we'll probably have to parse the netsh output in different languages...

Similar Threads

  1. Back to School Specials from Circuit City Save up 50% Until August 31
    By howard lee in forum alt.internet.wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-26-09, 08:29 PM
  2. Help with TCP Optimizer
    By fernalfer in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-07-09, 07:13 PM
  3. Replies: 41
    Last Post: 02-22-09, 12:53 AM
  4. Please Help :( TCP Optimizer version 2.0.3
    By Willing2Learn in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-27-06, 09:57 PM
  5. Weird Problems with TCP Optimizer
    By aman01 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-26-06, 09:02 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •