Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: TCP Optimizer version 3.0.3 released (64-bit Windows 7/2008 fix)

  1. #1
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,370
    Blog Entries
    6

    Exclamation TCP Optimizer version 3.0.3 released (64-bit Windows 7/2008 fix)

    I'd like to announce the release of TCP Optimizer version 3.0.3 today, including a fix for 64-bit OSes (Windows 7/Vista/Server 2008) not retaining some netsh settings. As with all 3.x versions the software supports all Windows OSes from Windows 9x to the latest Windows 7 release in both x86 and x64 variants.

    This version 3.0.3 is now the latest stable release.

    It can be downloaded from the same location as previous releases:



    Please post bug reports, comments and feedback about the release in this thread.

    For any personal questions, help with tuning your connection, please start a new thread with your current settings and enough information so we can help you.

    The online documentation is not yet updated with all new settings, but available here: TCP Optimizer Documentation
    The documentation includes a changelog as well.

    You can view previous updates and past issues with the program in the following threads:
    version 3.0.2
    version 3.0/3.0.1
    version 2.0.3
    version 2.0.2 final version 2.0.2 RC2 version 2.0.2 RC1 version 2.0.2 beta
    version 2.0.1 final
    version 2.0.0 final version 2 beta


    Changes from version 3.0.2:
    - changed 64-bit OS handling to avoid 32-bit access issues causing some netsh settings not to remain persistent after reboot (thanks for the comprehensive feedback Doug).
    - changed Direct Cache Access (DCA) and NetDMA (TCPA) handling in Windows 7
    - minor internal improvements


    Note: Any posts asking questions about how to tweak your internet connection using the Optimizer should be posted in a separate thread, and will be moved from here.

  2. #2
    Junior Member rufnredde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    UsA
    Posts
    18
    Just finished some quick testing everything is working fine in 3.0.3, works with both Win7 and Server 2008 R2.

    Your welcome for the feedback, glad I could help.
    -Life is Short, Enjoy It -
    Specs:Gigabyte X38-DQ6; Xeon X3350@3.2GHz; 8GB DDR2; ATI HD5770;
    Realtek PCIe NIC; Linksys WRT54G, TRENDnet TEW-652BRP

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    5
    After i read the new forum post i downloaded the new version. I opened the program with administrator rights and the issue still exists. My "current" Settings are not shown right. For example i have turned on "chimney offload" but tcp optimizers says under "current" "TCP Chimney Offload = Default" or "TCP Window Auto tuning = normal" in the program under "current" its disabled.

    I just checked it with the command : netsh interface tcp show global

  4. #4
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,370
    Blog Entries
    6
    eXOdus, what OS, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 ?
    IPv4 or IPv6 ? Which current setting exactly ?
    Did you try applying any changes with the Optimizer ?
    It seems to read the current settings fine with our test boxes, please make sure you're running 3.0.3 and provide more details.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    5
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate

    Shown settings in tcp optimizer under "current"

    http://img716.imageshack.us/i/currentsettings.jpg/

    Shown settings with command "netsh interface tcp show global"

    http://img842.imageshack.us/i/tcpglobal.jpg/

    Can u see the difference?

    I did not try to apply the settings, i can see only the differences between my current settings and the settings shown in tcp optimizer. I have saved tcp optimizer on my Desktop, maybe i have to run it in my windows folder??

    ipv4 / ipv6?? where can i see it?

    Best regards

    eX0dus
    Last edited by eX0dus; 07-30-10 at 01:55 PM.

  6. #6
    Junior Member rufnredde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    UsA
    Posts
    18
    Hola eX0dus,

    What your seeing there is the actual default state for your system. Example: for a Server the default Congestion Control=ctcp, while for a workstation it is none. Once you change them using the 'netsh int tcp set global', the actual state is shown and not the word default. I do see what you saying and I can reproduce it now. I'll give it a good test and verify what I just posted there is correct. If you use the Optimal button, it works perfectly in all my tests. As far as the tcp4 goes you already provided all that information here Philip may have a better way to word it, I'm pretty new to this just like you, just like to test to kill time.
    Last edited by rufnredde; 07-30-10 at 03:54 PM.
    -Life is Short, Enjoy It -
    Specs:Gigabyte X38-DQ6; Xeon X3350@3.2GHz; 8GB DDR2; ATI HD5770;
    Realtek PCIe NIC; Linksys WRT54G, TRENDnet TEW-652BRP

  7. #7
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,370
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by eX0dus View Post
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate

    Shown settings in tcp optimizer under "current"

    http://img716.imageshack.us/i/currentsettings.jpg/

    Shown settings with command "netsh interface tcp show global"

    http://img842.imageshack.us/i/tcpglobal.jpg/

    Can u see the difference?

    I did not try to apply the settings, i can see only the differences between my current settings and the settings shown in tcp optimizer. I have saved tcp optimizer on my Desktop, maybe i have to run it in my windows folder??

    ipv4 / ipv6?? where can i see it?

    Best regards

    eX0dus
    Thanks for the screenshots... I believe it's caused by the foreign (German ?) wording in the netsh command prompt output, what language version of Windows Ultimate is it ? I will see if there is an easy way to add international support. Regardless, it should apply settings correctly.

    I believe you posted an english version command prompt screenshot in the 3.0.2 thread, it should recognize the current settings correctly under the English version of Windows ?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    5
    Nope its a german(original) Windows 7 x64 Ultimate and the screen from the netsh command its german too. yes maybe its an language problem, i don`t know

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    8
    First of all thanks for this great tool for vista and windows 7 .
    On my notebook with windows 7 home premium if run TCP Optimizer 3.03 as administrator and change the settings on both adapters or only for the WiFi one, after reboot in the advanced settings all optimal values are correctly visible but in general settings panel still remain all default windows values.
    On this situation I have not noticed any improvement in speed.
    Any idea?
    Best Regards.
    Last edited by photo; 07-31-10 at 07:05 AM.

  10. #10
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,370
    Blog Entries
    6
    Your IP seems to be from Italy, it could be related to the Internationalization of Windows.
    Can you post a screenshot of the "netsh int tcp show global" output in command prompt please ?

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    Your IP seems to be from Italy, it could be related to the Internationalization of Windows.
    Can you post a screenshot of the "netsh int tcp show global" output in command prompt please ?
    Yes from Italy, here my screen shot:
    http://img340.imageshack.us/img340/4...titolo1rge.jpg

  12. #12
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,370
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by photo View Post
    Yes from Italy, here my screen shot:
    http://img340.imageshack.us/img340/4...titolo1rge.jpg
    The international version is probably what throws off reading the current netsh settings. However, the program should still apply changes correctly, can you verify it using netsh ?

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    7
    Hi,

    one possible way to fix this little problem related to the language version of windows could be to take only the status of each line that netsh.exe report:

    Exemple from my french windows version:

    C:\>netsh interface tcp show global
    Recherche du statut actif...

    Paramètres TCP globaux
    ----------------------------------------------
    État de mise à l'échelle côté réception : enabled
    État de déchargement Chimney : enabled
    État NetDMA : enabled
    Accès direct au cache : enabled
    Réglage auto fenêtre de réception : normal
    Fournisseur de ctrl surcharge comp. : ctcp
    Fonctionnalité ECN : enabled
    Horodatages RFC 1323 : disabled


    If you compare with any other language version, I think that all the show parameters are list into the same order:


    German: http://img842.imageshack.us/i/tcpglobal.jpg/

    Italian: http://img340.imageshack.us/img340/4...titolo1rge.jpg


    So a blind checkup of the status reported by netsh.exe, line per line, will do the trick.


    But the MTU is still badly reported for a non-english windows:

    http://img716.imageshack.us/i/currentsettings.jpg/


    Anyway, it is just a suggestion!

    Thanks.
    Last edited by wmaniac; 08-03-10 at 05:34 PM.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by wmaniac View Post
    If you compare with any other language version, I think that all the show parameters are list into the same order:

    German: http://img842.imageshack.us/i/tcpglobal.jpg/

    Italian: http://img340.imageshack.us/img340/4...titolo1rge.jpg
    Spanish: http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/9...tshglobals.png

    .

  15. #15
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,370
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by wmaniac View Post
    Hi,

    one possible way to fix this little problem related to the language version of windows could be to take only the status of each line that netsh.exe report:

    ...

    Anyway, it is just a suggestion!

    Thanks.
    This may work somewhat, the problem being that there are slight variations between the output in different OSes, i.e. Vista/7/2008 Server.

    For example, Vista does not have the "NetDMA State" and "Direct Cache Access (DCA)" settings using netsh, they are only in the Windows Registry.

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    7
    Hi,

    the netsh.exe command use the netsh.exe.mui file to translate the output into the default language used by windows.

    I found an interesting programming functionm that can set the thread default language to be used:


    Filtering Languages in a MUI Console Application

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...8VS.85%29.aspx


    SetThreadUILanguage Function

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...8VS.85%29.aspx


    SetThreadPreferredUILanguages Function

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...8VS.85%29.aspx


    I'm not a programmer, but if theses sets of function can be used to force the use of the english language for the instance of netsh.exe, then it will be a fix to the problem.


    Thank you.

  17. #17
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,370
    Blog Entries
    6
    That may actually work, we'll try it, thanks for the suggestions.

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3
    The new 3.0.3 version makes the internet connection of several of my computers MUCH slower (they go about 9mbit to about 450kbit).

    Using 3.0.3 to set default windows settings and then using the older 2.0.3 to set it's optimized settings makes the connection fast again.

    I believe some of the new settings introduced by 3.0.3 is causing problems.
    I've been trying to isolate the problematic setting , but so far all I know is that it is not caused by the TCP receive window setting.

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3
    may i ask why my posts were deleted? =/

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    The international version is probably what throws off reading the current netsh settings. However, the program should still apply changes correctly, can you verify it using netsh ?
    OK, this is my state:
    TCP Optimizer current settings panel:

    TCP Auto-Tuning = disbled
    in Netsh command = normal

    Receive Side Scaling State = default
    in Netsh command = enabled

    Congestion Control Provider = ctcp
    in Netsh command = ctcp

    Tcp Chimney Offload = default
    in Netsh command = enabled

    Direct Cache Access = enabled
    in Netsh command = default

    DMA = default
    in Netsh command = enabled

Similar Threads

  1. Windows updates failure
    By Uberwilhelm in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-27-09, 01:34 PM
  2. Windows XP Service Pack 3 FAQ
    By Sava700 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-29-08, 10:44 AM
  3. Were can I find what slot I have for vid card
    By agustintorre in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 02-10-07, 05:59 AM
  4. Yummy VISTA Home Premium
    By Lobo in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-04-07, 03:57 PM
  5. Please Help :( TCP Optimizer version 2.0.3
    By Willing2Learn in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-27-06, 10:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •