Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: TCP Optimizer version 3.0.2 released (Windows 7/Vista support !)

  1. #1
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,373
    Blog Entries
    6

    Exclamation TCP Optimizer version 3.0.2 released (Windows 7/Vista support !)

    I'd like to announce the release of TCP Optimizer version 3.0.2 today, including Windows 7/Vista/Server 2008 support, as well as continued support for older Windows versions (9x/XP/2000/2k3 Server) and many minor improvements/fixes.

    This version 3.0.2 is now the latest stable release.

    It can be downloaded from the same location as previous releases:



    Please post bug reports, comments and feedback about the release in this thread.

    For any personal questions, help with tuning your connection, please start a new thread with your current settings and enough information so we can help you.

    The online documentation is not yet updated with all new settings, but available here: TCP Optimizer Documentation
    The documentation includes a changelog as well.

    You can view previous updates and past issues with the program in the following threads:
    version 3.0/3.0.1
    version 2.0.3
    version 2.0.2 final version 2.0.2 RC2 version 2.0.2 RC1 version 2.0.2 beta
    version 2.0.1 final
    version 2.0.0 final version 2 beta


    Changes from version 3.0.1:
    - added "Dynamic port allocation" (MaxUserPort, TcpTimedWaitDelay) for Windows XP/2003
    - added "Checksum Offloading" (DisableTaskOffload) setting for Windows 7/Vista/2008/XP/2k3
    - added a "Copy current settings" option to the File menu for easy sharing of current settings (forum posting, etc.)
    - fixed incorrect error message under Chinese versions of Windows 7 x86.

  2. #2
    Regular Member 100 010 00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Between the legs
    Posts
    196
    Hi philip,

    I was looking broadband tweaks and i thought for some things.
    a) synattack is not working anymore to vista/7/2008, this is for sure.
    b) dns and hosts caching im not sure that those values are also working to vista/7/2008. check it out
    There is no patch for stupidity

  3. #3
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,373
    Blog Entries
    6
    I realise SynattAttackProtect is not in the documentation, but I did read some reports that it still works, I'll look into it again.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    5
    After i restarted my computer the settings did not apply. Is this a kind of bug? Cause if i check the settings wit the command "netsh interface tcp show global" everything seems okay. Furthermore i figured out, that my ip address is not shown in the tcp optimizer. Could this be the issue?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2
    Same here, I'm on Windows 7 x64, i choosed my connection speed, ticked "optimal" but after a reboot, settings in netsh interface tcp show global command are still the same as before :/ And when i look what setteings TCP Optimizer detects by ticking "current", it's not what I see in netsh interface tcp show global.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation

    Same here too, using Windows 7 x64 Pro..

  7. #7
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,373
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by eX0dus View Post
    After i restarted my computer the settings did not apply. Is this a kind of bug? Cause if i check the settings wit the command "netsh interface tcp show global" everything seems okay. Furthermore i figured out, that my ip address is not shown in the tcp optimizer. Could this be the issue?
    For the problem where settings do not apply, how did you figure that ? Are the "Current" settings in the Optimizer any different than the command prompt "netsh int tcp show global" ? What are the differences ?

    It is not related to the IP.

    For the IP problem:
    What network adapter do you use ?
    If you start regedit, and navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters\Interfaces\{...} (Those are Network Adapter IDs), look for one with your valid IPAddress or DhcpIPAddress , is there one of those ?
    Or, you can just right-click and export the Interfaces hive and email it to me so I can look into it, philip[at]speedguide.net


    Thanks,

    P.

  8. #8
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,373
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by shinoda View Post
    Same here, I'm on Windows 7 x64, i choosed my connection speed, ticked "optimal" but after a reboot, settings in netsh interface tcp show global command are still the same as before :/ And when i look what setteings TCP Optimizer detects by ticking "current", it's not what I see in netsh interface tcp show global.
    To make sure settings will apply, you need to run the program as administrator. Right-click on the program, choose "Run as administrator" from the pull-down menu.

    After applying the changes... Please post a copy of the "netsh int tcp show global" output, and the TCP Optimizer current settings (File menu > Copy current settings > copy to clipboard, and paste here) so we can see the difference.

  9. #9
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,373
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by shinoda View Post
    Same here, I'm on Windows 7 x64, i choosed my connection speed, ticked "optimal" but after a reboot, settings in netsh interface tcp show global command are still the same as before :/ And when i look what setteings TCP Optimizer detects by ticking "current", it's not what I see in netsh interface tcp show global.
    Please make sure you run as administrator before applying the optimal settings (right click on program on desktop, choose "Run as administrator" from the pull-down menu).

    After that please post both the "netsh int tcp show global" output, and the current optimizer settings (File menu > Copy current settings > Copy to clipboard, then paste into a post) and I'll look into it.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4
    The problem is that the program appears to not apply the changes netsh (the registry changes it seems that if applied correctly).

    I made the changes manually (netsh) and they work.

    Not apply the changes correctly using "Run as administrator" either.

    (Sorry for my bad english, I'm spanish)

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    For the problem where settings do not apply, how did you figure that ? Are the "Current" settings in the Optimizer any different than the command prompt "netsh int tcp show global" ? What are the differences ?

    It is not related to the IP.

    For the IP problem:
    What network adapter do you use ?
    If you start regedit, and navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters\Interfaces\{...} (Those are Network Adapter IDs), look for one with your valid IPAddress or DhcpIPAddress , is there one of those ?
    Or, you can just right-click and export the Interfaces hive and email it to me so I can look into it, philip[at]speedguide.net


    Thanks,

    P.
    run tcp optimizer -> Select 16000DSL -> click on "optimal settings" -> save backup -> reboot

    CURRENT:

    After i run tcp optimizer again,nothing changed. Actually the Problem is, that tcp optimizer shows me wrong settings.

    TCP Window Auto-Tuning=disabled
    Congestion Control Provider=ctcp
    TCP Chimney Offload=default
    Receive-Side Scaling State=default
    EnableDCA=-1
    EnableTCPA=-1
    DefaultTTL=-1
    ECN Capability=default
    Windows Scaling heuristics=default
    Tcp1323Opts=0
    DisableTaskOffload=-1


    -> these settings are not true,checking this running "netsh interface tcp show global" -> Shows me the automatic Settings made by the VISTA/7 PATCh , means:



    Now i Undo the Vista patch and (now default Settings) i tried again to apply optimal settings, but Tcp optimizer does not apply the optimal settings for DSL 16000 -> instead its showing me again:

    TCP Window Auto-Tuning=disabled
    Congestion Control Provider=ctcp
    TCP Chimney Offload=default
    Receive-Side Scaling State=default
    EnableDCA=-1
    EnableTCPA=-1
    DefaultTTL=-1
    ECN Capability=default
    Windows Scaling heuristics=default
    Tcp1323Opts=0
    DisableTaskOffload=-1
    ....


    I have Win 7 x64 Ultimate Version and i run it with Administration Rights.

    In Case of my MTU Value i have another Problem.... I try to change my mtu value with these commands

    1.
    netsh interface ipv4 show subinterfaces

    2.MTU-Size:
    netsh interface ipv4 set subinterface “1″ mtu=1500 store=persistent

    My current windows mtu value ( i have checked this with tcpanalyzer) is 1480. Changing it to 1492 or even 1500 my browser ( newest firefox) can`t open some of my favorite websites any more. So the maximum size i can set is 1480. Why? I do not have any routers, just a DSL MODEM with cable. On XP i used the value 1492 and everything was fine.

    Best regards
    eX0dus
    Last edited by eX0dus; 07-17-10 at 12:47 PM.

  12. #12
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,373
    Blog Entries
    6
    PPPoE DSL limits the MTU to either 1492 or 1480, that's normal.

    I'll look through those settings, thanks for posting... You don't have to run both the patch and the Optimizer (there may be some slight differences), the Optimizer should be all you need. Also, besides being logged in as administrator, you should right-click and choose "Run as administrator" to make sure the program is allowed to apply the settings.

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2
    Update : I tried to reset my tcp/ip settings with the netsh reset command and see what TCP Optimizer detects as my "current settings" after a reboot and it's still the same : it detects that my TCP Window auto tuning is disabled etc.

    Even if I download an all new TCPOptimizer.exe and put it in another directory, my current settings are not well detected and "optimal settings" doesnt change anything after a reboot.

    And the optimal settings don't change at all, whatever my connection speed settings can be.

    Ok Philip, I did what you said ;

    TCP Optimizer Current settings

    TCP Window Auto-Tuning=disabled
    Congestion Control Provider=ctcp
    TCP Chimney Offload=default
    Receive-Side Scaling State=default
    EnableDCA=1
    EnableTCPA=1
    DefaultTTL=64
    ECN Capability=default
    Windows Scaling heuristics=default
    Tcp1323Opts=1
    DisableTaskOffload=0
    MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server=8
    MaxConnectionsPerServer=8
    LocalPriority=4
    HostsPriority=5
    DnsPriority=6
    NetbtPriority=7
    SynAttackProtect=1
    TCPMaxDataRetransmissions=7
    LargeSystemCache=1
    Size=2
    NonBestEffortLimit=0
    NegativeCacheTime=0
    NetFailureCacheTime=0
    NegativeSOACacheTime=0
    TCPNoDelay=-1
    MaxUserPort=65535
    TcpTimedWaitDelay=30
    [Connexion au réseau local]
    MTU=0
    TcpAckFrequency=-1
    TcpDelAckTicks=-1


    netsh int tcp show global output (sorry it's in french, but you can recognize the settings) :

    Paramètres TCP globaux
    ----------------------------------------------
    État de mise à l'échelle côté réception : enabled
    État de déchargement Chimney : automatic
    État NetDMA : enabled
    Accès direct au cache : enabled
    Réglage auto fenêtre de réception *: normal
    Fournisseur de ctrl surcharge comp.*: none
    Fonctionnalité ECN *****************: disabled
    Horodatages RFC 1323****************: disabled
    Last edited by shinoda; 07-19-10 at 12:33 PM.

  14. #14
    Junior Member rufnredde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    UsA
    Posts
    18

    Windows 7 64 bit and netsh

    Update: July21, 2010

    Not comfortable with double posting so I will just tack this on here.

    Bug Report:

    Verified that Windows 7 x64 ((traced with Sysinternals SysMon) executes from as a 32-bit Administrator - "C:\Windows\SysWOW64\netsh.exe with the following Result "FAST IO DISALLOWED" i.e. it is not being allowed to enter kernel-mode to make changes to the persistent settings, only changing current settings. Upon a reboot reverts to stored settings.

    Its my opinion that this is due to changes Microsoft made to the Windows 7 and Server2008 R2 Kernel see:

    Removal of Windows Registry Reflection
    Platform
    Clients - Windows 7
    Servers - Windows Server 2008 R2


    This bug will not effect any previous versions of Windows XP, Vista, or the 32 bit version of Windows 7 x86.

    Possible solutions can be found at this Windows Developer page.

    As far as my verification goes, I can only say for sure that it effects my two Windows 7 Ultimate x64 machines, and my Virtual Test Server 2008 R2 Standard. The work around I suggest elsewhere in this post should correct any problems until a fix is available.

    (Original Post) below:
    Hi I am new to the forum, so first off let me thank those responsible for bringing this program to life.

    When you try and update windows 64 bit, for some reason it is executing the netsh commands from a 32 bit command prompt. In essence what is happening is that when you execute the set global command, it is changing the ip4v settings but unable to update the active ipv6 settings or the persistent store at all.

    The results can be reproduced by executing the commands in an x86 administrator Powershell session. If you go to a x64 administrator powershell or an administrator command prompt (cmd.exe from the system32 directory run as administrator) you can run the following commands successfully and have no further problems.

    netsh int tcp set global chimney=enable
    netsh int tcp set global ecncapability=enabled
    netsh int tcp set global congestionprovider=ctcp

    If you need to edit any of the other parameters read the Windows 7, Vista, 2008 Tweaks article by Philip it explains everything.

    Below is the netsh help for set global for reference:

    Usage: set global
    [[rss=]disabled|enabled|default]
    [[chimney=]disabled|enabled|default]
    [[autotuninglevel=]disabled|highlyrestricted|restricted|normal|experimental]
    [[congestionprovider=]none|ctcp|default]
    [[netdma=]disabled|enabled|default]
    [[dca=]disabled|enabled|default]
    [[ecncapability=]disabled|enabled|default]
    [[timestamps=]disabled|enabled|default]

    Parameters:

    Tag Value

    rss - One of the following values:
    disabled: Disable receive-side scaling.
    enabled : Enable receive-side scaling.
    default : Restore receive-side scaling state to the system default.

    chimney - One of the following values:
    disabled: Disable Chimney offload.
    enabled : Enable Chimney offload.
    automatic: Enable Chimney offload with performance heuristics.
    default : Restore Chimney offload state to the system default (automatic).

    autotuninglevel - One of the following values:
    disabled: Fix the receive window at its default value.
    highlyrestricted: Allow the receive window to grow beyond its default value, but do so very conservatively.
    restricted: Allow the receive window to grow beyond its default value, but limit such growth in some scenarios.
    normal: Allow the receive window to grow to accomodate almost all scenarios.
    experimental: Allow the receive window to grow to accomodate extreme scenarios.

    congestionprovider - One of the following values:
    none: Use the built-in standard congestion control algorithm.
    ctcp: Use the add-on Compound TCP congestion control algorithm.
    default: Restore the selected provider to the system default.

    netdma - One of the following values:
    disabled: Disable use of NetDMA by TCP/IP.
    enabled : Enable use of NetDMA by TCP/IP.
    default : Restore state to the system default (enabled).

    dca - One of the following values:
    disabled: Disable Direct Cache Access when using NetDMA.
    enabled : Enable Direct Cache Access when using NetDMA.
    default : Restore state to the system default (disabled).

    ecncapability - One of the following values:
    disabled: Disable ECN Capability.
    enabled : Enable ECN Capability.
    default : Restore state to the system default.

    timestamps - One of the following values:
    disabled: Disable RFC 1323 timestamps.
    enabled: Enable RFC 1323 timestamps.
    default: Restore state to the system default.

    Remarks: Sets TCP parameters that affect all connections.

    Example:

    set global enabled enabled normal
    set global rss=enabled chimney=enabled autotuninglevel=normal
    Last edited by rufnredde; 07-21-10 at 06:40 PM. Reason: Included help for set global; Added link to Vista article

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    7

    Angry

    So to summarize the current situation:


    TCP Optimizer 3.02 does not work good on Windows 7 / Vista 64bit.

    The part that change the registry entries is OK, but the part that use netsh.exe to change some other settings fail under the 64 bit version of windows.

    TCP Optimizer 3.02 is a 32 bit application so it use the 32 bit version of netsh.exe.

    The 32 bit version of netsh,exe does not have enough privileges to do the required change (even at the administrator level).

    So we will have to wait for a 64 bit version of TCP Optimizer...

  16. #16
    Junior Member rufnredde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    UsA
    Posts
    18

    Philip is looking into it.

    No that is not exactly what I am saying. It does not work at the moment but it should be able to with a bit of modification. Specifically if you look at the reference for Wow64 best practices. Windows 7 and Server 2008 Kernel was modified and certain things have changed. To compensate for those changes a new command is available Sysnative, which allows a 32 bit caller on 64 bit hardware. In other words it allows the 64 bit commands to be executed from C:\Windows\System32. It is on page 9 of the document.

    Philip is looking in to it and I am confident that he will have a solution soon.
    -Life is Short, Enjoy It -
    Specs:Gigabyte X38-DQ6; Xeon X3350@3.2GHz; 8GB DDR2; ATI HD5770;
    Realtek PCIe NIC; Linksys WRT54G, TRENDnet TEW-652BRP

  17. #17
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,373
    Blog Entries
    6
    The problem is confirmed for 64-bit Windows 7 (an possibly Vista/2008 64-bit).

    As already mentioned, it's related to applying netsh settings with the 32-bit version not being persistent. We're working on it and should have a new release out soon.

    Thanks for the constructive feedback!

  18. #18
    Junior Member rufnredde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    UsA
    Posts
    18
    Verified that Vista64 works correctly. I am currently setting up a test machine for Server 2008 SP2 without HyperV, which shares the Kernel with Vista, so I expect the same results. Contact me if you need to see my research. I am disabled and have a whole lot of time on my hands until the next semester starts, at the end of August, so if you have anything that needs tested please let me know.
    -Life is Short, Enjoy It -
    Specs:Gigabyte X38-DQ6; Xeon X3350@3.2GHz; 8GB DDR2; ATI HD5770;
    Realtek PCIe NIC; Linksys WRT54G, TRENDnet TEW-652BRP

  19. #19
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,373
    Blog Entries
    6
    Updated the TCP Optimizer to version 3.0.3 with 64-bit netsh support.

    This thread is now closed, please post any feedback/issues with the new version in the 3.0.3 thread here: http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=272156

Similar Threads

  1. need help with cablenut / tcp optimizer
    By uniquewiz in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-09-09, 09:46 AM
  2. New Rig
    By Cameron203 in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 02-25-09, 10:42 AM
  3. Windows Vista Tweaks / TCP Optimizer
    By phatoneusa in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-17-09, 05:53 PM
  4. "Windows 7 will run on Vista's recommended hardware"
    By Sava700 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-28-08, 07:54 AM
  5. Please Help :( TCP Optimizer version 2.0.3
    By Willing2Learn in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-27-06, 10:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •