Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: 64 Bit XP or 64 Bit Win7?

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast Far-N-Wide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    His Tavern of Solitude
    Posts
    1,160

    64 Bit XP or 64 Bit Win7?

    AM having problems getting an app to work (Ventrilo) on Win7 64 Bit. the Text to voice option on Ventrilo will not work. Have googled the problem and tried lots of stuff that don't fix the problem.

    So is it worth it to get a 64 Bit XP? I have plans on building another PC later this summer and put Win7 on that, It's a beta that's good till Oct anyways.
    USAF RETIRED

  2. #2
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by Far-N-Wide View Post
    AM having problems getting an app to work (Ventrilo) on Win7 64 Bit. the Text to voice option on Ventrilo will not work. Have googled the problem and tried lots of stuff that don't fix the problem.

    So is it worth it to get a 64 Bit XP? I have plans on building another PC later this summer and put Win7 on that, It's a beta that's good till Oct anyways.
    are you using the 64bit version of Ventrilo? I have it working fine on mine.

    Full version Win7 64bit right?

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast Far-N-Wide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    His Tavern of Solitude
    Posts
    1,160
    Yes on the 64 bit version. The text to speech option on vent is what it not working. I can talk and hear folks on it just fine. Just can't use text to speech. Have uninstalled and reinstalled abd it does not work. using 32 bit on a xp laptop and it works fine.

    My sound card drivers are correct and it had worked up until about a month ago. maybe a microsoft update or some other update made the change to stop it from working. Will look into it, on a to do list.
    USAF RETIRED

  4. #4
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,001
    Have you tried using a compatibility setting?

  5. #5
    Junior Member KamiKaZe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    17
    run it on XP mode if you have Professional
    DELL Studio XPS 8000 Windows 7 Intel Core i7 860 8GB DDR3 nVidia GTS 240, audio 7.1 High Def,1TB HDD LG FLATRON 23 full 1080p wide with HDMI input, Logitech Z323 speakers Microsoft Wireless mouse and keyboard

Similar Threads

  1. Win7 can't see XP Home printer
    By RJK in forum ms.public.windows.networking.wireless
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-24-10, 06:36 PM
  2. i got (*indirectly*) bit by a pit bull
    By PsykoPenguin in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-21-10, 04:55 PM
  3. Win7 tcpip patch - which tcpip.sys file?!?
    By GiantWaffle in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-30-09, 09:32 PM
  4. Need Win7 - 64 bit firewall
    By Easto in forum Network Security
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-13-09, 04:26 PM
  5. Windows 7 64 vs 32 bit on my machine...
    By mountainman in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-12-09, 06:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •