Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: sharing internet with a wifi lan

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    29

    sharing internet with a wifi lan

    hi all
    here is the point:
    i have PC1 connected to the internet via an ethernet cable.
    The internet connection is shared to the workgroup. (8Mbps)

    Besides, i have PC2, PC3, PC4 (and PC1) connected to each other via wifi usb dongles linked via a D-Link wifi router.

    When i download from PC1 i have a good 840 kbps.
    Problem is that the other PC's of the workgroup have a weak download (best is around 200 kbps, but mostly it's kind of 40 to 80 kbps)

    Can i have your opinion on that and maybe some clues to make things get better!
    thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,943
    Is PC1 connected to the same DLink router via ethernet? Or a direct connection to the modem?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    29
    Well PC1 is connected to the D-link only as part af the wifi workgroup via an usb wifi dongle.
    PC1 is also connected to the internet via An ethernet cnet router and shares the connexion to the rest of the workgroup.

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,943
    So PC 1 connected to a CNET router via ethernet...
    And then PC1 also has a USB wireless NIC....in which it connects to the wireless part of a DLink router...when then spreads the wireless to other clients?

    Why taking that complicated approach? Why not toss the CNET router and use the DLink as your primary router, ethernet to PC1, and wireless to other wireless clients?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    29
    well here is why. The Cnet router is furnished by my ISP. Then i opened my agency in the same bulding but two storeys lower. I first isntalled the wifi lan (by my own) in the agency... Then the idea of exploiting my internet connection appeard possible to me, so i made the configuration described in my former post!
    Complicated... surely, but very cheap!!!

  6. #6
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,943
    Is the DLink router connected to the CNet router using a LAN port on each of them? As in..not using the WAN/Internet port on the DLink router?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    29
    well the Dlink is used much more like a hub for my wifi lan. It's a bit old and i don't really want to modify what is actually working (working with as i said a loss of brodband when i connect to internet via my wifi-PC1-ethernet config.

    To make it short, i was wondering what kind of tweaking i might do to increase the download from PC2,3 and 4

  8. #8
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,943
    IMO you're not going to get that optimized much...you're being subject to double NAT'ing...with Windows ICS in the mix. Yuck!

    If you don't want to replace the CNET with the DLink....I would go with the next approach.

    Say the CNET routers LAN IP is 192.168.1.1
    Log into the DLinks web admin, and assign it a LAN IP of 192.168.1.245
    Next..logging into that new IP address, disable DHCP on the DLink router
    Now...uplink the DLink to the CNET router using an ethernet cable, and you will uplink by using a LAN port of each. You will not use the WAN/Internet port of the Dlink. Depending on the age of the DLink and/or CNET router...if they're older models and if neither has a special "uplink" port...you may need a crossover cable.

    Now, the DLink is being used solely as an access point, not a router. And you have no horrendous loss of speed due to Windows ICS. You can remove the wireless USB NIC on PC1. And your speeds will greatly improve.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    29
    thank you for your advices... But i forgot to indicate something important.
    Somme weeks ago with exactly the config i described, things worked quite ok. at that period i had a 4Mbps connexion and with my wifi "reseau" i obtained easily 400 kbps. which was exactly what i obtained with PC1 (the one using ethernet connexion).

    Afterwards, i upgraded to 8Mbps (845kbps on PC1) but the rest of my pc's stuck at max 200kbps, or even worst 50-80 kbps.

    So my conclusion is that i must have done something wrong somewhere, or changed parameters (without knowing) so before i go to your complex method, i'd prefer to find out what happened to retrieve my former situation.

    PS: you may have noticed that english is not my familiar language so forgive me for the poor vocabulary and style!
    thanks

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    29
    Nobody can help?
    well i will ask differently. can somebody tell me what kind of "manipulation" may produce what i described upper!
    thanks

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    290
    I have been following this thread with interest. hocine asked a good question and was lucky to get a very good solution from an expert. The solution is not complex, in my not so humble opinion, rather the procedure used by hocine is very complex - and is causing trouble.
    Try the recommended solution and see if it helps. Bet it does!! It would be interesting to see your response after trying the recommendation.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    29
    Okay guys, i'll try the procedure. But i'm a bit ashamed to say that i didn't understand it well. some words that i didn't understand...

  13. #13
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,943
    I'll try to post a more detailed..yet simple...step by step guide..if you can give me until the weekend. Working on a big wide area network project, that's keeping me a bit busy...and now that it's summer, when I get home from work..it's beach time!

    The way you actually have it setup....it was easy to setup, but it's actually a more complicated and problematic network design. The way I suggest you set it up, takes about 5 minutes to make changes...and the result is actually a more simplistic network that will perform much better.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    29
    Thank you very much for giving me some of your time.
    in fact it's the "uplink" stuff that i didn't understand. Besides please remember that my cnet router and my d-link access point are located in two different appartments separated by two floors.

    I'll wait for more explanation.
    Thank you again and enjoy the beach!!!
    Last edited by hocine; 05-08-10 at 08:18 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Need help - Wake on Lan over internet
    By MDavenport in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-21-10, 01:52 PM
  2. Trying to utilize internet sharing between wifi and wired
    By cchase88 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-08-09, 10:07 PM
  3. Re: shareing folder thru' lan cable to wifi router to another computer
    By Jack \(MVP-Networking\). in forum ms.public.windows.networking.wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-05-08, 08:59 AM
  4. Internet Sharing Not Working
    By khuramyz in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-07-08, 06:58 AM
  5. WRT54G Wireless can connect to internet, Cannot connect to Local LAN PCs
    By Alterego in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-07-07, 04:11 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •