Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Cannot access domain controller

  1. #1

    Cannot access domain controller

    I have my own domain controller that acts as the DHCP server to all the clients (laptops, consoles etc) in my house. I have disabled DHCP on the router and only use it as a wireless access point and the external static IP endpoint for my DC. How do I remote desktop in to my DC from an external computer ? If i try and RDP using the external IP as the destination address, I can't find the DC on there. Do i have to setup a static route on my router to forward incoming connections on port 3389 to the fixed internal address of my DC ?

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,036
    You want to open/forward port 3389 to the LAN IP of your DC...yes. And from across the internet, in the RDC, enter your host networks public IP address or whatever DNS alias you made for it.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Very high Network buffer - Netalyzr
    By HanDy_man in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-03-11, 11:49 PM
  2. Domain Controller question
    By jerry27 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-07-08, 06:38 AM
  3. Configure Dual Wan Router & Domain Controller
    By rjohnstoneca in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-06-07, 08:56 PM
  4. domain controller not contactable
    By haseenahydrose in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-23-07, 05:49 AM
  5. Were can I find what slot I have for vid card
    By agustintorre in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 02-10-07, 04:59 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •