Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: should I get a better cable modem?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    should I get a better cable modem?

    I am in NYC and on Time Warner using their supplied cable modem - an RCA DCM425.

    recently upgraded my router to a premium model: Netgear WNDR3700
    and very happy with that, but wondered if there was a bit more to gain with a new Modem also - like a Motorola SB6120.

    any thoughts if this is worthwhile, or is it really not worth the $?

    do I need to alert Time Warner if I switch modems, or is it just plug n play?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,051
    You will need to use a cable modem that will work with their networks... here is a list:

    http://help.rr.com/HMSFaqs/e_rr_modems.aspx

    Also you will need to let them know when you get it so you can hook it up and have them provision it to your account.

Similar Threads

  1. Re: Putting a switch between router and cable modem
    By ps56k in forum alt.internet.wireless
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-30-09, 09:57 PM
  2. Cable modem keeps losing connection
    By zodiac88 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-28-09, 02:27 AM
  3. Cable modem keeps dropping signal
    By Stevis50 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-24-08, 12:12 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-22-07, 09:11 PM
  5. cable modem Xbox 360
    By GottiJr in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-21-07, 04:50 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •