Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 44

Thread: Good or bad ping times?

  1. #21
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by Maoxi View Post
    The pingtest show that i got ping: 25ms jitter: 1ms and 0% packet loss.

    I did tracert to where i think they get there server hosted from(gametracker.com).. Because it didnt work to do tracert directly to the ip.

    Anyway the ip to server is 87.96.204.6:27015 and homepage is counter-snakes.se

    Don't do the trace to gametracker.com do it to 87.69.204.6 you don't need to apply the port.

  2. #22
    XP + akbarri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Caterpillar Inc
    Posts
    938
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Maoxi View Post
    Should i really not use cablenuts at all? just the tcpoptimizer?
    u can set Cablenut "DefaultSendWindow" and leave other Cablenut settings as is / blank

    i need speedtest result to recommend Cablenut "DefaultSendWindow" setting.

    # OS: Windows, Linux # Browser: Blink, Gecko, Presto, Webkit + Squid + Bind

  3. #23
    Akbarri: ok before i used 131072. Speedtest results are

    and heres the ping test directly to the server i play on:


    Begäran gjorde timeout = Request made timeout

  4. #24
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    lots of time outs.. find a new server to play on is my suggestion

  5. #25
    Hm yea i could do that but i got the annoying choke on every server :/

  6. #26
    Hm i read about something called RASPPPoE is that anything that can help me if i install it?

  7. #27
    XP + akbarri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Caterpillar Inc
    Posts
    938
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Maoxi View Post
    Akbarri: ok before i used 131072. Speedtest results are

    and heres the ping test directly to the server i play on:


    Begäran gjorde timeout = Request made timeout
    correct, set DefaultSendWindow = 131072 (leave others as is)

    hop 14-30 was server side problem, nothing we can do

    RASPPPoE
    http://user.cs.tu-berlin.de/~normanb/
    http://www.speedguide.net/faq_in_q.p...gory=98&qid=37
    Last edited by akbarri; 04-01-10 at 03:09 PM.

    # OS: Windows, Linux # Browser: Blink, Gecko, Presto, Webkit + Squid + Bind

  8. #28
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by Maoxi View Post
    Hm yea i could do that but i got the annoying choke on every server :/
    Post the trace's to the other server's you've tried please.

    As of now it doesn't look like its your issue but issue's on the server's side. Also if you know it post the location of the servers your trying to play on in relation to yours.

  9. #29
    Hm i got no idea about the location.. In cs u cant see how far away the server is :S But i always try to play on swedish server because i live in sweden

    But i got 1 question. After i done as you said with all my internet tweaks akbarri it look like this in cablenut:


    Shouldnt it be better for my internet if i used the blank settings too? Once a guy in this homepage (speedguide.net) told be the best settings for my internet should be:


    So then maybe it will be best if i keep the settings you told me and just fill in the blanks with the settings he wrote for me ?

    Thanks everyone for your help!
    //Max

  10. #30
    XP + akbarri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Caterpillar Inc
    Posts
    938
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Maoxi View Post
    Hm i got no idea about the location.. In cs u cant see how far away the server is :S But i always try to play on swedish server because i live in sweden

    But i got 1 question. After i done as you said with all my internet tweaks akbarri it look like this in cablenut:


    Shouldnt it be better for my internet if i used the blank settings too? Once a guy in this homepage (speedguide.net) told be the best settings for my internet should be:


    So then maybe it will be best if i keep the settings you told me and just fill in the blanks with the settings he wrote for me ?

    Thanks everyone for your help!
    //Max
    just make comparison for both settings. (i bet for "blanks / 1st pic" ones )
    3 - 5 times
    - www.speedtest.net
    - www.pingtest.net
    - tracert

    # OS: Windows, Linux # Browser: Blink, Gecko, Presto, Webkit + Squid + Bind

  11. #31
    Ok let's se what u think :P Test1 (your settings, pic 1)
    Speedtest :
    DL 7.06mbit UL 0.86 MS 27
    DL 7.05 UL 0.86 MS 29
    DL 7.03 UL 0.87 MS 32

    Pingtest:
    Loss 0% Ping 25ms Jitter 1
    Loss 0% Ping 25ms Jitter 1
    Loss 0% Ping 25ms Jitter 1

    Tracert :

    Test2----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Speedtest:
    DL 12.05 UL 0.73 MS 27
    DL 7.38 UL 0.78 MS 28
    DL 10.43 UL 0.86 MS 30

    Pingtest:
    Loss 0% Ping 25ms Jitter 0
    Loss 0% Ping 24ms Jitter 0
    Loss 0% Ping 25ms Jitter 1

    Tracert:

  12. #32
    So which should i pick :P and/or i could also try the settings that the cablenut homepage calculator tell me to use:


    I really hope you can recommend something for me because im so confused

    Ps: in the calculator i wrote my dl is 8000kbps ul 1000kbps and latency 29ms

  13. #33
    XP + akbarri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Caterpillar Inc
    Posts
    938
    Blog Entries
    3
    Pic1 = stable DL/UL (88% from ads speed), stable pingtest, good tracert
    Pic2 = unstable DL/UL (could get higher DL but lower UL), unstable pingtest (could get better jitter or worse ping), not bad tracert

    i still bet with "1st pic" but i see that u could get 12.05Mbps speedtest
    so i change TCPO settings to
    TCP Optimizer Settings:
    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU - 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 513920
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - check
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 10
    LocalPriority - 5
    Host Priority - 6
    DNSPriority - 7
    NetbtPriority - 8
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 0
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768

    Cablenut Settings
    DefaultSendWindow = 131072 (leave others as is)

    "Round 2" Fight
    Last edited by akbarri; 04-02-10 at 10:58 AM.

    # OS: Windows, Linux # Browser: Blink, Gecko, Presto, Webkit + Squid + Bind

  14. #34
    XP + akbarri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Caterpillar Inc
    Posts
    938
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Maoxi View Post
    So which should i pick :P and/or i could also try the settings that the cablenut homepage calculator tell me to use:


    I really hope you can recommend something for me because im so confused

    Ps: in the calculator i wrote my dl is 8000kbps ul 1000kbps and latency 29ms
    put it on the arena

    # OS: Windows, Linux # Browser: Blink, Gecko, Presto, Webkit + Squid + Bind

  15. #35
    Hhaha round 2:
    Test3:

    Speed
    7.05 0.76 28
    7.01 0.86 30
    7.01 0.78 32

    Ping
    0% 24 0
    0% 25 1
    0% 25 0

    Tracert:


    Test4:

    Speed
    9.76 0.48 28
    8.02 0.87 30
    8.52 0.74 28

    Ping
    0% 26 1
    0% 25 1
    0% 25 0

    Tracert:


    AND the winner is!!! Test1 (i guess :P)

    ps. It's wierd that i can get more than 8mbit dl because i cant even pay for higher.. :O 8mbit is the highest i can get where i live right now ^^

  16. #36
    XP + akbarri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Caterpillar Inc
    Posts
    938
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Maoxi View Post
    Hhaha round 2:
    Test3:

    Speed
    7.05 0.76 28
    7.01 0.86 30
    7.01 0.78 32

    Ping
    0% 24 0
    0% 25 1
    0% 25 0

    Tracert:


    Test4:

    Speed
    9.76 0.48 28
    8.02 0.87 30
    8.52 0.74 28

    Ping
    0% 26 1
    0% 25 1
    0% 25 0

    Tracert:


    AND the winner is!!! Test1 (i guess :P)

    ps. It's wierd that i can get more than 8mbit dl because i cant even pay for higher.. :O 8mbit is the highest i can get where i live right now ^^
    the winners:
    stable DL/UL, stable pingtest, good tracert = Test 1
    highest DL (but unstable DL/UL), not bad pingtest, not bad tracert = Test 4

    use settings that suit with u

    this is why u could get more than 8Mbps :

    BDP (bytes) = total_available_bandwidth (KBytes/sec) x round_trip_time/RTT (ms)

    example :
    1st settings i put
    TCP Receive Window = 256960

    let say
    Latency = 200ms

    so ur estimate max DL speed
    256960/200ms = 1284,8 * 8 = 10278,4 kbps = 10,3 Mbps

    cause Latency is Variable value that why DL/UL speed also Variable

    let see if
    Latency = 500ms
    256960/500ms = 513,92 * 8 = 4111,36 kbps = 4,1 Mbps (bad DL hah)

    (u can easely read TCP Analyzer => BDP limit)
    hope it help

    # OS: Windows, Linux # Browser: Blink, Gecko, Presto, Webkit + Squid + Bind

  17. #37
    Hm maybe i should use test4.. Because the difference was the unstable dl but it was never below 8mbps so it was actually always higher dl than test1..
    http://www.j79zlr.com/cablenutXP2k.php <--- that's the calculator i used.. The settings i should choose/write there is dsl with router, dl 8000kbps, ul 1000kbps and latency 200ms right?

  18. #38
    Hm i have thought on a mix between test 1 and 4.. It look like this:


    Maybe i should try it :O What's your thought about it( you're the smart one)?

  19. #39
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    I really don't think the problem is on your end dude, I think its within the network route. I'd talk to the tech support for your ISP and see what they can do and perhaps try other servers.

  20. #40
    XP + akbarri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Caterpillar Inc
    Posts
    938
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Maoxi View Post
    Hm maybe i should use test4.. Because the difference was the unstable dl but it was never below 8mbps so it was actually always higher dl than test1..
    http://www.j79zlr.com/cablenutXP2k.php <--- that's the calculator i used.. The settings i should choose/write there is dsl with router, dl 8000kbps, ul 1000kbps and latency 200ms right?
    yap, dl 8000kbps, ul 1000kbps and latency 200ms


    Quote Originally Posted by Maoxi View Post
    Hm i have thought on a mix between test 1 and 4.. It look like this:


    Maybe i should try it :O What's your thought about it( you're the smart one)?
    i prefer to blank this settings :
    MaxNormLookupMemory
    MaxFreeTcbs
    MaxHashTableSize
    FastSendDatagramThreshhold
    EnableFastRouteLookup » might interfere with other network settings.

    read the bottom of that page
    http://www.j79zlr.com/cablenutXP2k.php

    # OS: Windows, Linux # Browser: Blink, Gecko, Presto, Webkit + Squid + Bind

Similar Threads

  1. High Ping, Good speed?
    By Wballstarz in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-06-11, 08:58 AM
  2. Greed not so good for Trojans
    By Roody in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-04-08, 01:18 PM
  3. Bad ping to streaming radio server!!
    By newformz in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 04-13-08, 12:48 AM
  4. Very High Ping Times During The Day!
    By BooBear12 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-14-08, 11:19 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-03-06, 10:17 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •