Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Laptops with 3gigs of Memory

  1. #1
    Senior Member Easto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    5,373

    Question Laptops with 3gigs of Memory

    I've noticed that many laptops are being sold with 3 gigs of memory. They are putting a 2gig and a 1 gig stick in the computer. Is this less than optimal? Shouldn't they be equal in size too to take advantage of the dual channel spec?

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,036
    That's been my thoughts all along too...4 gigs gets the dual channel. 3 gigs better than 2, the additional 1 gig gives more advantage even in single channel mode over 2 gigs of dual channel, but why not complete the step and go with 4? I guess the cost...trying to keep margins up and prices down.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,374
    What about 32 vs 64 bit.
    I thought the limit on 32bit was 3 gigs.


    I have Vista Home Prem. (32bit) on my laptop and it has 3 gigs of RAM.

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,036
    The limit is 4 gigs total, which includes video RAM and a little for various motherboard resources. So the 32 bit OS will typically show only 3 or 3.2 or 3.5 or 3.6 gigs of RAM on a sytem with 4 gigs installed.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member Easto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    5,373
    I was updating my laptop and although I picked up a 7200rpm HDD and Win7 64 bit I decided to hold off on the Memory until I see how this upgrade goes.

    The chipset in the laptop only handles 4 gig of memory so after I see how things go I may just get 2 sticks of 2 gig each.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Easto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    5,373
    The HDD and Win7 upgrade seems to be working fine. Without a doubt you can feel the HDD difference up from 5400rpm. Now I'm curious about the 4 gig memory upgrade. It will have to wait for now, money's tight.

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    CYQY
    Posts
    3,126
    My guess is it's because most of those laptops only have a 32 bit OS and they don't want to deal with the "Why does it say I only have 3.x gigs or RAM, it must be broken" questions. It's just easier to put 3 gigs in. Also I believe on some of the netbooks one stick of RAM is actually soldered onto the motherboard and you only have one slot to play with. The soldered in stick is 1 gig so the most you can ever add is 2 for a total of 3.
    I don't know the same things you don't know.

  8. #8
    SG Elite
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,793
    I have 3 gigs on my laptop running Vista Home Premium (32-bit). Runs really nice.

Similar Threads

  1. HOWTO: Overclock C2D (Core 2 Duo) and C2Q (Core 2 Quads) - A Guide
    By graysky in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 04-23-10, 05:22 AM
  2. (long post) New system and new tech advice and help.
    By osuprowler in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-07-08, 10:05 PM
  3. Memory bandwidth tests... any real differences (part 2)
    By graysky in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-11-08, 01:44 PM
  4. Memory bandwidth tests... any real differences (PC5300 vs. PC8888)
    By graysky in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-30-07, 04:18 PM
  5. Cacheman vs CachemanXP
    By ze2o in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-14-07, 07:50 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •