Thread: Routers and VPN mangle my connections

Routers and VPN mangle my connections

Hi... total network newbie here... but, I work from home and need to VPN into my new company (from CA to FL).

I can connect fine using VPN, but then occasionally (like 5 times a day) the connection gets mangled. It does not drop though. If I check the VPN connection, it says it's up. Network connections (I'm on Windows) says the connection (wired) is fine. But, no internet access, no internal web site access, no email.

As soon as I disconnect the VPN, all the internet access (and email naturally) comes back. I can then reconnect VPN and get to the internal sites. Until the next time this happens, of course.

This is also true if the laptop is using wireless, although then the network connection does show disabled, but enable does not work, until the VPN is disconnected.

I have two broadband connections at home, and this happens on both. The old one is ATT DSL with a Linksys router and I don't recall the modem brand. The new one is Comcast Cable with a Belkin (N1 Vision) router and a Motorola modem.

The DSL is 802.11g, the Cable is 802.11n.

I know the router is part of the problem because if I bypass it, and go directly into the modem, the problem does not occur.

Does anyone have any insight into the cause? Is it some router configuration issue? I have poked around on the Belkin but nothing seems to stand out. Other posts here have talked about PPTP passthrough, but I saw nothing except Belkin believes PPTP is used in Europe.

One last item. In my old job, my old laptop could VPN in on the DSL and stay there for days and days with no problems. Since the new laptop cannot, it seems like it has to be something with the laptop or the new job's VPN server, but I cannot convince IT of that yet.

BTW, old laptop Dell, new laptop Lenovo. Just in case that matters.