Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: New Computer Won't power on or even Post

  1. #21
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    that certainly doesn't help... that only makes me wanna burn something.
    Why on earth would you want to burn something seeing this cute little guy?


  2. #22
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by 24giovanni View Post
    Why on earth would you want to burn something seeing this cute little guy?

    as in set myself on fire...


    But as for his problem the only thing I see is the Power supply like others have said. Its a easy check with a volt meter.

  3. #23
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    Quote Originally Posted by morbidpete View Post
    but the fans should still power up
    Yes, is that a problem he was having? lol

    This thread is painful to follow.

  4. #24
    Advanced Member opmharley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Hazel Park, Michigan
    Posts
    840
    I'm pretty sure it was the power supply. Their was no power to the computer at all. No fans, lights, beeps anything. The guys at the shop he took it to said I messed up a pin on the motherboard. I have no idea what pin their talking about.
    If you won't stand behind the troops then you can trying standing in front of them.

  5. #25
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,148
    did you try jumping the power switch pins on the mobo, maybe the case switch was bad ?

  6. #26
    SG Enthusiast Rainbow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    2,920
    Actually with a socket 775 it is very easy to bend a pin and if you bend the wrong one it could very easily do what you say.

  7. #27
    Advanced Member opmharley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Hazel Park, Michigan
    Posts
    840
    I actually was an idiot when putting it on and didn't line it up right the first time so I bet that was it. I didn't try forcing it on though. Thanks for all the help guys. I'll be a bit more careful next time. Your help is always appreciated.

    Harley
    If you won't stand behind the troops then you can trying standing in front of them.

  8. #28
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786
    Cool.



  9. #29
    404 Sanity Not Found PsykoPenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the Antarctic Circle
    Posts
    1,376
    Blog Entries
    4
    "I'm like a lion on the prowl after prey"

Similar Threads

  1. Remove the shell from PCIe power connector.
    By The Dude in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-26-09, 07:32 AM
  2. Can't get the internet from the client computer on an ad hoc netwo
    By =?Utf-8?B?SGFycnk=?= in forum ms.public.windows.networking.wireless
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-11-09, 01:55 PM
  3. "The Obama Effect"... This gave me a differnt prespective
    By blacklab in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-07-09, 03:45 PM
  4. Re: shareing folder thru' lan cable to wifi router to another computer
    By Jack \(MVP-Networking\). in forum ms.public.windows.networking.wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-05-08, 09:59 AM
  5. Computer hangs
    By Goddevil in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-27-07, 11:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •