Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How To Improve A GPRS/EDGE Dial-Up Connection

  1. #1

    How To Improve A GPRS/EDGE Dial-Up Connection

    Hello, and thanks in advance to anyone willing to help. I'm using a Nokia 3110 Classic (GPRS/EDGE capable; maximum speed stated is 460.8 Kbps) as a dial-up modem with a laptop running Windows 7 Home Premium. Windows Auto-Tuning is disabled. After a couple hours reading various articles and threads here, I used TCP Optimizer to change the default Windows settings, resulting in a speed improvement of roughly 40 Kbps (from about 180 Kbps to about 220 kbps) . My TCP Analyzer results after the tweaks are:


    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 01.12.2010 20:52
    IP address: 115.67.xxx.xxx(proxy:64.255.180.51)
    Client OS: Windows 7
    TCP options string: 020405b40402080a906154650000000001030307
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 5888 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 7 bits (2^7=128)
    Unscaled RWIN : 46
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 236kbps (29KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 94kbps (12KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 49
    Timestamps: ON
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)


    Unfortunately it seems that my provider fixes the RWIN at 5888 and also doesn't allow for turning off of Timestamps . Please, does anyone know any tricks for getting around these facts or, at the least, know of better settings in TCP Optimizer given my situation? Thanks again for your time.

  2. #2
    XP + akbarri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Caterpillar Inc
    Posts
    938
    Blog Entries
    3
    man, u r real tarzan

    hope u could buy a 3G modem & create WWAN connection (not DUN/Dial Up)!

    note: make sure u buy a modem that support WWAN profile.

    # OS: Windows, Linux # Browser: Blink, Gecko, Presto, Webkit + Squid + Bind

  3. #3
    akbarri: the reason I posted my original question is because that's the setup I possess, and I was hoping that someone kind would help me tweak it to it's best possible speed. Do you have any suggestions other than buy something better? Thanks for any help.

  4. #4
    XP + akbarri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Caterpillar Inc
    Posts
    938
    Blog Entries
    3
    i know, what happen to u, happen to me also 3 years ago
    the different is i use xp, so i could do some tweaking!
    now u use Win7, nothing we can do! (limited tweaking)
    sorry...

    # OS: Windows, Linux # Browser: Blink, Gecko, Presto, Webkit + Squid + Bind

  5. #5
    That's a bummer. Even with Windows 7 Auto-Tuning disabled there's limited tweaking? Are there any Advanced Settings in TCP Optimizer that would suit my my GPRS/EDGE connection better? Any suggestions are welcome since I can always use the backup feature. Thanks again.

Similar Threads

  1. TCP Optimizer program does not detect dial up connection
    By indigovisionX7 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-14-09, 02:58 PM
  2. Any way to improve connection?
    By abrock in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-05-08, 11:50 AM
  3. Help for 25Mbps(down)/512Kbps(up) connection !!!
    By ge_or_ge in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-19-07, 11:08 PM
  4. How to set up dial up connection using Router in PPPoE mode
    By src2206 in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-05-07, 01:30 PM
  5. hello wanted to try to improve connection for games
    By namek1925 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-13-07, 08:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •