Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: WRT54G + Comcast = random cutouts?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Justin
    Guest

    WRT54G + Comcast = random cutouts?

    Two days ago my WRT54G V6 started cutting out the internet connection
    for no reason.
    I updated the firmware and that didn't help. Per Google I changed the
    MTU from auto to 1492, I thought that worked until just now it cut out
    on me.
    The cable modem is a Linksys BEFCMU10 version 4.
    When I go to its diagnostic page http://192.168.100.1/ this is what I get:
    Modem
    Standard Specification Compliant DOCSIS 2.0
    Hardware Version v2.0
    Software Version 2.0.3.4.2-1212
    Cable Modem MAC Address <removed>
    Cable Modem Serial Number <removed>
    CM certificate Installed

    CONNECTION:

    Startup Procedure


    Status Comment
    Acquire Downstream Channel 723000000 Hz Locked
    Connectivity State Operational Operational
    Boot State OK Operational
    Security Enabled BPI+


    Downstream Channel


    Lock Status Operational
    Modulation 256QAM
    Channel ID 45
    Provisioned Rate 6600 kbps
    Symbol Rate 5360.537 Ksym/sec
    Downstream Power 1.2 dBmV
    SNR 38.2 dB


    Upstream Channel


    Lock Status Operational
    Modulation 16QAM
    Channel ID 2
    Provisioned Rate 1100 kbps
    Symbol Rate 5120 Ksym/sec
    Upstream Power 37.2 dBmV



    and the log

    Time Priority Description
    2009-12-02 01:13:12 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging -
    No Response received - T3 time-out
    2009-12-02 01:13:08 critical No Ranging Response received - T3
    time-out
    2009-12-02 01:13:03 critical Received Response to Broadcast
    Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received -
    T4 timeout
    2009-12-02 01:12:30 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging -
    No Response received - T3 time-out
    2009-12-01 22:56:19 critical Received Response to Broadcast
    Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received -
    T4 timeout
    2009-12-01 22:55:47 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging -
    No Response received - T3 time-out
    2009-12-01 20:57:49 critical Received Response to Broadcast
    Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received -
    T4 timeout
    2009-12-01 20:57:16 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging -
    No Response received - T3 time-out
    2009-12-01 00:58:03 critical No Ranging Response received - T3
    time-out
    2009-12-01 00:57:58 critical Received Response to Broadcast
    Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received -
    T4 timeout
    2009-12-01 00:57:57 critical DHCP FAILED - Request sent, No response
    2009-12-01 00:57:26 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging -
    No Response received - T3 time-out
    2009-12-01 00:57:24 critical DHCP FAILED - Request sent, No response
    2009-12-01 00:57:23 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging -
    No Response received - T3 time-out
    2009-12-01 00:57:21 critical DHCP FAILED - Request sent, No response
    2009-12-01 00:57:21 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging -
    No Response received - T3 time-out
    2009-12-01 00:57:18 critical DHCP FAILED - Request sent, No response
    2009-12-01 00:57:16 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging -
    No Response received - T3 time-out
    2009-12-01 00:57:15 critical DHCP FAILED - Request sent, No response
    2009-12-01 00:57:14 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging -
    No Response received - T3 time-out
    2009-12-01 00:57:12 critical DHCP FAILED - Request sent, No response
    2009-12-01 00:57:11 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging -
    No Response received - T3 time-out
    2009-12-01 00:57:09 critical DHCP FAILED - Request sent, No response
    2009-12-01 00:57:07 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging -
    No Response received - T3 time-out
    2009-12-01 00:57:06 critical DHCP FAILED - Request sent, No response
    2009-12-01 00:57:04 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging -
    No Response received - T3 time-out
    2009-12-01 00:57:03 critical DHCP FAILED - Request sent, No response
    2009-12-01 00:57:02 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging -
    No Response received - T3 time-out
    2009-12-01 00:57:00 critical DHCP FAILED - Request sent, No response
    2009-12-01 00:56:59 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging -
    No Response received - T3 time-out
    2009-12-01 00:56:57 critical DHCP FAILED - Request sent, No response
    1970-01-01 00:00:06 critical No Ranging Response received - T3
    time-out

  2. #2
    f/fgeorge
    Guest

    Re: WRT54G + Comcast = random cutouts?

    On Wed, 02 Dec 2009 01:23:10 -0500, Justin
    <justin@nobecauseihatespam.com> wrote:

    >Two days ago my WRT54G V6 started cutting out the internet connection
    >for no reason.
    >I updated the firmware and that didn't help. Per Google I changed the
    >MTU from auto to 1492, I thought that worked until just now it cut out
    >on me.
    >The cable modem is a Linksys BEFCMU10 version 4.
    >When I go to its diagnostic page http://192.168.100.1/ this is what I get:
    >Modem


    Maybe your router is getting hot or going bad? I have Comcast and the
    same router and it works just fine. Have you tried an alternative
    software for the router?

  3. #3
    Justin
    Guest

    Re: WRT54G + Comcast = random cutouts?

    f/fgeorge wrote:
    > On Wed, 02 Dec 2009 01:23:10 -0500, Justin
    > <justin@nobecauseihatespam.com> wrote:
    >
    >> Two days ago my WRT54G V6 started cutting out the internet connection
    >> for no reason.
    >> I updated the firmware and that didn't help. Per Google I changed the
    >> MTU from auto to 1492, I thought that worked until just now it cut out
    >> on me.
    >> The cable modem is a Linksys BEFCMU10 version 4.
    >> When I go to its diagnostic page http://192.168.100.1/ this is what I get:
    >> Modem

    >
    > Maybe your router is getting hot or going bad? I have Comcast and the
    > same router and it works just fine. Have you tried an alternative
    > software for the router?


    Its not getting hot, it has been sitting in the same place for the last
    year without a problem. There's no dust.


    I heard about alternative firmwares for the Linksys...
    Which one should I try?

  4. #4
    f/fgeorge
    Guest

    Re: WRT54G + Comcast = random cutouts?

    On Wed, 02 Dec 2009 17:00:50 -0500, Justin
    <justin@nobecauseihatespam.com> wrote:

    >f/fgeorge wrote:
    >> On Wed, 02 Dec 2009 01:23:10 -0500, Justin
    >> <justin@nobecauseihatespam.com> wrote:
    >>
    >>> Two days ago my WRT54G V6 started cutting out the internet connection
    >>> for no reason.
    >>> I updated the firmware and that didn't help. Per Google I changed the
    >>> MTU from auto to 1492, I thought that worked until just now it cut out
    >>> on me.
    >>> The cable modem is a Linksys BEFCMU10 version 4.
    >>> When I go to its diagnostic page http://192.168.100.1/ this is what I get:
    >>> Modem

    >>
    >> Maybe your router is getting hot or going bad? I have Comcast and the
    >> same router and it works just fine. Have you tried an alternative
    >> software for the router?

    >
    >Its not getting hot, it has been sitting in the same place for the last
    >year without a problem. There's no dust.
    >
    >
    >I heard about alternative firmwares for the Linksys...
    >Which one should I try?


    All the reviewers like Tomato, I use HyperWrt 2.0, it works fine for
    me.

  5. #5
    Justin
    Guest

    Re: WRT54G + Comcast = random cutouts?

    f/fgeorge wrote:
    > On Wed, 02 Dec 2009 17:00:50 -0500, Justin
    > <justin@nobecauseihatespam.com> wrote:
    >
    >> f/fgeorge wrote:
    >>> On Wed, 02 Dec 2009 01:23:10 -0500, Justin
    >>> <justin@nobecauseihatespam.com> wrote:
    >>>
    >>>> Two days ago my WRT54G V6 started cutting out the internet connection
    >>>> for no reason.
    >>>> I updated the firmware and that didn't help. Per Google I changed the
    >>>> MTU from auto to 1492, I thought that worked until just now it cut out
    >>>> on me.
    >>>> The cable modem is a Linksys BEFCMU10 version 4.
    >>>> When I go to its diagnostic page http://192.168.100.1/ this is what I get:
    >>>> Modem
    >>> Maybe your router is getting hot or going bad? I have Comcast and the
    >>> same router and it works just fine. Have you tried an alternative
    >>> software for the router?

    >> Its not getting hot, it has been sitting in the same place for the last
    >> year without a problem. There's no dust.
    >>
    >>
    >> I heard about alternative firmwares for the Linksys...
    >> Which one should I try?

    >
    > All the reviewers like Tomato, I use HyperWrt 2.0, it works fine for
    > me.


    Both of which I can't use due to version 6.0.

  6. #6
    Bill M.
    Guest

    Re: WRT54G + Comcast = random cutouts?

    On Wed, 02 Dec 2009 23:16:47 -0500, Justin
    <justin@nobecauseihatespam.com> wrote:

    >f/fgeorge wrote:
    >> On Wed, 02 Dec 2009 17:00:50 -0500, Justin
    >> <justin@nobecauseihatespam.com> wrote:
    >>
    >>> f/fgeorge wrote:
    >>>> On Wed, 02 Dec 2009 01:23:10 -0500, Justin
    >>>> <justin@nobecauseihatespam.com> wrote:
    >>>>
    >>>>> Two days ago my WRT54G V6 started cutting out the internet connection
    >>>>> for no reason.
    >>>>> I updated the firmware and that didn't help. Per Google I changed the
    >>>>> MTU from auto to 1492, I thought that worked until just now it cut out
    >>>>> on me.
    >>>>> The cable modem is a Linksys BEFCMU10 version 4.
    >>>>> When I go to its diagnostic page http://192.168.100.1/ this is what I get:
    >>>>> Modem
    >>>> Maybe your router is getting hot or going bad? I have Comcast and the
    >>>> same router and it works just fine. Have you tried an alternative
    >>>> software for the router?
    >>> Its not getting hot, it has been sitting in the same place for the last
    >>> year without a problem. There's no dust.
    >>>
    >>>
    >>> I heard about alternative firmwares for the Linksys...
    >>> Which one should I try?

    >>
    >> All the reviewers like Tomato, I use HyperWrt 2.0, it works fine for
    >> me.

    >
    >Both of which I can't use due to version 6.0.


    I use and recommend dd-wrt. You can check if your device is supported
    here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices

    --
    Bill

  7. #7
    Timothy Daniels
    Guest

    Re: WRT54G + Comcast = random cutouts?


    "Justin" wrote:
    > Two days ago my WRT54G V6 started cutting out the internet connection for no reason.
    > I updated the firmware and that didn't help. Per Google I changed the MTU from auto to 1492, I thought that worked
    > until just now it cut out on me.
    > [.........]


    Try changing the frequency band that your wireless router uses.
    I had a Linksys WRT54GS wireless router that worked for a couple
    months, and then the connection started getting iffy. I suffered for at
    least 6 months, thinking that "it's that flaky Wi-Fi crap". I finally tried
    changing to a different frequency band, and then the connection became
    rock solid. A neighbor had probably gotten a wireless router, too, and
    chose the same band. Or someone nearby got a wireless telephone.

    *TimDaniels*



  8. #8
    Justin
    Guest

    Re: WRT54G + Comcast = random cutouts?

    Timothy Daniels wrote:
    > "Justin" wrote:
    >> Two days ago my WRT54G V6 started cutting out the internet connection for no reason.
    >> I updated the firmware and that didn't help. Per Google I changed the MTU from auto to 1492, I thought that worked
    >> until just now it cut out on me.
    >> [.........]

    >
    > Try changing the frequency band that your wireless router uses.
    > I had a Linksys WRT54GS wireless router that worked for a couple
    > months, and then the connection started getting iffy. I suffered for at
    > least 6 months, thinking that "it's that flaky Wi-Fi crap". I finally tried
    > changing to a different frequency band, and then the connection became
    > rock solid. A neighbor had probably gotten a wireless router, too, and
    > chose the same band. Or someone nearby got a wireless telephone.
    >
    > *TimDaniels*
    >
    >


    Do you mean channel, or band? For example I have it on channel 11,
    using G. Should I go back to b?

  9. #9
    Bill M.
    Guest

    Re: WRT54G + Comcast = random cutouts?

    On Thu, 03 Dec 2009 02:57:37 -0500, Justin
    <justin@nobecauseihatespam.com> wrote:

    >Timothy Daniels wrote:
    >> "Justin" wrote:
    >>> Two days ago my WRT54G V6 started cutting out the internet connection for no reason.
    >>> I updated the firmware and that didn't help. Per Google I changed the MTU from auto to 1492, I thought that worked
    >>> until just now it cut out on me.
    >>> [.........]

    >>
    >> Try changing the frequency band that your wireless router uses.
    >> I had a Linksys WRT54GS wireless router that worked for a couple
    >> months, and then the connection started getting iffy. I suffered for at
    >> least 6 months, thinking that "it's that flaky Wi-Fi crap". I finally tried
    >> changing to a different frequency band, and then the connection became
    >> rock solid. A neighbor had probably gotten a wireless router, too, and
    >> chose the same band. Or someone nearby got a wireless telephone.
    >>
    >> *TimDaniels*
    >>
    >>

    >
    >Do you mean channel, or band? For example I have it on channel 11,
    >using G. Should I go back to b?


    I think he meant channel. Going from G to B (or vice versa) will not
    help. Changing to another channel MAY help, assuming you find a
    channel without interference. Note that there are only 3
    non-overlapping channels: 1, 6, and 11. Try doing a site survey to see
    which channels are in heavy use, and then avoid them.

    --
    Bill

  10. #10
    Justin
    Guest

    Re: WRT54G + Comcast = random cutouts?

    Bill M. wrote:
    > On Thu, 03 Dec 2009 02:57:37 -0500, Justin
    > <justin@nobecauseihatespam.com> wrote:
    >
    >> Timothy Daniels wrote:
    >>> "Justin" wrote:
    >>>> Two days ago my WRT54G V6 started cutting out the internet connection for no reason.
    >>>> I updated the firmware and that didn't help. Per Google I changed the MTU from auto to 1492, I thought that worked
    >>>> until just now it cut out on me.
    >>>> [.........]
    >>> Try changing the frequency band that your wireless router uses.
    >>> I had a Linksys WRT54GS wireless router that worked for a couple
    >>> months, and then the connection started getting iffy. I suffered for at
    >>> least 6 months, thinking that "it's that flaky Wi-Fi crap". I finally tried
    >>> changing to a different frequency band, and then the connection became
    >>> rock solid. A neighbor had probably gotten a wireless router, too, and
    >>> chose the same band. Or someone nearby got a wireless telephone.
    >>>
    >>> *TimDaniels*
    >>>
    >>>

    >> Do you mean channel, or band? For example I have it on channel 11,
    >> using G. Should I go back to b?

    >
    > I think he meant channel. Going from G to B (or vice versa) will not
    > help. Changing to another channel MAY help, assuming you find a
    > channel without interference. Note that there are only 3
    > non-overlapping channels: 1, 6, and 11. Try doing a site survey to see
    > which channels are in heavy use, and then avoid them.
    >


    I went from 11 to 1 - no change. I used kismac to see what channels are
    open, there is one other wireless network on channel 6 - very weak
    signal. He has wpa2 enabled just like me.

  11. #11
    Bill M.
    Guest

    Re: WRT54G + Comcast = random cutouts?

    On Thu, 03 Dec 2009 19:42:38 -0500, Justin
    <justin@nobecauseihatespam.com> wrote:

    >Bill M. wrote:
    >> On Thu, 03 Dec 2009 02:57:37 -0500, Justin
    >> <justin@nobecauseihatespam.com> wrote:
    >>
    >>> Timothy Daniels wrote:
    >>>> "Justin" wrote:
    >>>>> Two days ago my WRT54G V6 started cutting out the internet connection for no reason.
    >>>>> I updated the firmware and that didn't help. Per Google I changed the MTU from auto to 1492, I thought that worked
    >>>>> until just now it cut out on me.
    >>>>> [.........]
    >>>> Try changing the frequency band that your wireless router uses.
    >>>> I had a Linksys WRT54GS wireless router that worked for a couple
    >>>> months, and then the connection started getting iffy. I suffered for at
    >>>> least 6 months, thinking that "it's that flaky Wi-Fi crap". I finally tried
    >>>> changing to a different frequency band, and then the connection became
    >>>> rock solid. A neighbor had probably gotten a wireless router, too, and
    >>>> chose the same band. Or someone nearby got a wireless telephone.
    >>>>
    >>>> *TimDaniels*
    >>>>
    >>>>
    >>> Do you mean channel, or band? For example I have it on channel 11,
    >>> using G. Should I go back to b?

    >>
    >> I think he meant channel. Going from G to B (or vice versa) will not
    >> help. Changing to another channel MAY help, assuming you find a
    >> channel without interference. Note that there are only 3
    >> non-overlapping channels: 1, 6, and 11. Try doing a site survey to see
    >> which channels are in heavy use, and then avoid them.
    >>

    >
    >I went from 11 to 1 - no change. I used kismac to see what channels are
    >open, there is one other wireless network on channel 6 - very weak
    >signal. He has wpa2 enabled just like me.


    With that info, I think you can probably rule out interference from
    other wireless networks. Unfortunately, wireless networks aren't the
    only thing that use that band.

    By the way, if I were going to manually set the router's MTU, I'd
    probably use 1500 rather than 1492 bytes, but that's based on an
    experience I had quite a few years ago so it may not apply now.

    When your Internet connection goes down, have you pinpointed whether
    the culprit is the router, cable modem, or other?

    --
    Bill

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1

    Linksys and Comcast cable modem

    My Linksys router and Comcast modem a working just fine. Hereís what I did.
    First you must understand what you are trying to achieve. You are trying to make the modem think that it is talking directly to the computer. In other words, the Linksys router must look just like the Dell computer to the Comcast modem. This is primarily done by giving the router the same Mac address as a computer.
    1. Plug the ethernet cable from the back of the computer straight into the cable modem. Make sure you are able to get to the Internet just like that. If not, something is wrong with your modem. A Comcast tech will be glad to help you with the modem which is his own equipment.
    2. If the Internet is working, the modem is fine. On your computer screen, go to the command prompt (Start> Programs> Accessories >Command Prompt). Now youíre seeing a black DOS screen. Type in: ipconfig/release. Hit your Enter key. Wait 30 seconds and type in: ipconfig/renew Hit Enter again.
    3. Now that you have a fresh ip address issued by the cable modem, type in: ipconfig/all. This will give you the physical address of your computer. It should look like this: 00.1A.A0.22.1A.8B. This is an example not the actual address. Write this address down.
    4. Okay, plug the Internet cable from the back of your computer into your WAN connection socket. WAN is the first socket alone. LAN are the four sockets numbered one to four. While forums donít explain this I have no idea. Now plug the power cord to the router into the wall. youíre trying to get into the routerís configuration so you can change the Mac address.
    5. You can usually access the router in Internet Explorer browser by typing the address: 192.168.1.1; Sometimes, if youíve tinkered with the firmware, your routerís main address may be different. If all else fails, hold down the reset button in the back of the router for 60 seconds. This should give the router back its factory defaults and now that address is good.
    6. Assuming you are inside your routerís administration page, find the tab that says Clone Mac address. Enable the clone, but type in the address you wrote down. Just in case youíve forgotten, the physical address of your computer is the same Mac address we want to give to your router so the modem thinks itís talking to the computer. While youíre there in the router, make sure your security is WPA with your personal security code, at least 10 digits long. Write it down.
    7. Save all settings. Get out of your router and turn it off, unplug it from the wall.
    8. Now here is the tricky part. The cable modem is on. The router is off. So that you donít get confused, I am going to use color cables. Iím going to plug a gray ethernet cable into the back of my computer (Itís really already there). Iím going to plug the other end of the gray cable into the Number 1 LAN socket on my router. Iím going to plug a yellow ethernet cable into the cable modem. Iím going to plug the other end of the yellow cable into the WAN socket (standalone, not numbered) of my router. The yellow cable is transferring the internet to my router.
    9. You can now plug the router back into the wall. Give the router time to light up, and grab the information from the modem, maybe 60 seconds. The modem is on; the routerís on. All we need now is a wireless adapter.
    10. Plug your wireless adapter into the computerís USB slot. Tell the adapter to find all the networks. When you find your network, double-click or click Connect. The adapter screen should ask for the 10 digit security code you wrote down. Once you plug this code in, the screen should be connected to the network.
    11. Now go around to each computer in the house and configure their individual wireless adapters to connect to the new network. Each time you will be asked for the 10 digit security code. Now everybody should be online.
    So many people have helped me in these forums, Iím glad to give back. GOOD LUCK!!!

Similar Threads

  1. WRT54G Speed / Comcast / Help...
    By ameilius in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-19-09, 11:50 PM
  2. Comcast screwing my speed on usenet
    By kombi187@gmail.com in forum comp.dcom.modems.cable
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-31-09, 10:37 PM
  3. Terrible Comcast!
    By Coryb314 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-04-09, 09:36 PM
  4. WRT54G Ver 7 Connection Drops and Random Speed
    By Alterego in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-30-08, 02:31 AM
  5. Chicago Comcast Sucks - Rant
    By ghettoside in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 11-13-07, 06:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •