Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Provider Problems

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4

    Provider Problems

    This problem started to annoy me since I get really huge ping spikes that lead sometimes to loss. My provider doesn't want/can't fix the problem and I decided to give it a search on google to find details. I have optical fyber from my provider, only problem is that many times the ping variation is becoming visible, especialy in games. Here is how my ping in gateway looks like:
    (It does look the same from me to gateway, wherever I try it fropm home or from work - different ip and different gateway from home/work.)

    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time=762ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time=816ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time=647ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time=456ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time=236ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time=73ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time=824ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
    Reply from 89.39.27.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254

    Anyone can help me to find out what is the problem?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    Anyone can help me pls? The problem appears only for my upload. It also happens that if I use ventrilo/teamspeak I can hear everyone, but I can't "upload" data from me to let them hear me. The behaviour in online games, is just like having loss on upload which takes around 1second, and then 3 4 seconds works ok. When you see there in my ping list that it goes over 300 it actualy the moment when I get a total packet loss for a second of even more sometimes.

  3. #3
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    The are 2 usual causes for problem in upload bandwidth:

    - presence of malware
    - disruption in signals

    First deep scan your comp to make sure it is free of malware.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    Ty for repply, this happens on all 25 computers in the company, through a linux server or bypassing it, also tested with a laptop, also tested at home on my own computer and it does exactly the same.

    Someone sugested that the Cisco equipment that my provider is using is configured to drop tcp/udp packets if too many packets are reaching it? Shouldn't it be configured to drop only pings or anything? Are there too many clients that have viruses and makes the equipment perform bad? It is that bad the equipment so that when 1 2 clients have trojans/viruses is affecting the entire network performance?

  5. #5
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Depends on the available bandwidth, and the number of computers infected. But I would imagine the upload bandwidth is large enough to support a few dozen comps/devices.

    Could it be that some comp(s) is running torrents with upload speed set to unlimited? Such a case can send out hundreds of simultaneous connection requests and congest the upload bandwidth.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2
    could be router or switch issues. I have ran accross them many times

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    So far I got the equipement changed at one location, and the cables changed to the other location and is exactly the same. You think is the router at gateway? Is it overloaded? Is there someone else that has viruses and has too much bandwidth and uses it all to"flood" router with that virus? Is it bad configuration at the provider?
    Any help is appreciated.

  8. #8
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try running a network management software and see where unusual traffic comes from:

    http://www.solarwinds.com/downloads/
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1

    Hi

    Good post. Keep valid up.
    Really informative post. thanks considering sharing this article.
    ccnp

Similar Threads

  1. Digital Subscriber Line (xDSL) FAQ v20010108
    By jkristof@interaccess.com in forum comp.dcom.xdsl
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-21-09, 11:51 AM
  2. 64 MB Vid Card appears as 32 MB
    By PsykoPenguin in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-02-08, 11:43 AM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-24-07, 06:07 AM
  4. Problems at the Goole Exchange
    By db00707 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-12-07, 06:41 AM
  5. winantivirus again
    By robertdempster in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-20-07, 08:57 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •