Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Setting Up New Wireless Connection Help!!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2

    Setting Up New Wireless Connection Help!!!

    Hey guys,

    Basically im here in Japan and im connected to my 1gig VDSL2 connection via PPPOE through our router the company supplied us.
    The internet all works fine when i connect it directly to my laptop so no issues there!

    But i want to run the connection through our wireless router or just set it up as a AP. Basically i have gone into the wireless router via the 192.168.1.1 control panel set it up as a PPPOE client and entered in the same password and username my ISP provided me to connect to the net. I then can see the wireless router and its sending out a signal i can also connect to it.

    But when i plug my ISP's router into my wireless router via the blue net cable then connect to the wireless connection it has no internet and i cant browse the net or anything. I can connect to the wireless router but its not getting internet from my ISP's router.

    What am i doing wrong, i setup the wireless router i then unplug it from my laptop plug the ISP's router into my wireless router with all the same PPPOE user and password settings but its not getting the internet?

    Any help would be great thanks!!!

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2
    ok i can connect now i just noticed the DNS details in the wireless router were wrong but now everytime i want to connect to the internet i must first connect to the wireless then i have to manually dial into the PPPOE connection. The wireless router wont dial the connection automatically and hold it.

    How would i go about fixing this?

  3. #3
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,338
    The modem itself may be a "1 IP router". You may have to put the modem into Bridge Mode, then use the router to manage the connection. The modem & router probably have the same LAN IP address.
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    290
    Have you deleted the PPPoE settings on your computer. You needed to set them up in the router and there's no need for them on the computer as well. the internet connection is made by the router - not your computer.

Similar Threads

  1. lost wireless connection after McAfee uninstall
    By Nil in forum ms.public.windows.networking.wireless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-06-09, 09:42 PM
  2. Wireless help for Gaming
    By colyou in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-09-08, 07:45 PM
  3. Unstable wireless connection setting
    By Marvin Kornblau in forum ms.public.windows.networking.wireless
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-01-08, 04:13 AM
  4. RE: Wireless network connection is now missing from PC
    By =?Utf-8?B?S3VkZXNhaTEyMw==?= in forum ms.public.windows.networking.wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-16-08, 08:54 PM
  5. Linksys WRT54G and Intel PRO Wireless 2200 : Connection Drops
    By Alterego in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-10-07, 12:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •