Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Windows Server 2003 1Gbit tweaking

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2

    Windows Server 2003 1Gbit tweaking

    Hey,

    Any idea how to properly tweak the network connection for a 1Gbit connection, Windows Server 2003?

    We have 2 boxes, both Win2k3, but one of the 2 doesn't seem to be able to utilize anywhere near 1Gbit, not even 100Mbps at time. Other, same line, can almost go to 1Gbit.

    Any idea how i can tweak this box?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    XP + akbarri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Caterpillar Inc
    Posts
    938
    Blog Entries
    3
    download SG TCP Optimizer @ http://www.speedguide.net/files/TCPOptimizer.exe
    run SG TCP Optimizer on both PC
    dont set anything, just compare the setting.
    any different??
    if yes, follow the good one!!
    if not, send TCP/IP Analyzer (http://www.speedguide.net:8080) from both PC!!

    # OS: Windows, Linux # Browser: Blink, Gecko, Presto, Webkit + Squid + Bind

  3. #3
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,943
    Is this server in a product environment?
    Is it a server grade network card with server certified drivers?
    Does the switch support jumbo frames? If so, has the servers NIC drivers been adjusting accordingly?
    To be honest, I'm not a fan of "tweaking" settings on servers in a production environment, broadband tweaks are more for internet stuff, Windows OS is already set for LAN speeds.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Is this server in a product environment?
    Is it a server grade network card with server certified drivers?
    Does the switch support jumbo frames? If so, has the servers NIC drivers been adjusting accordingly?
    To be honest, I'm not a fan of "tweaking" settings on servers in a production environment, broadband tweaks are more for internet stuff, Windows OS is already set for LAN speeds.
    Server is in a production environment - and yeah I was afraid I might end up damaging the server even more by tweaking it but we are switching to the other box and will be using this one for something else, so its fine really - as long as it isn't messed up to the point of not being usable/requires reinstall.

    I downloaded TCPOptimizer on both machines, however where do I do the comparison? By default on the other machine, everything is "blank" (I did not look at the registry stuff, is that what I have to look at?) and only if I select "Optmize" will I get data and etc.

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,943
    Well don't forget, Windows was by default optimized by Microsoft for LAN speed since the old days, internet "tweaking" programs came out to help it run better on lower speed connections..first dial up, and then the early days of broadband...up to current days of broadband which are still generally below LAN speeds.

    I have seen situations where the tcp stack was so messed up, that running TCP Optimizer has helped network performance that had been seriously screwed up.

    So...back to the NIC...server NIC? Good drivers? Does your gigabit switch support jumbo frames? And if so, adjusted the NIC driver settings to crank up the jumbo frames?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    XP + akbarri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Caterpillar Inc
    Posts
    938
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by AaronDM View Post
    I downloaded TCPOptimizer on both machines, however where do I do the comparison? By default on the other machine, everything is "blank" (I did not look at the registry stuff, is that what I have to look at?) and only if I select "Optmize" will I get data and etc.
    CORRECT, every value should be BLANK for DEFAULT VALUE!
    so both PC are in DEFAULT VALUE.

    DONT CHANGE ANYTHING. (select optimize = change to recommended value)
    compare ur TCP/IP Analyzer (http://www.speedguide.net:8080) from both PC!!

    # OS: Windows, Linux # Browser: Blink, Gecko, Presto, Webkit + Squid + Bind

Similar Threads

  1. Weird Problem
    By BaLa in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-01-09, 06:56 PM
  2. clean registry of windows 2003 server
    By mabhamdi in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-25-09, 05:36 AM
  3. Server 2003 & the rest of my network
    By axemagic in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-12-08, 07:49 PM
  4. Server 2003 & XP Home
    By Lacyt in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-05-07, 08:18 AM
  5. Applying permissions on Windows server 2003
    By k3rri in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-15-06, 08:47 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •