Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Wirless router to wireless router

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3

    Wirless router to wireless router

    Hi, I could really use some help with this problem.
    Basically I have 2 routers, my existing router is a modem/router (Thomson TG585V7) ( I am with Tiscali)
    This router has a horrible wireless signal, and routinely cuts out.
    I also have another wireless router from my old house (Linksys WRT54GS v5.1)
    This router on the other hand is brilliant.
    What i want is to connect that router to the Thomson router, so I can use it for wireless.
    Could anyone help me with this???

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    261
    that's not a good idea but just coonnect the wireless wan into the wired lan port connect the wired router to modem

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3
    OK, but how would I set up the Linksys router?
    Im sorry but could someone explain this to me in steps? sorry

  4. #4
    SG Enthusiast The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    CYQY
    Posts
    3,125
    One way to do it is to put the Thomson in bridged mode so it's only a modem. Then connect it to the Linksys WAN port and setup the Linksys the normal way. The other way to do it is to turn off the DHCP function in the Linksys and connect the network cable to one of it's LAN jacks. The Linksys will then work as just a switch. I think you want to turn the wireless off in the Thomson too.
    I don't know the same things you don't know.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3
    OK, unfortunately the Thomson does not have an option to set it in bridged mode.
    So I connect the the Linksys to the Thomson via a Lan, However which port to I put the Ethernet cable from the Thomson, the incoming port, or the LAN outgoing ports.
    Also what do I do about IP's etc.

  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    CYQY
    Posts
    3,125
    You connect the LAN jack on the Thomson to one of the LAN jacks on the Linksys. You then connect wired PC's to the other LAN jacks on the Linksys. Since the Linksys is running as just a switch with it's DHCP server function turned off, the PC's will get there IP addresses from the Thomson. If both routers use the same IP address for there Web GUI setup page you'll want to change one of them. I'd turn the wireless off in the Thomson if you can, or use a different SSID from the one you want to use on the Linksys. If the Linksys has an option to set it as an access point that may be another way to do it too.
    I don't know the same things you don't know.

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless Router Connectivity Issues
    By whitsey in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-20-08, 06:08 PM
  2. Wireless help for Gaming
    By colyou in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-09-08, 07:45 PM
  3. Having Trouble with Wireless Router
    By purecomedy in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-16-08, 09:48 PM
  4. Wireless Router Issue... please help! =]
    By CoteJM in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-24-08, 04:44 PM
  5. Mixing a wireless router and an ethernet switch. How?
    By jb22 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-06-07, 04:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •