Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Duke Nukem 3D High Res Pack

  1. #1
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983

    Duke Nukem 3D High Res Pack

    I love when people make these hires mods/make overs. This one is especially nice using the Eduke32 port.

    It also has a mod called duke plus.

    http://hrp.duke4.net/

    Screenshots:

    http://hrp.duke4.net/media.php

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,857


    Not quite as awe inspiring as GLQuake was for Quake.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    I think its pretty good. They're working on a renderer called Polymer that should make it even better.

  4. #4
    If it were the mid 90's this game would look amazing.
    Kinky is using a feather.
    Perverted is using the whole chicken.

  5. #5
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Quote Originally Posted by chimdogger View Post
    If it were the mid 90's this game would look amazing.
    With enough time maybe there will be a fan made Duke Nukem Forever. LOL

  6. #6
    Moderator David's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Nova Caesarea
    Posts
    9,351
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    With enough time maybe there will be a fan made Duke Nukem Forever. LOL
    Would not surprise me, especially after seeing the additions made to Vampire: Bloodlines.

    Hell_Yes

    Luck is where preparation meets opportunity - Seneca

    "Anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" - Isaac Asimov

    It is my ambition to say in ten sentences what others say in a whole book. - Friedrich Nietzsche

  7. #7
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    Would not surprise me, especially after seeing the additions made to Vampire: Bloodlines.
    Some great work can be done by dedicated fans. I assume you mean the P&P mod? Looks like quite the add on.

  8. #8
    Moderator David's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Nova Caesarea
    Posts
    9,351
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    Some great work can be done by dedicated fans. I assume you mean the P&P mod? Looks like quite the add on.
    Yes, that one and others.

    Hell_Yes

    Luck is where preparation meets opportunity - Seneca

    "Anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" - Isaac Asimov

    It is my ambition to say in ten sentences what others say in a whole book. - Friedrich Nietzsche

  9. #9
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    I love when people make these hires mods/make overs. This one is especially nice using the Eduke32 port.

    It also has a mod called duke plus.

    http://hrp.duke4.net/

    Screenshots:

    http://hrp.duke4.net/media.php
    And now they screenshots are even better with polymer!

  10. #10
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,230
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post


    Not quite as awe inspiring as GLQuake was for Quake.
    I don't think things will ever quite be that good again...I remember the first time I got a voodoo card and fired up GLquake, I think my jaw dropped so hard it broke my keyboard. After playing Quake in software mode for so long it was an epiphany of sorts.

  11. #11
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,857
    Quote Originally Posted by loop2kil View Post
    I don't think things will ever quite be that good again...I remember the first time I got a voodoo card and fired up GLquake, I think my jaw dropped so hard it broke my keyboard. After playing Quake in software mode for so long it was an epiphany of sorts.
    Heh..yeah..that was probably my biggest "wow" moment for gaming..ever.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  12. #12

  13. #13
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,857
    Almost as good as Quake 2 was.....but it's still not 3D...more like 2 1/2 D.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  14. #14
    A+, Security+, Mobility+ Shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4,432
    Blog Entries
    1
    Doom / Doom 2 , then Quake for Dos
    _______________________________________________
    Vendor neutral certified in IT Project Management, IT Security, Cisco Networking, Cisco Security, Wide Area Networks, IPv6, IT Hardware, Unix, Linux, and Windows server administration

  15. #15
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,230
    All this classic gaming talk, makes me want to build a dos gaming machine....I have a Voodoo 3 3000, 1 ghz tbird, some sdram and an old Asus Socket A MB laying around...should suffice, eh?

  16. #16
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Quote Originally Posted by loop2kil View Post
    All this classic gaming talk, makes me want to build a dos gaming machine....I have a Voodoo 3 3000, 1 ghz tbird, some sdram and an old Asus Socket A MB laying around...should suffice, eh?
    Still have a voodoo 4500 in regular operation on 1 of my rigs

  17. #17
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,230
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    Still have a voodoo 4500 in regular operation on 1 of my rigs
    Nice...I had a 5500 back in the day but it's long gone.

  18. #18
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    I think I still have a few older cards laying around.. use them just to backup test a video issue on some older rigs

  19. #19
    Junior Member gewone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kingston, Jamaica.
    Posts
    3

    Red face

    Looks beautiful, my honest opinion.
    Would it render these graphs smoothly on Phenom II 945 w/ ATI HD 3300?

  20. #20
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Quote Originally Posted by gewone View Post
    Looks beautiful, my honest opinion.
    Would it render these graphs smoothly on Phenom II 945 w/ ATI HD 3300?
    I'm not sure. Its possible, you might have to turn some effects down though.

Similar Threads

  1. Duke Nukem forever "Done"?
    By YeOldeStonecat in forum Gaming
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 06-23-11, 09:30 AM
  2. Duke Nukem Forever
    By Joe in forum Gaming
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 12-26-08, 10:18 AM
  3. Rule the Seas! Browser game, REAL time waster!
    By YARDofSTUF in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 2445
    Last Post: 05-11-08, 08:02 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •