Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Virtual software question

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943

    Virtual software question

    Which virtualization software do you guys prefer out of VMware, Virtual PC or Virtual box? Another question I have is can server OS's and Linux run on any of these?

    thx

  2. #2
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,149
    i liked VMware the best for my trials of virtual machines.

    ya pretty much any OS can run on them AFAIK

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark View Post
    i liked VMware the best for my trials of virtual machines.

    ya pretty much any OS can run on them AFAIK
    mark, Are you running vmware workstation or server?

    thx

  4. #4
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,149
    VMware server, the free deal is what i tried, it has been quite awhile since i ran it though.

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,947
    Sorta separate levels there....

    VMWare, such as ESXi...is wickedly powerful, a full blow server solution. You'd be amazed as the stuff you can do with it. P2V is cool...put an agent on an old server....and suck it into your primary VMWare box on the fly...so you can throw out the old server hardware. Or have a couple of physical servers....each one running several virtual servers...one of the physical servers has a hardware problem..you can shift over those virtual servers to the other running VMhost on on the fly, pretty much without losing production.

    The others are more desktop products to run a host within.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    no. no, No. NO, NO... NO! stevebakh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    3,228
    I can vouch for VirtualBox - from a basic consumer point of view. All I use it for, is running Windows so I can have access to photoshop and IE8 for testing. If you have a CPU that supports virtualisation, VirtualBox can make use of it too, running your guest OS at near native speeds.

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Mark, Just curious, how much RAM did you have on your physical machine in which you had VMware on it? how much RAM did you allocate to each virtual machine?

    thx

  8. #8
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,149
    Quote Originally Posted by 24giovanni View Post
    Mark, Just curious, how much RAM did you have on your physical machine in which you had VMware on it? how much RAM did you allocate to each virtual machine?

    thx
    8GB main PC, i think i gave the VM like 2GB

Similar Threads

  1. Battle of 35 Antivirus, Who's The Champion?!
    By akbarri in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-17-09, 01:28 PM
  2. Disreputable anti-parasite software
    By George Orwell in forum alt.computer.security
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-13-09, 07:09 AM
  3. Linksys tech support live chat transcript - enjoy!!!!
    By jim in forum ms.public.windows.networking.wireless
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-30-08, 11:19 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-18-07, 02:14 PM
  5. Virtual Memory question.
    By EvilAjax in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-16-07, 04:21 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •