Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 49 of 49

Thread: Microsoft Security Essentials BETA is out

  1. #41
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    578
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamie_R View Post
    seems you can still get it here.
    It says Windows essentials but at the download it is a different program.

    Why is it called CyberDefender AntiSPyware ?

  2. #42
    SCSI Dude Faust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    8,708
    Quote Originally Posted by satyre View Post
    It says Windows essentials but at the download it is a different program.

    Why is it called CyberDefender AntiSPyware ?
    youre clicking on the wrong button. the MS app download button is below the ads. will take you to a download page to download the appropriate version (xp, vista/7 x86, vista x64)
    "Today is a black day in the history of mankind."

    - Leo Szilard

  3. #43
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    578
    Thank you and figured out after I posted.

    Anyway, I installed and run a full scan. I have been using Avira and have had many scans on my system. Now when I did a full scan with this MSE, surprisingly it caught 4 files from other partition. I went and looked the files, but have no clue about it. So, I deleted it.

  4. #44
    SG Enthusiast Easto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    4,950
    Downloaded, installed and removed. I was having problems with it. I ran a full scan and nothing found. Then my computer started locking up on startup. I was running CCleaner on startup and they didn't like to play well with each other. Then with CCleaner disabled I was still running into lockup problems but was finally able to get it to start without having to go to safe mode.

    I'm not sure what it is or was, but for now it's back to Avira

    WinXP btw

  5. #45
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    578
    Yeah, I also had the lock up. It locked up two times during the scan. Each time time I had to hardboot to get back. But at the third time went through without any problem. It is Beta so they will iron out from our feed back they get it automatically.

    I like the MSE console and it is straight forward. Moreover it caught 4 files in my PC that none of the previous AVs were able to alert me.

  6. #46
    Mental Metal Minister Jamie_R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    10,452
    it found one trojan on my PC, and I had to reboot to get rid of it.
    rebooted, got a "services failed to start error", had to hard boot and haven't had a problem since.

    the error could have been caused by pulling the trojan out though ....
    .

    The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

  7. #47
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    I gave it a fair trial, used on my main rig and laptop which both have Windows 7 RTM. It ran light and never found a thing (which it shouldn't), I was not impressed that it could not be scheduled to update more than once per day when MS stated they release updates 3 times a day.

    I then installed it on a few of my clients computers that were already infected, on all of them Avira found malicious files that MSE missed. I know nothing is 100% but Avira has yet to let me down so I'm sticking with it for now.


  8. #48
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,877
    Quote Originally Posted by mnosteele52 View Post
    I gave it a fair trial, used on my main rig and laptop which both have Windows 7 RTM. It ran light and never found a thing (which it shouldn't), I was not impressed that it could not be scheduled to update more than once per day when MS stated they release updates 3 times a day.

    I then installed it on a few of my clients computers that were already infected, on all of them Avira found malicious files that MSE missed. I know nothing is 100% but Avira has yet to let me down so I'm sticking with it for now.

    Most likely trying to conserve resources (update server loads) for just a BETA product. Once it becomes official it'll ramp up.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  9. #49
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    578
    My PC locked up again and had to hardboot to get back. So, I uninstalled MSE and will wait for the final public version.

Similar Threads

  1. HijackThis log any help would be great
    By char in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-26-08, 06:06 PM
  2. Microsoft will push IE 8 public beta
    By Sava700 in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 65
    Last Post: 03-04-08, 10:44 PM
  3. HijackThis Help!!!
    By Banshee 79 in forum Network Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-01-07, 07:24 PM
  4. winantivirus again
    By robertdempster in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-20-07, 08:57 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •