Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Increase buffers? Cable modem with router

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    4

    Question Increase buffers? Cable modem with router

    Based on another thread that described something similar to my situation (Cable connection is super-fast without the router, not so fast with the router), I ran the Argonne National Laboratory NDT test. The results are as follows:

    WEB100 Enabled Statistics:
    Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    checking for firewalls . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    running 10s outbound test (client-to-server [C2S]) . . . . . 2.37Mb/s
    running 10s inbound test (server-to-client [S2C]) . . . . . . 4.63Mb/s

    ------ Client System Details ------
    OS data: Name = Windows XP, Architecture = x86, Version = 5.1
    Java data: Vendor = Sun Microsystems Inc., Version = 1.6.0_13

    ------ Web100 Detailed Analysis ------
    45 Mbps T3/DS3 link found.
    Link set to Full Duplex mode
    No network congestion discovered.
    Good network cable(s) found
    Normal duplex operation found.

    Web100 reports the Round trip time = 101.3 msec; the Packet size = 1460 Bytes; and
    No packet loss was observed.
    S2C throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 1.60%
    This connection is receiver limited 43.66% of the time.
    Increasing the the client's receive buffer (63.0 KB) will improve performance
    This connection is sender limited 48.59% of the time.
    Increasing the NDT server's send buffer (127.0 KB) will improve performance
    This connection is network limited 7.75% of the time.

    Web100 reports TCP negotiated the optional Performance Settings to:
    RFC 2018 Selective Acknowledgment: ON
    RFC 896 Nagle Algorithm: ON
    RFC 3168 Explicit Congestion Notification: OFF
    RFC 1323 Time Stamping: OFF
    RFC 1323 Window Scaling: OFF

    Server 'miranda.ctd.anl.gov' is probably behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port failed]
    Client is probably behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port failed]
    Packet size is preserved End-to-End
    Server IP addresses are preserved End-to-End
    Information: Network Address Translation (NAT) box is modifying the Client's IP address
    Server says [24.23.245.23] but Client says [192.168.41.100]

    I've also run the speedtest.net test:


    I'm paying for 12mbps down, 2mbps up according to Comcast customer service.
    Last edited by cputrdoc; 06-13-09 at 02:09 PM. Reason: Benchmarked higher than I'm paying for?

  2. #2
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Quote Originally Posted by cputrdoc View Post
    Based on [thread=220227]

    I've also run the speedtest.net test:


    I'm paying for 12mbps down, 2mbps up according to Comcast customer service.
    No problem ! You're taking advantage of Comcast PowerBoost !
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Rollingstone View Post
    No problem ! You're taking advantage of Comcast PowerBoost !
    Ahh. I forgot about that. Nevertheless, the latency is still much worse with the router than without. It's a difference in seconds, not milliseconds, with each click on a web link.

  4. #4
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Do a tracert yahoo.com and post.
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    4
    I ran it twice just in case hop #2 was a fluke. 192.168.41.1 is my side of my home router.

    C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Owner>tracert yahoo.com

    Tracing route to yahoo.com [209.191.93.53]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.41.1
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 16 ms 16 ms 11 ms te-3-2-ur10.sanjose.ca.sfba.comcast.net [68.85.1
    90.149]
    4 13 ms 14 ms 10 ms l-99-ur01.pasadena.tx.houston.comcast.net [68.85
    .154.141]
    5 14 ms 14 ms 15 ms pos-0-4-0-0-cr01.sacramento.ca.ibone.comcast.net
    [68.86.90.141]
    6 16 ms 23 ms 16 ms pos-0-8-0-0-cr01.sanjose.ca.ibone.comcast.net [6
    8.86.85.78]
    7 19 ms 21 ms 22 ms pos-0-0-0-0-pe01.11greatoaks.ca.ibone.comcast.ne
    t [68.86.86.54]
    8 25 ms 19 ms 33 ms 75.149.228.254
    9 20 ms 20 ms 18 ms if-12-0-0-45.core4.SQN-SanJose.as6453.net [216.6
    .30.29]
    10 26 ms 26 ms 42 ms if-5-0-0.mcore4.LAA-LosAngeles.as6453.net [216.6
    .85.33]
    11 67 ms 71 ms 59 ms if-3-0-0-926.core1.DTX-Dallas.as6453.net [216.6.
    53.21]
    12 86 ms 85 ms 112 ms ix-6-2.core1.DTX-Dallas.as6453.net [216.6.53.14]

    13 80 ms 85 ms 87 ms ae2-p101.msr1.mud.yahoo.com [216.115.104.107]
    14 92 ms 84 ms 94 ms te-9-1.bas-c1.mud.yahoo.com [68.142.193.9]
    15 86 ms 84 ms 95 ms b1.www.vip.mud.yahoo.com [209.191.93.53]

    Trace complete.

    C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Owner>tracert yahoo.com

    Tracing route to yahoo.com [69.147.114.224]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.41.1
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 12 ms 35 ms 10 ms te-3-2-ur10.sanjose.ca.sfba.comcast.net [68.85.1
    90.149]
    4 25 ms 20 ms 28 ms l-99-ur01.pasadena.tx.houston.comcast.net [68.85
    .154.141]
    5 37 ms 35 ms 47 ms pos-0-5-0-0-cr01.sacramento.ca.ibone.comcast.net
    [68.86.90.137]
    6 36 ms 45 ms 19 ms pos-0-9-0-0-cr01.sanjose.ca.ibone.comcast.net [6
    8.86.85.181]
    7 28 ms 28 ms 28 ms pos-0-0-0-0-pe01.11greatoaks.ca.ibone.comcast.ne
    t [68.86.86.50]
    8 30 ms 21 ms 34 ms 75.149.228.254
    9 44 ms 34 ms 50 ms if-12-0-0-45.core4.SQN-SanJose.as6453.net [216.6
    .30.29]
    10 183 ms 226 ms 285 ms if-15-0-0-936.mcore5.LAA-LosAngeles.as6453.net [
    216.6.30.46]
    11 127 ms 101 ms 128 ms if-5-0-0-984.core3.AEQ-Ashburn.as6453.net [216.6
    .51.69]
    12 111 ms 109 ms 98 ms ix-3-0-9.core3.AEQ-Ashburn.as6453.net [216.6.51.
    30]
    13 127 ms 121 ms 124 ms ae2-p140.msr1.re1.yahoo.com [216.115.108.57]
    14 101 ms 110 ms 139 ms te-8-1.bas-a2.re3.yahoo.com [66.196.112.27]
    15 101 ms 101 ms 111 ms b1.www.vip.re3.yahoo.com [69.147.114.224]

    Trace complete.

  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Replug your cables !
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    4
    All Ethernet cables unplugged, replugged.

    C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Owner>tracert yahoo.com

    Tracing route to yahoo.com [209.131.36.159]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.41.1
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 28 ms 9 ms 10 ms te-3-2-ur10.sanjose.ca.sfba.comcast.net [68.85.1
    90.149]
    4 12 ms 11 ms 12 ms l-99-ur01.pasadena.tx.houston.comcast.net [68.85
    .154.141]
    5 14 ms 14 ms 14 ms pos-0-4-0-0-cr01.sacramento.ca.ibone.comcast.net
    [68.86.90.141]
    6 19 ms 15 ms 17 ms pos-0-9-0-0-cr01.sanjose.ca.ibone.comcast.net [6
    8.86.85.181]
    7 22 ms 18 ms 19 ms pos-0-0-0-0-pe01.11greatoaks.ca.ibone.comcast.ne
    t [68.86.86.54]
    8 25 ms 18 ms 34 ms 75.149.228.254
    9 20 ms 23 ms 26 ms if-12-0-0-45.core4.SQN-SanJose.as6453.net [216.6
    .30.29]
    10 28 ms 20 ms 17 ms ix-2-0-2.core4.SQN-SanJose.as6453.net [216.6.30.
    10]
    11 22 ms 31 ms 19 ms ae0-p171.msr2.sp1.yahoo.com [216.115.107.83]
    12 30 ms 28 ms 21 ms te-9-1.bas-a2.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.32.23]
    13 20 ms 19 ms 20 ms b1.www.vip.sp1.yahoo.com [209.131.36.159]

    Trace complete.

  8. #8
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Damaged or coiled cables ? Is your modem/router placed near electrical devices ?
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

Similar Threads

  1. Can I connect Cable modem to DSL router?
    By fun2sh in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 09-01-15, 10:33 AM
  2. should I Bridge the modem or Router...?
    By Alien-3000 in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-24-09, 03:00 AM
  3. automatic ad-hoc wireless connection?
    By sobriquet in forum ms.public.windows.networking.wireless
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-06-09, 02:04 PM
  4. Cable Modem - TZ 170 Firewall - Netgear Wireless Router
    By dizydiz in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-25-07, 11:28 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •