Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Port Forwarding - WebSTAR DPC 2100

  1. #1

    Arrow Port Forwarding - WebSTAR DPC 2100

    Hello everybody,

    I have a rare problem about forwarding ports. I can't access my modem's port options. In "192.168.100.1" I olny see mac address, serial number etc. under "About Your Modem".



    When I click the other tabs it says "This feature is not enabled"



    This is my ipconfig info



    My external ip is the same as the internal.
    I don't have a router so I connect it directly to the modem via RJ45 ethernet.
    My ISP uses a Cable modem - WebSTAR DPC2100
    http://www.cisco.com/web/consumer/su...m_DPC2100.html

    I have succeded forwarding ports in my other Prolink ADSL (another ISP) by following the guides provided by portforward.com.
    But this cable modem and ISP is completely different and I don't have any idea how to do it.

    Can you please guide me forwarding ports in this modem.

    Thank you, Very much
    I really appreciate your help.

    PC Specs:
    WinXP SP2
    Athlon 3800x2 2ghz
    Asus M2V
    2GB RAM

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,857
    So if you go to www.whatismyip.com is the IP address that shows up the same as the IP address you get when you run IPCONFIG on your computer?

    If so, it's not doing any NAT, so there's no port forwarding to be done, you're running without a hardware firewall. (eek)
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    So if you go to www.whatismyip.com is the IP address that shows up the same as the IP address you get when you run IPCONFIG on your computer?

    If so, it's not doing any NAT, so there's no port forwarding to be done, you're running without a hardware firewall. (eek)
    Thank you very much YeOldeStonecat.

    Yes, my IP is the same in ipconfig and http://www.whatismyip.com/

    I check ports from http://www.canyouseeme.org/
    Every ports I enter are blocked.

    Btw, I disabled firewall and antivirus.

    But the strange thing is whenever I start uTorrent and test the port that uTorrent is using, canyouseeme.org says it's open.
    But when I close uTorrent canyouseeme.org says the port is close.

    Why is that?

    Should I run an application first before a port will be open?

    Thanks

    EDIT: Nevermind, I have just figured it out. Thanks though.
    Last edited by sharpium64; 06-01-09 at 02:29 AM. Reason: Question answered

Similar Threads

  1. Port Forwarding Problem
    By reaser in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-17-09, 01:18 PM
  2. Port forwarding suddenly stopped working
    By KenJackson in forum US Broadband Providers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-21-08, 01:56 PM
  3. (long post) New system and new tech advice and help.
    By osuprowler in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-07-08, 10:05 PM
  4. Problem in Port Forwarding for Windows Remote Desktop or VNC
    By Alterego in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-17-08, 09:22 AM
  5. Double Routers & Port Forwarding
    By herovijay in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-21-08, 08:35 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •