Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: uploading pics through speedguide

  1. #1
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219

    Question uploading pics through speedguide

    Now that many sites such as geocities, won't allow outside linking for pics. How hard would it be for speedguide to enable uploading pics from this site? Would it consume too much bandwidth?
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    6,761

    Post

    Originally posted by John:
    I am sure there are other places you could put them up?
    virtualave.net
    that's what I use

  3. #3
    EgoKilla messiah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    northeast teXas
    Posts
    3,743

    Post

    I uploaded an mp3 to geocities, and the link redirected me to a PIRACYnotification on
    us.share.geocities.com

    This was an mp3 I created.


    whats happening to the internet??!?!


  4. #4
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219

    Question

    John, If I uploaded the pic to speedguide, wouldn't it be on the server after that?
    After the pic is on the speedguide server how does it consume bandwidth?
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  5. #5
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219

    Post

    So is that why geocities stopped outside links?

    When we post a pic it actually downloads from the geocities server to my computer, and not from speedguide's server?
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  6. #6
    NYC Newbie Slayer Prey521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Humble, Tx
    Posts
    34,932

    Post

    Originally posted by RoundEye:
    When we post a pic it actually downloads from the geocities server to my computer, and not from speedguide's server?
    Yeah, but remember, when you clear your cache, it has to be re-downloaded from the SG server.
    Have your feelings been hurt by a random act of E-Thuggery? If so, call 1-800-Waaaaahmbulance, we're here 24 hrs a day, 7 days a week, to take your call, you could be due a large monetary settlement, don't delay, call now.

    "Please be careful prior to entering the world wide web, the internet is serious business"


  7. #7
    SG Elite Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,161

    Post

    yes, when you go to any webserver and your browser requests that image it's downloading from the server onto your computer, otherwise you wouldn't be able to see it

    yes it would be hosted on our server, but when your computer or anyways 'sees' the image it's downloding it off the server so you can see it

    it would eat up our bandwith and money like mad! i assume that's why geocities is doing away with it, it's because ad banners have gone to crap and there is NO money to support the servers and bandwith anymore! same thing would happen to us, bandwith would go through the roof and our bill would go up and we wouldn't be able to pay for the bandwith meaning we'd have to shut down...
    "Would you mind not standing on my chest, my hats on fire." - The Doctor

  8. #8
    SG Enthusiast ssjDoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,612

    Post

    Originally posted by glc1:
    Originally posted by John:
    I am sure there are other places you could put them up?
    virtualave.net
    that's what I use
    Damn, want a credic card number that I don't have
    Fdisk?
    It only take me one beer to get drunk...just not sure if it's the ninth or tenth one

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •