Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Acronis true image question

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943

    Acronis true image question

    I did an image of 2 of my drives but I received an error msg of error code 504 (0x101f8) using acronis true image 2009. Does anyone know what the heck that means? I tried google to no avail.

    thx

  2. #2
    Certified SG Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    29,514
    Boot the system with the recovery CD and see if it recognizes the images. If so, don't worry about it.

  3. #3
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,909
    I did some Googling...found a few threads over at Wilders Security Forums where some Acronis tech guys hang out, seems to be an issue when imaging from within Windows, related to open file and COM+ stuff.

    Are you running this from within Windows?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  4. #4
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Cat, It is a bootable CD so the OS is not in play when imaging. Any idea what they mean by open file and COM + stuff? IS the image still considered good and I don't need to worry about it?

    Thx Cat. As always I appreciate your help.

  5. #5
    Certified SG Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    29,514
    Quote Originally Posted by 24giovanni View Post
    IS the image still considered good and I don't need to worry about it?
    Have. You. Tried. It. Like. I. Said?

  6. #6
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,909
    Open Files and COM+ stuff is from within the OS...."open files" such as with VSS or backup software. COM+ as to dealing with the operating system...so all releated to when doing imaging from within Windows. Not related to doing the image from a bootable CD outside of the OS. I've not seen this error. I don't run 09 however....actually I've switched more to Paragon software over Acronis.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Burke, I don't have a recovery cd. I have a cd with the actual install OS CD. I have done a re-install of the OS without issues even though I have not checked for this error before. Should I assume it is OK then?

  8. #8
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Check bios settings... I know some systems have a "OS install" on/off feature and that may cause problems.

  9. #9
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    Check bios settings... I know some systems have a "OS install" on/off feature and that may cause problems.
    What should I do about the setting?

    thx

  10. #10
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by 24giovanni View Post
    What should I do about the setting?

    thx
    if there is one turn it on as if your going to install the OS perhaps that will enable something.. not sure I'm grasping at straws trying to think solutions without looking at your screen.

  11. #11
    Certified SG Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    29,514
    Quote Originally Posted by 24giovanni View Post
    Burke, I don't have a recovery cd. I have a cd with the actual install OS CD. I have done a re-install of the OS without issues even though I have not checked for this error before. Should I assume it is OK then?
    The ACRONIS recovery CD.

  12. #12
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Quote Originally Posted by Burke View Post
    The ACRONIS recovery CD.
    Yes, it sees them.
    Last edited by 24giovanni; 04-01-09 at 08:56 PM.

  13. #13
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    I did some Googling...found a few threads over at Wilders Security Forums where some Acronis tech guys hang out, seems to be an issue when imaging from within Windows, related to open file and COM+ stuff.

    Are you running this from within Windows?
    I just found the page you found that on and Distributed Transaction Coordinator and COM+ System Application were stopped and in manual settings. Should I start both and automatic start up mode?

  14. #14
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Cat,
    Could you plz answer me.

    thx

  15. #15
    Certified SG Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    29,514
    Quote Originally Posted by 24giovanni View Post
    Yes, it sees them.
    WElllllllllllll...

    Did you try and restore an image and see if it works? If it does, who cares about the error?

  16. #16
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,943
    Quote Originally Posted by Burke View Post
    WElllllllllllll...

    Did you try and restore an image and see if it works? If it does, who cares about the error?
    Well, without checking for errors in the past, yes I have restored without issues. That is why I assume I am OK.

  17. #17
    Certified SG Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    29,514
    Quote Originally Posted by 24giovanni View Post
    Well, without checking for errors in the past, yes I have restored without issues. That is why I assume I am OK.
    Well there ya go.

Similar Threads

  1. Acronis True Image 10 Personal Edition Free
    By Sava700 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-11-09, 03:03 PM
  2. acronis true image 2009 question
    By 24giovanni in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 12-19-08, 08:25 PM
  3. Acronis true image 11 question
    By 24giovanni in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-10-08, 06:34 AM
  4. Acronis True Image 2009 quick opinion...
    By Brk in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-12-08, 01:30 PM
  5. acronis true image home
    By 24giovanni in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-12-08, 02:30 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •