Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Windows Vista packet loss problem with cable modems

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    16

    Windows Vista packet loss problem with cable modems

    I have ran into atleast 8 computers that are running Windows Vista and people are complaining about the internet is very slow. The first step that I always do is to ping a reliable server such as www.comcast.com. The computer may get the first 10 pings with no problem but then starts stating that the destination is unreachable. Beside the unreachable statement has the IP of the Vista machine instead of the server that I pinged. I connected my own laptop that I know works to the cable modem and it pings out just fine. I also noticed that my laptop was pulling a different IP from what the Vista machine was giving. Something in Vista is manipulating the IP address. The weird thing is that I can connect the Vista machine to a router, then the Vista machine would ping and surf just fine. Anyone knows what can manipulate the IP address in Vista when it is connected directly to a cable modem?

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    What is the address that is vista is giving? Also do you have sp1 installed if not install it make sure your network car drivers are up to date as well.

    Also try goiong to control panel network and sharring and on every vista connection disable the ipv6 and network discovery stuff in the ocnnection properties atleast the ipv6.
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    16

    Didn't work

    I tried disabling all security features such as any firewalls, antivirus, and disable IPV6. I also disabled all startup programs. The IP address that the Vista machine would pull is something like 78.22.33.4 when it should be something like 24.34.56.7.....
    When doing pings to a webserver, it would ping ok for the first few but then it would start pinging itself which is 78.22.33.4 and trigger a destination unreachable. All of these occur with a direct connection to a cable modem but then vista works fine if I connect a router in front of the cable modem.

  4. #4
    EvilAngel search team ace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Emerald Triangle looking for EA and some trainwreck!
    Posts
    5,207
    Any chance these are dell computers?

Similar Threads

  1. Yet another Intermittent Packet Loss issue
    By RaT in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-12-08, 12:30 PM
  2. Windows XP Service Pack 3 FAQ
    By Sava700 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-29-08, 10:44 AM
  3. Yummy VISTA Home Premium
    By Lobo in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-04-07, 03:57 PM
  4. Random High Packet Loss
    By jeredish in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-23-07, 09:51 AM
  5. Vista Problem
    By Virtuoso in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-30-06, 08:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •