Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: T1 slow down

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3

    T1 slow down

    Hey guys, new to the forum. I purchased a T1, I think its a full T1, because it is not shared, but I guess it could be a partial because I have it throttled at 705kbs. Its throttled because its 25 cents per kilobyte, which sounds expensive, but I got off pretty darn cheap because I have a business, in the middle of no-where WV. No DSL, no Cable, had Satellite, but with a ping time of 1 second, I couldnt game. Anyway, my throughput, and usual download speeds are 80kbs. Provider said that sounds right, something divide by 8 and basically sounds right. I think it sucks, because with DSL at friends house I can get 250 to 300kbs down. I did run the analyzer and here are the results: Please, if you have suggestions, help me out, i hate to pay $25 more ($176 month now) for another 100k.

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 03.23.2009 00:37
    IP address: 66.109.xxx.xx
    Client OS: Windows XP

    TCP options string: 020405b401010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 65535 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0 bits
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 111
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  2. #2
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU - 1500
    TTL - 64
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    TCP Receive Window - 32120
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 10
    LocalPriority - 5
    Host Priority - 6
    DNSPriority - 7
    NetbtPriority - 8
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3
    Last Result:
    Download Speed: 661 kbps (82.6 KB/sec transfer rate)
    Upload Speed: 661 kbps (82.6 KB/sec transfer rate)

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 03.23.2009 01:33
    IP address: 66.109.xxx.xx
    Client OS: Windows XP

    TCP options string: 020405b401010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 32120 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0 bits
    Unscaled RWIN : 32120
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 1285kbps (161KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 514kbps (64KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 47
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 01010000 (80)
    Precedence: 010 (immediate)
    Delay: 1 (low delay)
    Throughput: 0 (normal throughput)
    Reliability: 0 (normal reliability)
    Cost: 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit: 0 (correct)
    DiffServ: AF22 010100 (20) - Assured Forwarding class 2, medium drop precedence (RFC 2597).

    Only difference I see is the BDP limit, to me, not sure what that means. The beginning of the post is what I typically get via speakeasy, which does calculate the throughput. I guess the settings via the Optimizer are totally arbitrary in reference to the router when I am utilizing my PS3? Do you think I should purchase more bandwidth, or keep tweaking?

  4. #4
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Test your speed at http://speedtest.net and post.
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,001
    Quote Originally Posted by dekoohs View Post
    H. Its throttled because its 25 cents per kilobyte, Anyway, my throughput, and usual download speeds are 80kbs. I think it sucks, because with DSL at friends house I can get 250 to 300kbs down.
    Find out what this "throttling" is,
    But you're pretty close (you should be able to squeeze a bit over 100 instead of just 80). Cannot compare download speeds of a T1 with todays faster DSL and cable. A T1 is 1.54 megs. DSL and cable are usually quite higher than that.

    Is this T combining your phones on it too?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3


    With hughesnet I used to get 1.5 megs, but, a ping of 999 ms

    I have 1 phone line data ported into the adtram as well. This shouldnt be an issue, unless I am on the phone while testing, correct?
    I asked the provider Fibernet of WV if they were throttling, and the guy said absolutely not. I am on copper lines for 2 miles, then fiber optics the rest of the way.

    Is there anyway to run a cmd prompt to see if they are throttling. I used to bust ISP's with the ole port 25 bit, ended up with free dial up for 3 years.

    edit: The Throttling I was referring to in initial post is the amount of speed I purchased, 705kbs, again because I pay 25 cents per kb. They claim they are not throttling my download speed at 80kbs.

    thanks again.
    Last edited by dekoohs; 03-23-09 at 09:10 AM. Reason: correcting my incorrect information

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-18-08, 09:46 PM
  2. Extremely Slow Ping
    By thekempo in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-19-08, 08:51 AM
  3. fast speed test but slow browsing
    By alvo in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-04-07, 01:45 PM
  4. Extremely slow in Vista
    By Kpalsm in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-15-07, 07:10 PM
  5. VERY slow throuput on router.
    By Thirdgen89GTA in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-03-07, 05:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •