Thread: Network problem

Question Network problem

Hey guys, noob here.

I have a network of 10-15 computers. So its a Class C address, correct? that starts with 192.xxx.xxx.xxx. Will i need to subnet this small of a network? How would one go about doing so?

There are wired computers, and 2 wireless routers. One for the public and one for a staff meeting room.

Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    You have room to add more than 225 more computers and it'll still be fine as a class C. No reason to subnet.

However....I'd recommend making a VLAN for your wireless "public" guests, so they can't cause problems with the main business network. A simple managed switch that can do port based VLANs would be able to do this. Or, depending on your access point...some of them support a feature which can VLAN each wireless client.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    You have room to add more than 225 more computers and it'll still be fine as a class C. No reason to subnet.

However....I'd recommend making a VLAN for your wireless "public" guests, so they can't cause problems with the main business network. A simple managed switch that can do port based VLANs would be able to do this. Or, depending on your access point...some of them support a feature which can VLAN each wireless client.
    I was going go to go with these two wireless devices listed below, but if i only went with one because i can make a VLAN with the Cisco SRW2024, which one would you recommended?

Cisco RVS4000
    Cisco WAP4400N

i think you mean 192.168.x.x, but there is no point in subneting it into anything smaller.

You can do a vlan for the wireless, or another subnet. If you router supports a second subnet that may be the easiest way.

Quote Originally Posted by SLY_Z_28 View Post