Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: MDC Password for Telus 2Wire 2700

  1. #1
    John Clay
    Guest

    MDC Password for Telus 2Wire 2700

    Has anyone determined the password for a Telus installed 2Wire 2700 HG-E
    Gateway router? There are settings in there that I would love to access,
    but Telus won't help me. The MDC password is not the same as the User
    password... and it's not 'Dr@cul@!' as it once was.

    In exchange for the password, I happen to have a Seimens SE567 Gateway
    router brand new in a box, that I won't be using...

    Thanks much,


    John

  2. #2
    ray
    Guest

    Re: MDC Password for Telus 2Wire 2700

    "John Clay" <ib4e_c_except@yahoo.com> wrote in message
    news:Xns9B7979662C3C9ib4e@69.16.185.250...
    > Has anyone determined the password for a Telus installed 2Wire 2700 HG-E
    > Gateway router? There are settings in there that I would love to access,
    > but Telus won't help me. The MDC password is not the same as the User
    > password... and it's not 'Dr@cul@!' as it once was.
    >
    > In exchange for the password, I happen to have a Seimens SE567 Gateway
    > router brand new in a box, that I won't be using...


    On page
    http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/0...s-singtel-mio/

    We can read:
    To access Management and Diagnostic Console of 2Wire, which is essentially
    the advanced configuration page, use the browser to go to
    "http://gateway.2wire.net/mdc" or "http://homeportal/mdc" (without quotes)
    instead. If you're prompted with password (especially for SingTel mio
    device), key in "2wire" (without quote), or try default 2Wire password of
    "Wireless" (without quote).




  3. #3
    ray
    Guest

    Re: MDC Password for Telus 2Wire 2700

    "John Clay" <ib4e_c_except@yahoo.com> wrote in message
    news:Xns9B7979662C3C9ib4e@69.16.185.250...
    > Has anyone determined the password for a Telus installed 2Wire 2700 HG-E
    > Gateway router? There are settings in there that I would love to access,
    > but Telus won't help me. The MDC password is not the same as the User
    > password... and it's not 'Dr@cul@!' as it once was.
    >
    > In exchange for the password, I happen to have a Seimens SE567 Gateway
    > router brand new in a box, that I won't be using...


    On page
    http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/0...s-singtel-mio/

    We can read:
    To access Management and Diagnostic Console of 2Wire, which is essentially
    the advanced configuration page, use the browser to go to
    "http://gateway.2wire.net/mdc" or "http://homeportal/mdc" (without quotes)
    instead. If you're prompted with password (especially for SingTel mio
    device), key in "2wire" (without quote), or try default 2Wire password of
    "Wireless" (without quote).




  4. #4
    John Clay
    Guest

    Re: MDC Password for Telus 2Wire 2700

    "ray" <raymond.schmit@piscarlet.be> wrote in
    news:494c2e41@news.stben.net:


    > On page
    > http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/0...ration-page-fo
    > r-2wire-homeportal-residential-router-gateways-singtel-mio/
    >
    > We can read:
    > To access Management and Diagnostic Console of 2Wire, which is
    > essentially the advanced configuration page, use the browser to go to
    > "http://gateway.2wire.net/mdc" or "http://homeportal/mdc" (without
    > quotes) instead. If you're prompted with password (especially for
    > SingTel mio device), key in "2wire" (without quote), or try default
    > 2Wire password of "Wireless" (without quote).



    Thanks for replying Ray.

    I did see these passwords in my quest, and although the default passwords
    for the 2wire router are as you mention, Telus has set up the password in
    their own firmware upgrade and made this different.

    They say that although I bought the router, I am only licenced to use the
    basic settings that they allow me to. I find this extremely frustrating,
    and I think I will start a campaign of education to inform customers of the
    problems associated with this.

    It's amazing how people are getting so used to the limitations placed on
    them by this techno crap... buy a brand new car, but you may never find out
    which fuse controls the dashboard lights.

    Anyway, thanks for replying.


    John

  5. #5
    John Clay
    Guest

    Re: MDC Password for Telus 2Wire 2700

    "ray" <raymond.schmit@piscarlet.be> wrote in
    news:494c2e41@news.stben.net:


    > On page
    > http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/0...ration-page-fo
    > r-2wire-homeportal-residential-router-gateways-singtel-mio/
    >
    > We can read:
    > To access Management and Diagnostic Console of 2Wire, which is
    > essentially the advanced configuration page, use the browser to go to
    > "http://gateway.2wire.net/mdc" or "http://homeportal/mdc" (without
    > quotes) instead. If you're prompted with password (especially for
    > SingTel mio device), key in "2wire" (without quote), or try default
    > 2Wire password of "Wireless" (without quote).



    Thanks for replying Ray.

    I did see these passwords in my quest, and although the default passwords
    for the 2wire router are as you mention, Telus has set up the password in
    their own firmware upgrade and made this different.

    They say that although I bought the router, I am only licenced to use the
    basic settings that they allow me to. I find this extremely frustrating,
    and I think I will start a campaign of education to inform customers of the
    problems associated with this.

    It's amazing how people are getting so used to the limitations placed on
    them by this techno crap... buy a brand new car, but you may never find out
    which fuse controls the dashboard lights.

    Anyway, thanks for replying.


    John

  6. #6
    ray
    Guest

    Re: MDC Password for Telus 2Wire 2700

    "John Clay" <ib4e_c_except@yahoo.com> wrote in message
    news:Xns9B7B2BDCDB09ib4e@69.16.185.250...
    > "ray" <raymond.schmit@piscarlet.be> wrote in
    > news:494c2e41@news.stben.net:
    >
    >
    >> On page
    >> http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/0...ration-page-fo
    >> r-2wire-homeportal-residential-router-gateways-singtel-mio/
    >>
    >> We can read:
    >> To access Management and Diagnostic Console of 2Wire, which is
    >> essentially the advanced configuration page, use the browser to go to
    >> "http://gateway.2wire.net/mdc" or "http://homeportal/mdc" (without
    >> quotes) instead. If you're prompted with password (especially for
    >> SingTel mio device), key in "2wire" (without quote), or try default
    >> 2Wire password of "Wireless" (without quote).

    >
    >
    > Thanks for replying Ray.
    >
    > I did see these passwords in my quest, and although the default passwords
    > for the 2wire router are as you mention, Telus has set up the password in
    > their own firmware upgrade and made this different.
    >
    > They say that although I bought the router, I am only licenced to use the
    > basic settings that they allow me to. I find this extremely frustrating,
    > and I think I will start a campaign of education to inform customers of
    > the
    > problems associated with this.
    >
    > It's amazing how people are getting so used to the limitations placed on
    > them by this techno crap... buy a brand new car, but you may never find
    > out
    > which fuse controls the dashboard lights.
    >
    > Anyway, thanks for replying.


    It was a pleasure to find something.

    For the same problem i did not accept the modem my ISP want to install, i
    use instead a linksys WAG54GS - and i am very happy with it !



  7. #7
    ray
    Guest

    Re: MDC Password for Telus 2Wire 2700

    "John Clay" <ib4e_c_except@yahoo.com> wrote in message
    news:Xns9B7B2BDCDB09ib4e@69.16.185.250...
    > "ray" <raymond.schmit@piscarlet.be> wrote in
    > news:494c2e41@news.stben.net:
    >
    >
    >> On page
    >> http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/0...ration-page-fo
    >> r-2wire-homeportal-residential-router-gateways-singtel-mio/
    >>
    >> We can read:
    >> To access Management and Diagnostic Console of 2Wire, which is
    >> essentially the advanced configuration page, use the browser to go to
    >> "http://gateway.2wire.net/mdc" or "http://homeportal/mdc" (without
    >> quotes) instead. If you're prompted with password (especially for
    >> SingTel mio device), key in "2wire" (without quote), or try default
    >> 2Wire password of "Wireless" (without quote).

    >
    >
    > Thanks for replying Ray.
    >
    > I did see these passwords in my quest, and although the default passwords
    > for the 2wire router are as you mention, Telus has set up the password in
    > their own firmware upgrade and made this different.
    >
    > They say that although I bought the router, I am only licenced to use the
    > basic settings that they allow me to. I find this extremely frustrating,
    > and I think I will start a campaign of education to inform customers of
    > the
    > problems associated with this.
    >
    > It's amazing how people are getting so used to the limitations placed on
    > them by this techno crap... buy a brand new car, but you may never find
    > out
    > which fuse controls the dashboard lights.
    >
    > Anyway, thanks for replying.


    It was a pleasure to find something.

    For the same problem i did not accept the modem my ISP want to install, i
    use instead a linksys WAG54GS - and i am very happy with it !



  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1
    MDC password for 2wire 2700HG-E telus is:

    1nd1go

    MDC password MDC password MDC password MDC password
    2wire 2700HG-E telus 2wire 2700HG-E telus 2wire 2700HG-E telus
    2wire 2700HG-E telus 2wire 2700HG-E telus 2wire 2700HG-E telus

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1

    Thank you

    Orion-ua,

    The above password works for me.
    I manage to upgrade the box with the SBC firmware now.
    I am no longer being fooled by Telus any more.
    Cheers,
    Neil

Similar Threads

  1. PIX 506e + 2Wire 2700 + Cisco VPN Client
    By myheadhurts in forum Network Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-03-08, 12:20 PM
  2. Lost administrator password
    By Gort9k in forum Network Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-14-07, 10:03 PM
  3. 2wire 2700 router and bt home hub
    By eesy in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-12-07, 07:46 PM
  4. AOL's Password Puzzler
    By knightmare in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-09-07, 07:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •