Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Access point or Bridge?

  1. #1
    Concerned Cajun
    Guest

    Access point or Bridge?

    Hello I have a question regarding settting up a wireless network

    I currently have a DLINK DIR-625 WLAN Router hook to my cox cable modem.
    That router is in another room

    Now I have a 2 PCS,PS3 in another room downstairs
    I don't want to run any wires from up stairs to downstairs.
    As for the Pcs currently they don't have any wlan devices.
    I want all them to access the internet using a central unit such as another wireless router and use short cables since they are very close to each other.

    I'm confused about if I should use a bridge or access point.
    I read about an access point,but to me it sounds like I still have to run a cable from the access point to the main router. Is this correct?
    Also can any router be turned into an access point even though it isn't mention?
    I've read about the bridge mode,but unsure if that is exactly what I need.

    I'm very confused with networking,it's like being a blind octopus trying to wrap presents.
    One more question,can anyone recommend a good site or book to learn networking?

  2. #2
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,272
    The PS3 has built in wireless. So thats one down

    You need a wireless bridge for the other pc's. The router is already an access point so no need to mess with that.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    41
    Given that most WAPs don't have RJ45 ports other than normally one it's best to get a wireless router that then can be run in bridge mode.

    However given that a wireless network card or USB dongle really aren't that costly why not just get that for the PCs since your PS3 already has built in wireless. Would save you the hassle of setting up a bridge.

  4. #4
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,272
    Quote Originally Posted by YoshiMon View Post
    Given that most WAPs don't have RJ45 ports other than normally one it's best to get a wireless router that then can be run in bridge mode.

    However given that a wireless network card or USB dongle really aren't that costly why not just get that for the PCs since your PS3 already has built in wireless. Would save you the hassle of setting up a bridge.
    true. Only reason im a supporter of bridg's is each wirless devices cuts into the AP's throughput. So one wireless device feeding multiple pc's would have better performance than 3 wireless devices

Similar Threads

  1. access point or bridge?
    By makivili in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-05-08, 05:34 PM
  2. Access Point To Router
    By flyerspat in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-27-07, 03:20 PM
  3. DSL and Access Point
    By alex2761 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-26-07, 01:34 PM
  4. Security and an Access Point
    By Thira in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-12-07, 09:24 AM
  5. Wireless Access Point issues
    By rsobers in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-08-07, 03:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •