Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Memory test failed!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    25

    Memory test failed!

    Hi,

    My computer crashes every few hours, no matter how easy the work is (even only internet browsing and text input in notepad).
    At restart, XP requires a diskcheck which comes out with a no problems result.

    I suspected a memory problem and I did a memory test with the "memtest" utility (MemTest-86 v3.4).

    To my astonishment, all the tests came out bad:
    INVC failed
    LRAND failed
    Stride 6 failed
    WMATS+ failed
    WINVC failed

    Now, in these conditions I wonder how the computer can function at all..!

    Anyway, what should I do in order to solve the problem?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,846
    Replace the memory. Most memory, if not all, carries a lifetime guarantee.

  3. #3
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,446
    Blog Entries
    6
    Try to slow down RAM timings in BIOS... When booting the PC, it's usually DEL, or sometimes F1, F2, F10.

    If you're still getting Memtest errors after slowing down RAM (i.e. from DDR800 to DDR667, etc.), try removing a stick and testing again, or moving them to different memory banks (if your motherboard allows it).

    By testing with Memtest and only one stick of RAM at a time you can determine which one is bad.

  4. #4
    Resident Atheist Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Orangevale ,Ca
    Posts
    18,682
    Quote Originally Posted by Ranger View Post
    Hi,

    My computer crashes every few hours, no matter how easy the work is (even only internet browsing and text input in notepad).
    At restart, XP requires a diskcheck which comes out with a no problems result.

    I suspected a memory problem and I did a memory test with the "memtest" utility (MemTest-86 v3.4).

    To my astonishment, all the tests came out bad:
    INVC failed
    LRAND failed
    Stride 6 failed
    WMATS+ failed
    WINVC failed

    Now, in these conditions I wonder how the computer can function at all..!

    Anyway, what should I do in order to solve the problem?

    Thanks.
    memory is really cheap right now,

    and very easy to replace,

    what type of RAM does your pc use ?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    25
    OK, here's some info about my machine:

    CPU: Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.4 GHz
    System Memory 2037 MB
    MB clock 343MHz
    HDD: 100Gb

    OS: Windows XP Pro SP2

  6. #6
    Assistant Admin Ken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    12,070
    Quote Originally Posted by Ranger View Post
    OK, here's some info about my machine:

    CPU: Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.4 GHz
    System Memory 2037 MB
    MB clock 343MHz
    HDD: 100Gb

    OS: Windows XP Pro SP2
    To know the RAM that you need, we really need to know your motherboard make and model...

    I am moving this to Hardware...

  7. #7
    ♫♪ ♫♪ ♫♪ ♫♪ downhill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    My Own Private Idaho
    Posts
    34,796
    Memory test failed? I feel your pain..

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    25
    OK, this is the most I can squeeze from my system analyzer program:

    CPU: Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.4 GHz
    System Memory DDR2 2 x 1GB / 400Mhz
    MB: Gygabyte G31M-S2L / 343MHz
    HDD: 100Gb

  9. #9
    Resident Atheist Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Orangevale ,Ca
    Posts
    18,682
    Quote Originally Posted by Ranger View Post
    OK, this is the most I can squeeze from my system analyzer program:

    CPU: Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.4 GHz
    System Memory DDR2 2 x 1GB / 400Mhz
    MB: Gygabyte G31M-S2L / 343MHz
    HDD: 100Gb
    something like this should work,it looks like you have PC2 3200 DDR2 ram,

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820134285
    or
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820134181

    or do a more thorough search for some that fits your budget,

  10. #10
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    So have you slowed down the RAM at all yet?

  11. #11
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    I helped a guy the other day with a similar problem.. turned out to be the slot in his motherboard. I suggest trying one stick in different slots.

  12. #12
    Resident Atheist Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Orangevale ,Ca
    Posts
    18,682
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    I helped a guy the other day with a similar problem.. turned out to be the slot in his motherboard. I suggest trying one stick in different slots.
    ya,that's a good idea,I'm sure there are some troubleshooting steps you guys can walk him through first.

  13. #13
    Assistant Admin Ken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    12,070
    OK, this is your motherboard:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128078

    http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/...ProductID=2693

    I get a feeling that you are not comfortable going into BIOS to adjust timings and as cheap as RAM is, it may be best to just replace it...

    This is the RAM that has been tested by Gigabyte to work with your board:

    http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/FileList/...a-g31m-s2l.pdf


    This is what it specs:
    2 x 1.8V DDR2 DIMM sockets supporting up to 4 GB of system memory
    Dual channel memory architecture
    Support for DDR2 1066(O.C.)/800/667 MHz memory modules

    You want DDR2 1066 or DDR2 800 or DDR2 667, 1.8v, dual channel (so you want to use paired DIMMs) and I would stay with 1 GB sticks, even though it supports 2 GB, as sometimes they don't play nice...

    To be safe for you, these are your best bet. I would suggest picking one that has good reviews:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...nd&Order=PRICE

  14. #14
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    Any update?

Similar Threads

  1. Random disconnects, is my modem dying?
    By Sirkusphreak in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-13-08, 05:00 AM
  2. Modem/internet drops constantly.
    By Cappeh in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-03-07, 06:27 PM
  3. Intermittent Connection
    By btaber_09 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-30-07, 08:28 PM
  4. keep losing internet connection every few minutes
    By blueboyem in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-28-07, 03:01 PM
  5. Router/Modem all of a sudden giving very slow speeds
    By pkillebr in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-10-07, 08:41 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •