Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Comcast discontinues giganews usenet service

  1. #1
    Advanced Member neo960's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    612

    Thumbs down Comcast discontinues giganews usenet service

    As of 10/25/2008 comcast has stopped their 2GB per month access to giganews usenet service. Now we have to pay extra $$ to subscribe directly with Giganews.

    Lousy speeds, intermittent connection outages and now this. Comcrap is just getting worse and worse.

    Does Verizon DSL offer usenet?

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Every ISP has been dropping their newsgroup services as of late.

    As for your speeds maybe you should have a tech out or get some help in the broadband forums? Might be a signal issue or TCP settings.

  3. #3
    Advanced Member neo960's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    612
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    As for your speeds maybe you should have a tech out or get some help in the broadband forums? Might be a signal issue or TCP settings.
    The speed and connection drop out has been going on for many years. I gave up calling them to troubleshoot my connection a few years ago.

    I have been a comcast user since the time of @HOME in the 90s. The drop in the level of service since the bankruptcy of @home is very distinctly noticeable...

  4. #4
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    Quote Originally Posted by neo960 View Post
    The speed and connection drop out has been going on for many years. I gave up calling them to troubleshoot my connection a few years ago.

    I have been a comcast user since the time of @HOME in the 90s. The drop in the level of service since the bankruptcy of @home is very distinctly noticeable...
    I've had it since back then too, and the service is as great as ever. The low point was when AT&T had it.

  5. #5
    ♫♪ ♫♪ ♫♪ ♫♪ downhill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    My Own Private Idaho
    Posts
    34,796
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    I've had it since back then too, and the service is as great as ever. The low point was when AT&T had it.

    You just needed a list of AT&T servers. I could pretty much fill all them missing parts with using different servers. Granted that nothing on AT&T propagated very well.

Similar Threads

  1. my computer has very odd internet behavior.
    By aro00oo in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-27-08, 11:07 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-08, 09:06 AM
  3. win2k~winXP one way network (?)
    By Ceyarrecks in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-02-08, 05:58 PM
  4. winantivirus again
    By robertdempster in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-20-07, 08:57 AM
  5. I've been hijacked
    By Think in forum Network Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-15-07, 08:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •