Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: boot from hidden partition? Gateway

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast Rings890's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Saskatchewan, CANADA
    Posts
    1,035

    boot from hidden partition? Gateway

    Hi everyone, I wasn't sure where to put this post so mods can move it to the appropriate location if this is wrong.

    I have a gateway laptop P7811FX, I am trying to figure out how to boot from the hidden partition so that I can do a factory original restore. The documentation on Gateways site and the manual that came with it say to press Alt+F10 and then select from the menue. That key combo only brings up the boot option menu (Hard drive (boots into Vista), DVD, or Network. Does anyone know the magic key?

    Thanks for the help.
    The NastySasky:
    Intel i7 930 @ 2.8 GHz| eVGA X58 SLI | 12gigs Dominator XMS3 1600 | 2 ASUS ENGTX 470's | Intel X25 120Gig SSD + 2 WD Black 500's | Pioneer DVD/RW | LG Blu-Ray Writer | Antec 1000Watt | WarMachine M1 Case

  2. #2
    Compaq crap

    Buy it, format it, never partion a HD more thsn one, it's faster.

    Recover?, backup=ALT/F/A

    A=save as

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast Rings890's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Saskatchewan, CANADA
    Posts
    1,035
    Quote Originally Posted by Mad_Haggis View Post
    Buy it, format it, never partion a HD more thsn one, it's faster.
    That is my plan later, right now there is no driver support for some of the stuff, and of course they do not supply a driver disk with the system, just the recovory disk, the disk assumes you have made some kind of back up DVD and wants that disk now. I didnt make one (screw up on my part, guess I should have read the manual).

    No luck with that atl+f+a
    The NastySasky:
    Intel i7 930 @ 2.8 GHz| eVGA X58 SLI | 12gigs Dominator XMS3 1600 | 2 ASUS ENGTX 470's | Intel X25 120Gig SSD + 2 WD Black 500's | Pioneer DVD/RW | LG Blu-Ray Writer | Antec 1000Watt | WarMachine M1 Case

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Rings890 View Post
    That is my plan later, right now there is no driver support for some of the stuff, and of course they do not supply a driver disk with the system, just the recovory disk, the disk assumes you have made some kind of back up DVD and wants that disk now. I didnt make one (screw up on my part, guess I should have read the manual).

    No luck with that atl+f+a
    Buy a 3 dollar network card?, to upload the world?

    If you have the mobo disk, ie. using onboard network. That works great as well?

    Providing you have the internet ready?

  5. #5
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    alt - F12, or F2 maybe.

Similar Threads

  1. One ethernet with Multiple Gateway and Multiple IP's
    By manishrawat4u in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-11-08, 08:02 AM
  2. Clearing Dual boot sector
    By satyre in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-14-08, 07:00 PM
  3. VIsta Boot loader
    By satyre in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-16-07, 08:27 AM
  4. Ugh, I am stumped.
    By ARS in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 06-08-07, 05:40 PM
  5. Yummy VISTA Home Premium
    By Lobo in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-04-07, 03:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •