Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: This can't be good can it?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    OKC Oklahoma
    Posts
    257

    Post This can't be good can it?

    7 devices shareing IRQ9 no conflicts but 7 devices 1 IRQ

    and how would one go about fixing it if device manager refuses to let you? Disable the plug and play bios and reinstall each device? or is it more involved ?
    http://k-9.tierranet.com/fold.gif
    It's Because Light Travels Faster Then Sound That Some People Appear Bright Until They Speak

  2. #2
    NYC Newbie Slayer Prey521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Humble, Tx
    Posts
    34,934

    Post

    I had 7 devices sharing IRQ 9 once under Win2K, I hated that. It will slow down your system since the PC has to wait for one device to finish its process before it can start processing another device on the same IRQ. I didn't like that so I reformatted and disabled the ACPI support in the Win2K setup. Now every device has its own IRQ and I'm happy .
    Have your feelings been hurt by a random act of E-Thuggery? If so, call 1-800-Waaaaahmbulance, we're here 24 hrs a day, 7 days a week, to take your call, you could be due a large monetary settlement, don't delay, call now.

    "Please be careful prior to entering the world wide web, the internet is serious business"


  3. #3
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,403

    Post

    ya i got like 8 devices sharing irq 11....for some reason win2k likes to do that
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

  4. #4
    Broke
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern AB, CA
    Posts
    13,506

    Post

    Win2k just likes to conserve all the other IRQ's for future expansion.
    stacks 6 things on IRQ 11 for me, how thoughtfull, now if i glue 4 or 5 more PCI slots to my motherboard i have some spare IRQ's to work with.
    Now wont all them IRQ's become awful handy

  5. #5
    Certified SG Addict Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,163

    Post

    Here's what i got

    "Would you mind not standing on my chest, my hats on fire." - The Doctor

  6. #6
    NYC Newbie Slayer Prey521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Humble, Tx
    Posts
    34,934

    Post

    Here's mine all nice and tidy




    [ 03-01-2001: Message edited by: Prey521 ]
    Have your feelings been hurt by a random act of E-Thuggery? If so, call 1-800-Waaaaahmbulance, we're here 24 hrs a day, 7 days a week, to take your call, you could be due a large monetary settlement, don't delay, call now.

    "Please be careful prior to entering the world wide web, the internet is serious business"


  7. #7
    Senior Member onetrueday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Floating down a river of Dingleberry Juice
    Posts
    4,796

    Post

    That's crazy!! i'm running win98se and I had my promise ata controller card and my networking card on one irq. Just those two devices sharing caused me many headaches. I know win2000 and 98se are totally differant, but I know that cant be good.

    good luck
    MSI 845 Ultra-ARU
    p4 1.8a @ 47 BILLION
    radeon8500 (4 HS's)
    2 80gig WD se's raid0/120gig WD
    30gigWD/15gigMaxtor/1.2gig WD
    512megs corsair pc3000xms

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    6,761

    Post

    Originally posted by onetrueday:
    That's crazy!! i'm running win98se and I had my promise ata controller card and my networking card on one irq. Just those two devices sharing caused me many headaches. I know win2000 and 98se are totally differant, but I know that cant be good.

    good luck
    Win2k doesn't seem to have any problems running multiple devices on a single IRQ like Win9x/ME does/can. It hasn't been a problem for me and I've been running 2k on at least one of my PCs since the second beta.

  9. #9
    Forum Techie Amro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    10,665

    Post

    HELLO ppl, it's called ACPI.. heh it's supposed to and it doesn't cause problems at ALL, hell i'm running a matrox g400 dual head, the most IRQ crazed card ever made and it has NO problems. get it? hehe. it's supposed to do that. u can disable acpi when u first install win2k but i'd recommend against it..
    amro.co, github.com/amro

  10. #10
    SG Enthusiast colour's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawai'i
    Posts
    1,597

    Exclamation

    yeah duuuhh, sheeesh.



    doesnt bother me none, gotta love USB.
    asdf?

  11. #11
    Advanced Member the_mp3_refuge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Albertsons
    Posts
    967

    Cool

    Like they said it will slow ur pc down, and can cause massive conflicts. I had a ATi Rage Fury pro on irq 11. removed it and put in a Geforce2 MX and then my system always froze cuz the card, and 10/100 card were both on 11. I just put it on a different pci slot and now it works. But if it isn't that slow, dont fix it cuz there will always be a problem. PeACe
    "To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the Gift."--Steve Prefontaine

  12. #12
    Telocity_2001
    Guest

    Question

    [IMG]C:\My Documents\Outbox\sysin.jpg[/IMG]

    How does this look? I don't know what it's about! I'm running Win98SE!

  13. #13
    Telocity_2001
    Guest

  14. #14
    Telocity_2001
    Guest

    Post

    Lord have mercy, I'm new here and have no idea how to post a pic!!!! LOL...can some please help me!

    Regards,
    Abe

  15. #15
    Advanced Member TRILL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    600

    Post

    If it's not causing you problems, don't mess with it.

  16. #16
    SG Enthusiast colour's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawai'i
    Posts
    1,597

    Smile

    lol, you got the tags correct but it has to be on the internet NOT your computer.
    asdf?

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    OKC Oklahoma
    Posts
    257

    Post

    Ok i been haveing one problem running games under win2k and was wondering since ethernet video and audio share the same IRQ could this be the reason my games crash on me and force a memory dump? regardless I am going to reinstall win2k this afternoon when I get back home. when does the option to disable the ACPI support come up durring the installation process so I will know when to look for it and not miss it. Ever since I installed win2k I been haveing little hickups pauses in the system when doing stuff netstat looks like its monitoring a heart instead of my internet connection and games crash on me. All I can figure is its thise farking IRQ shareing thats going on. I really apreciate all the replys and pics so I have an idea of what IRQ's can be used for what device. Thanks peeps.

    [ 03-02-2001: Message edited by: -Knine- ]
    http://k-9.tierranet.com/fold.gif
    It's Because Light Travels Faster Then Sound That Some People Appear Bright Until They Speak

  18. #18
    NYC Newbie Slayer Prey521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Humble, Tx
    Posts
    34,934

    Post

    Originally posted by messiah:
    If you want to control your IRQ's in WIN2K
    you can:

    disable ACPI in bios
    Reinstall Win2K
    During setup, hit F5(when prompted to add SCSI device drivers. First 10sec of installation)
    Select STANDARD PC from the submenu

    This improved my IRQ assignment in Win2K

    In most mobo's your PCI Slot 5 shares with your USB.

    I have some links if you want them
    Have your feelings been hurt by a random act of E-Thuggery? If so, call 1-800-Waaaaahmbulance, we're here 24 hrs a day, 7 days a week, to take your call, you could be due a large monetary settlement, don't delay, call now.

    "Please be careful prior to entering the world wide web, the internet is serious business"


  19. #19
    Forum Techie Amro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    10,665

    Post

    hey, acpi doesn't hurt a thing heh. i haven't had problems. the 'gaming' problems you're suffering from are because win2k isn't FOR gaming. heh q3 and starcraft..things like that are fine but many games don't work.. acpi doesn't slow anything down and if you disable, have fun returning to the manual days of nt4. heh.

    later,
    Amro
    amro.co, github.com/amro

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    6,761

    Post

    Originally posted by W. Abra:
    Lord have mercy, I'm new here and have no idea how to post a pic!!!! LOL...can some please help me!

    Regards,
    Abe
    Use the img UBB tags and a place that allows external links.

    e.g. [_img]url-here[_img]
    Note: nix the underscores

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •