Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: TCPOptimizer settings for 8000/384 ADSL

  1. #1

    Exclamation TCPOptimizer settings for 8000/384 ADSL

    I'd like to know for sure what settings to use.

    I have an ADSL1 plan with Pacnet, an Australian ISP (I'm also aussie, of course), a plan that is 8000/384 (download/upload).

    Usually I sync at 7616/384, but the download seems to keep changing (though in use, I've never noticed it a great deal). I can get it back to 7616/384 if I power cycle in the morning hours (gmt 10+ time).

    If anyone can help, that'd be great.

    PS> I also have autotuning disabled, chimney turned on and ctcp set to ctcp. I am on Vista 64-bit HP by the way.

  2. #2
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Do a tracert yahoo.com and post.

    To do a tracert : Start > Run > type cmd > Type tracert yahoo.com > when completed > right click > Select All > Paste into the Quick Reply box in this forum
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  3. #3
    Note: this is with Kaspersky protection enabled
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\username>tracert yahoo.com

    Tracing route to yahoo.com [206.190.60.37]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms mygateway1.ar7 [192.168.1.1]
    2 31 ms 30 ms 30 ms lns-1.pacific.net.au [203.9.190.190]
    3 31 ms 30 ms 30 ms vl96.switch1.syd.pacific.net.au [61.8.2.1]
    4 31 ms 31 ms 31 ms Gi1-0-2.gw1.syd2.asianetcom.net [203.192.166.17]

    5 31 ms 31 ms 32 ms gi14-3.gw2.syd1.asianetcom.net [202.147.40.193]

    6 32 ms 31 ms 31 ms po0-2.cr1.syd1.asianetcom.net [202.147.40.129]
    7 197 ms 197 ms 197 ms po8-0.gw2.sjc1.asianetcom.net [202.147.50.157]
    8 188 ms 188 ms 187 ms po0-0.gw1.sjc1.asianetcom.net [202.147.50.129]
    9 193 ms 190 ms 190 ms PAT2.SJC.yahoo.com [206.223.116.16]
    10 235 ms 235 ms 234 ms so-4-0-0.pat2.da3.yahoo.com [216.115.101.150]
    11 277 ms 277 ms 277 ms so-1-0-0.pat2.dcp.yahoo.com [216.115.101.154]
    12 272 ms 271 ms 273 ms ae1-p161.msr1.re1.yahoo.com [216.115.108.27]
    13 277 ms 272 ms 272 ms ge-8-3.bas-a1.re4.yahoo.com [216.39.49.1]
    14 286 ms 286 ms 280 ms yahoo.com [206.190.60.37]

    Trace complete.

    C:\Users\username>
    Last edited by Nova Phoenix; 07-28-08 at 03:46 AM. Reason: name masking

  4. #4
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Irregular & High ping times in hop 2 , check for :

    1. Spyware : scan with Ad-aware 2008 + Spybot + SuperAntispyware
    2. Interference : put your modem/router far away of ALL electrical devices, if you have wireless connection, put your modem/router in elevated position.
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  5. #5
    1) Kaspersky Internet Security is looking after my PC's security. I can't clog the PC with multiple security apps that probably won't find squat. Still...

    2) Connection is wired. I will try to reposition the modem (Netcomm NB5Plus4, by the way) and rearrange the cords so they are not in the way of anything or vice versa.

    3) Does it matter that the line is joined to a surge protector that has internet line protection? I hope not. That surge protector is the only thing keeping the connection from suffering dropouts! It was quite convenient that they stopped as soon as we installed it.

  6. #6
    Tracert #2
    - kaspersky internet security protection disabled
    - post-full system spybot scan - 2 traces (virtumonde & hitlinks) - both removed

    C:\Users\USERNAME>tracert yahoo.com

    Tracing route to yahoo.com [206.190.60.37]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms mygateway1.ar7 [192.168.1.1]
    2 30 ms 31 ms 31 ms lns-1.pacific.net.au [203.9.190.190]
    3 30 ms 30 ms 30 ms vl96.switch1.syd.pacific.net.au [61.8.2.1]
    4 31 ms 31 ms 30 ms Gi1-0-2.gw1.syd2.asianetcom.net [203.192.166.17]

    5 31 ms 31 ms 32 ms gi14-3.gw2.syd1.asianetcom.net [202.147.40.193]

    6 32 ms 31 ms 31 ms po0-2.cr1.syd1.asianetcom.net [202.147.40.129]
    7 197 ms 197 ms 197 ms po8-0.gw2.sjc1.asianetcom.net [202.147.50.157]
    8 189 ms 188 ms 193 ms po0-0.gw1.sjc1.asianetcom.net [202.147.50.129]
    9 191 ms 190 ms 187 ms PAT2.SJC.yahoo.com [206.223.116.16]
    10 235 ms 235 ms 237 ms so-4-0-0.pat2.da3.yahoo.com [216.115.101.150]
    11 278 ms 284 ms 277 ms so-1-0-0.pat2.dcp.yahoo.com [216.115.101.154]
    12 276 ms 272 ms 286 ms ae1-p171.msr2.re1.yahoo.com [216.115.108.31]
    13 288 ms 277 ms 277 ms ge-9-3.bas-a1.re4.yahoo.com [216.39.49.3]
    14 282 ms 285 ms 283 ms w2.rc.vip.re4.yahoo.com [206.190.60.37]

    Trace complete.

    C:\Users\USERNAME>

    Same sort of results as before it seems.

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    How far is it between your house and ISP ?

    Try to scan comp for spyware/malware with Ad-aware 2008 and SuperAntispyware (Full scan in Safe Mode)
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  8. #8
    Tracert #3
    - KIS protection disabled
    - TCPoptimizer restored settings to windows vista 64 defaults

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\USERNAME>tracert yahoo.com

    Tracing route to yahoo.com [206.190.60.37]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms mygateway1.ar7 [192.168.1.1]
    2 31 ms 34 ms 30 ms lns-1.pacific.net.au [203.9.190.190]
    3 31 ms 30 ms 30 ms vl96.switch1.syd.pacific.net.au [61.8.2.1]
    4 31 ms 30 ms 30 ms Gi1-0-2.gw1.syd2.asianetcom.net [203.192.166.17]

    5 32 ms 34 ms 32 ms gi14-3.gw2.syd1.asianetcom.net [202.147.40.193]

    6 31 ms 31 ms 31 ms po0-2.cr1.syd1.asianetcom.net [202.147.40.129]
    7 199 ms 196 ms 197 ms po8-0.gw2.sjc1.asianetcom.net [202.147.50.157]
    8 191 ms 193 ms 191 ms po0-0.gw1.sjc1.asianetcom.net [202.147.50.129]
    9 189 ms 188 ms 189 ms PAT2.SJC.yahoo.com [206.223.116.16]
    10 235 ms 234 ms 235 ms so-4-0-0.pat2.da3.yahoo.com [216.115.101.150]
    11 277 ms 278 ms 277 ms so-1-0-0.pat2.dcp.yahoo.com [216.115.101.154]
    12 276 ms 273 ms 271 ms ae2-p171.msr2.re1.yahoo.com [216.115.108.71]
    13 278 ms 276 ms 275 ms ge-8-3.bas-a1.re4.yahoo.com [216.39.49.1]
    14 281 ms 281 ms 278 ms yahoo.com [206.190.60.37]

    Trace complete.

    C:\Users\USERNAME>

    Same results by the looks of it. Oh, and this is with the modem repositioned. It is in an alcove of my desk, with thick wood between it and the rest of the devices. The cords are as neat as I can get them too.

    So, what should I set TCPOptimizer to? I'm on an 8000/384 plan, with 7616/384 being the highest sync I can get.

    EDIT: My house = Dubbo, NSW, Australia
    The ISP's HQ...if thats what you meant = Southbank, VIC, Australia
    So yeah, quite a distance. If you meant the exchange in Dubbo, then I don't know.
    Last edited by Nova Phoenix; 07-28-08 at 08:37 AM. Reason: answering RS' question

  9. #9
    Tracert #4
    - kaspersky internet security enabled
    - tcpoptimizer unused
    - performed after spybot, adaware and superantispyware full scans in safe mode

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\username>tracert yahoo.com

    Tracing route to yahoo.com [206.190.60.37]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms mygateway1.ar7 [192.168.1.1]
    2 30 ms 30 ms 30 ms lns-1.pacific.net.au [203.9.190.190]
    3 32 ms 31 ms 30 ms vl96.switch1.syd.pacific.net.au [61.8.2.1]
    4 30 ms 30 ms 31 ms Gi1-0-2.gw1.syd2.asianetcom.net [203.192.166.17]

    5 31 ms 31 ms 31 ms gi14-3.gw2.syd1.asianetcom.net [202.147.40.193]

    6 32 ms 31 ms 31 ms po0-2.cr1.syd1.asianetcom.net [202.147.40.129]
    7 197 ms 197 ms 197 ms po8-0.gw2.sjc1.asianetcom.net [202.147.50.157]
    8 190 ms 188 ms 188 ms po0-0.gw1.sjc1.asianetcom.net [202.147.50.129]
    9 189 ms 189 ms 189 ms PAT2.SJC.yahoo.com [206.223.116.16]
    10 235 ms 234 ms 235 ms so-4-0-0.pat2.da3.yahoo.com [216.115.101.150]
    11 281 ms 323 ms 277 ms so-1-0-0.pat2.dcp.yahoo.com [216.115.101.154]
    12 274 ms 272 ms 271 ms ae1-p171.msr2.re1.yahoo.com [216.115.108.31]
    13 272 ms 281 ms 277 ms ge-8-3.bas-a1.re4.yahoo.com [216.39.49.1]
    14 282 ms 277 ms 282 ms yahoo.com [206.190.60.37]

    Trace complete.

    C:\Users\username>

    Once again, same sorts of results. Could this just be something I cannot fix?

    Ping, as I noticed, is bad in Crysis (for example) if searching for overseas servers. Australian servers never go triple-digits, but then again, I can't play them, but only because Punkbuster doesn't like the 64-bit Crysis game.

    Getting back to my original question: what should I be setting TCPOptimizer to for my 8000/384 ADSL1 plan, or should I leave the program use optimal settings?

    EDIT: Here are my latest TCP Analyzer results... (after using tcpoptimizer's optimal mode, disabling autotuning, and setting all host resolution priority options to 1)
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 07.28.2008 11:18
    IP address: 125.255.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405ac01010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 65340 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65340
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 2614kbps (327KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1045kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    Last edited by Nova Phoenix; 07-28-08 at 10:21 AM. Reason: tcp analyzer results

  10. #10
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by Nova Phoenix View Post
    TCP options string: 020405ac01010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 65340 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65340
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 2614kbps (327KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1045kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    TCP set at 65340 is too low for an Aussie 8 mbps line. Try setting TCP Window to 255552 or 511104.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by trogers View Post
    TCP set at 65340 is too low for an Aussie 8 mbps line. Try setting TCP Window to 255552 or 511104.
    TCPOptimizer is not changing the results of the analyzer. I'm still getting what I did before. Did I mention that I'm on Vista 64-bit? How can I change the values there?

    EDIT: It displays the set-optimized value (522760 or something) in the registry, but it doesn't use it on the analyzer.
    Last edited by Nova Phoenix; 07-28-08 at 07:51 PM.

  12. #12
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Auto-tuning in Vista is turned off. Make sure TCP autotuning is activated, go to start-run paste this " netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=normal " and hit enter
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Rollingstone View Post
    Auto-tuning in Vista is turned off. Make sure TCP autotuning is activated, go to start-run paste this " netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=normal " and hit enter
    Autotuning is active now. What's next?

  14. #14
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Autotuning is active now. What's next?
    Post your new TCP Analyzer Report and HijackThis Log.
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  15. #15
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 07.29.2008 02:08
    IP address: 125.255.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405ac0103030801010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 66560 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 8
    Unscaled RWIN : 260
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 2662kbps (333KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1065kbps (133KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 114
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)


    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Scan saved at 4:10:22 PM, on 29/07/2008
    Platform: Unknown Windows (WinNT 6.00.1905 SP1)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6001.18000)

    Running processes:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Nero\Lib\NMIndexStoreSvr.exe
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2009\avp.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\SetPoint\x86\SetPoint32.exe
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Opera\opera.exe
    C:\Program Files\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName =
    F2 - REG:system.ini: UserInit=userinit.exe
    O1 - Hosts: ::1 localhost
    O2 - BHO: IE7Pro - {00011268-E188-40DF-A514-835FCD78B1BF} - C:\Program Files (x86)\IEPro\iepro.dll
    O2 - BHO: IEVkbdBHO - {59273AB4-E7D3-40F9-A1A8-6FA9CCA1862C} - C:\Program Files (x86)\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2009\ievkbd.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {7E853D72-626A-48EC-A868-BA8D5E23E045} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - (no file)
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NBKeyScan] "C:\Program Files (x86)\Nero\Nero8\Nero BackItUp\NBKeyScan.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StartCCC] "C:\Program Files (x86)\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\CLIStart.exe" MSRun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVP] "C:\Program Files (x86)\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2009\avp.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ehTray.exe] C:\Windows\ehome\ehTray.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [IndxStoreSvr_{79662E04-7C6C-4d9f-84C7-88D8A56B10AA}] "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Nero\Lib\NMIndexStoreSvr.exe" ASO-616B5711-6DAE-4795-A05F-39A1E5104020
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [WMPNSCFG] C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Media Player\WMPNSCFG.exe
    O4 - Startup: Adobe Gamma.lnk = C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Logitech SetPoint.lnk = C:\Program Files\Logitech\SetPoint\SetPoint.exe
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions present
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Add to Banner Ad Blocker - C:\Program Files (x86)\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2009\ie_banner_deny.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~2\MICROS~1\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: IE7Pro Preferences - {0026439F-A980-4f18-8C95-4F1CBBF9C1D8} - C:\Program Files (x86)\IEPro\iepro.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: IE7Pro Preferences - {0026439F-A980-4f18-8C95-4F1CBBF9C1D8} - C:\Program Files (x86)\IEPro\iepro.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Web traffic protection statistics - {1F460357-8A94-4D71-9CA3-AA4ACF32ED8E} - C:\Program Files (x86)\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2009\SCIEPlgn.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~2\MICROS~1\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nlaapi.dll
    O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\napinsp.dll
    O11 - Options group: [INTERNATIONAL] International*
    O13 - Gopher Prefix:
    O16 - DPF: {0D6709DD-4ED8-40CA-B459-2757AEEF7BEE} (Dldrv2 Control) - http://download.gigabyte.com.tw/object/Dldrv.ocx
    O16 - DPF: {1E54D648-B804-468d-BC78-4AFFED8E262E} (System Requirements Lab) - http://www.srtest.com/srl_bin/sysreqlab3.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{DF6825D4-B74D-43DA-B24A-657DCBEE2E9C}: NameServer = 192.168.1.1
    O18 - Protocol: livecall - {828030A1-22C1-4009-854F-8E305202313F} - C:\PROGRA~2\WI1F86~1\MESSEN~1\MSGRAP~1.DLL
    O18 - Protocol: msnim - {828030A1-22C1-4009-854F-8E305202313F} - C:\PROGRA~2\WI1F86~1\MESSEN~1\MSGRAP~1.DLL
    O20 - AppInit_DLLs: C:\PROGRA~2\KASPER~1\KASPER~1\mzvkbd.dll,C:\PROGRA~2\KASPER~1\KASPER~1\mzvkbd3.dll
    O23 - Service: Adobe LM Service - Adobe Systems - C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Adobe Systems Shared\Service\Adobelmsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\Alg.exe,-112 (ALG) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\alg.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: ASP.NET State Service (aspnet_state) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\aspnet_state.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: Ati External Event Utility - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\Ati2evxx.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: Kaspersky Internet Security (AVP) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files (x86)\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2009\avp.exe" -r (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @dfsrres.dll,-101 (DFSR) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\DFSR.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\ehome\ehstart.dll,-101 (ehstart) - Unknown owner - %windir%\system32\svchost.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @keyiso.dll,-100 (KeyIso) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: Logitech Bluetooth Service (LBTServ) - Logitech, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Logishrd\Bluetooth\LBTServ.exe
    O23 - Service: @comres.dll,-2797 (MSDTC) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\msdtc.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: Nero BackItUp Scheduler 3 - Nero AG - C:\Program Files (x86)\Nero\Nero8\Nero BackItUp\NBService.exe
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\System32\netlogon.dll,-102 (Netlogon) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: NMIndexingService - Nero AG - C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Nero\Lib\NMIndexingService.exe
    O23 - Service: PD91Agent - Raxco Software, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Raxco\PerfectDisk2008\PD91Agent.exe
    O23 - Service: PD91Engine - Raxco Software, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Raxco\PerfectDisk2008\PD91Engine.exe
    O23 - Service: PLFlash DeviceIoControl Service - Prolific Technology Inc. - C:\Windows\SysWOW64\IoctlSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: PnkBstrA - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\PnkBstrA.exe
    O23 - Service: PnkBstrB - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\PnkBstrB.exe
    O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\psbase.dll,-300 (ProtectedStorage) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\qwave.dll,-1 (QWAVE) - Unknown owner - %windir%\system32\svchost.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\Locator.exe,-2 (RpcLocator) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\locator.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\samsrv.dll,-1 (SamSs) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: Secondary Logon (seclogon) - Unknown owner - %windir%\system32\svchost.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\SLsvc.exe,-101 (slsvc) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\SLsvc.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\snmptrap.exe,-3 (SNMPTRAP) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\snmptrap.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\spoolsv.exe,-1 (Spooler) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\spoolsv.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: TVersityMediaServer - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files (x86)\TVersity\Media Server\MediaServer.exe
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\ui0detect.exe,-101 (UI0Detect) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\UI0Detect.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\vds.exe,-100 (vds) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\vds.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\vssvc.exe,-102 (VSS) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\vssvc.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%Systemroot%\system32\wbem\wmiapsrv.exe,-110 (wmiApSrv) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\wbem\WmiApSrv.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: @%ProgramFiles%\Windows Media Player\wmpnetwk.exe,-101 (WMPNetworkSvc) - Unknown owner - %ProgramFiles%\Windows Media Player\wmpnetwk.exe (file missing)


    I read up that Vista is optimized out of the box or something for broadband, and that it no longer uses the values that TCPOptimizer alters. Until that is proven wrong, I've reset everything and only changed "chimney offload" and "congestion provider" in the "netsh" command prompt.

  16. #16
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    TCP Window: 66560 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN is too small for 7mbps line ! It could be that your Kaspersky is blocking your RWIN ! Try http://forums.speedguide.net/showthr...ight=kaspersky and see if it will help !
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Rollingstone View Post
    RWIN is too small for 7mbps line ! It could be that your Kaspersky is blocking your RWIN ! Try http://forums.speedguide.net/showthr...ight=kaspersky and see if it will help !
    That is for XP SP2 32-bit, not Vista HP 64-bit, which is what I have.

    I tried disabling http port 8080 as it said, but it only succeeded in raising the RWIN to 66792.

  18. #18
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    but it only succeeded in raising the RWIN to 66792.
    RWIN should be multiple of MSS !

    Remove (no name), (nofile), (file missing) problems by using HijackThis ! Then test your speed at http://speedtest.net
    Last edited by Rollingstone; 07-29-08 at 07:58 AM.
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by Rollingstone View Post
    RWIN should be multiple of MSS !

    Remove (no name), (nofile), (file missing) problems by using HijackThis ! Then test your speed at http://speedtest.net
    Hijackthis! has not removed most of the (file missing) problems in the O23 section. Should I try again in Safe Mode?

    EDIT: Nevermind. All (file missing) entries in the O23 section were not removed, even when in Safe Mode.
    2nd EDIT: According to hijackthis.de's analyzer of my hijackthis logfile, all th entries save for the lsass.exe entry are either unknown, safe or very safe (lsass.exe entry is marked nuetral). Weird?
    Last edited by Nova Phoenix; 07-29-08 at 05:57 AM.

  20. #20
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    all th entries save for the lsass.exe entry are either unknown, safe or very safe (lsass.exe entry is marked nuetral). Weird?
    I believe that it depends on its DLL. Let's check your speed at http://speedtest.net
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

Similar Threads

  1. TCPOptimizer settings
    By MajorDisaster4u in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-06-07, 12:01 AM
  2. Help about my ADSL settings
    By juntamagic in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-03-07, 12:32 PM
  3. Help with optimum settings for ADSL 8mbit/768 connection
    By dspro in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-28-07, 12:25 AM
  4. SpeedStream ADSL settings
    By avioli in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-26-07, 12:30 AM
  5. Still confused? ADSL Modem, router or gateway ....
    By Panda in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-24-07, 05:48 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •