Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Remote Desktop troubles on Server

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation Remote Desktop troubles on Server

    Hey guys.

    I have a file server (Windows XP Pro) that I’ve moved from my office to my home. It is hooked up to a 2Wire Broadband Router (it has 5 RJ-45 ports) along with my other work PC (Also XP). I have successfully connected both machines to the internet, and have set-up file sharing. However, very soon other employees out of state will need access to the file server from time to time. I was thinking to have them use their Windows XP Remote Desktop to connect, but not quite sure how to set this up, as the file server has the private IP 192.168.1.30. How do I get other people to remotely access my server? Also, do I have to set the file server as the DMZ on my 2Wire for this to work properly? Thanks for the help!

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,919
    XP for a server?

    Remote Desktop runs on port 3389 tcp. You'd want to have your 2wire router assign a static IP to the "server"..such as 192.168.1.105...so create a reservation for it in the routers DHCP section. (I think those whacky 2wire routers are able to do that). Next....you'd open/forward port 3389 to the IP of your server.

    Now do you have a static IP from your ISP? If you go to www.whatismyip.com...you'll find your public IP address (WAN IP). This is the IP address that the remote users would connect to. If you have a dynamic IP account..you'll have to go through setting up a dynamic dns service..such as dyndns.com

    You must have a secure Administrator password, you'll need to add remote desktop as an exception in XPs firewall list, you should use good passwords for your user accounts, and you should set a policy to have remote desktop host refuse connections after a certain amount of failed login attempts (keeps hackers out).

    Want to make all of this MUCH easier? Just setup an account at www.logmein.com. They even have a basic free package. This way...you don't have to deal with routers or firewalls or dynamic IP addresses at all...period. It's all done through a web browser through their site...wicked easy, reliable, and secure.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    4
    I shall give this a shot. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Remote Desktop into a LAN with multiple PC's
    By PASSA in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-25-09, 11:46 PM
  2. Server Redundancy - Seperating Roles
    By super20g in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-08-07, 05:19 PM
  3. Remote desktop problem
    By lenwest in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-14-07, 05:38 PM
  4. Windows XP Remote desktop connection
    By jadedragon in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-05-07, 08:15 AM
  5. connecting remote sites to main server help!
    By vintagecar in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-06, 08:57 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •