Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: My DSL speed will not reach 40 kb/sec download/upload

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7

    My DSL speed will not reach 40 kb/sec download/upload

    I recently signed up for at&t DSL. I did not purchase any DSL equipment, instead I used old parts I had found at rummage sales, (a filter, phone lines and speedstream 5360 modem)

    My internet says it's connected at 100.0 Mbps

    My download and upload speeds are both slightly less than 40kb/sec.

    test results:
    Download = 321.38 kbps
    Upload = 326.95 kbps

    I reformatted Windows XP and got same exact speeds. So I believe this is either:

    (A. hardware issue
    or
    (B. Problem with AT&T/phone lines?

    What could be wrong?
    Last edited by Citrus01; 05-31-08 at 10:23 PM.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7
    I unplugged my FILTER and im getting same exact speed. Is that normal?
    Please someone help me I've spent hours and hours trying to fix this.. and tech support are clueless, I might just have to cancel my DSL service.
    Last edited by Citrus01; 05-31-08 at 10:23 PM.

  3. #3
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    What speed plain you are on with ATT also there is a fimware update for that modem i'll try to find the link for it.http://www.dslreports.com/faq/4835

    Make sure it's the same model # for it before you do the frimware also please take a tcpip analyzer test let me take a look at the mtu.
    Comptia a+ n+

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7
    I have the latest firmware for my modem.

    Here are my official test test results.
    Download = 317.72 kbps
    Upload = 317.61 kbps

    Here are the advertised speeds I'M suppose to get:

    Downstream Speed: Up to 1.5 Mbps
    Upstream Speed: Up to 384 Kbps

    Every site I download from is always 30-40kb at max.
    Also I had a lower plan before this, which I should have got 93kb, so I upgraded, and there has been no change in speed.

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 06.01.2008 12:53
    IP address: 208.189.xx.xx

    TCP options string: 0204058601010402
    MSS: 1414
    MTU: 1454
    TCP Window: 16968 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 16968
    Reccomended RWINs: 65044, 130088, 260176, 520352
    BDP limit (200ms): 679kbps (85KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 271kbps (34KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 115
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  5. #5
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    Try theae in the optimizer let's get that mtu upt to 1492 then the speeds should pick up. Take another analyzer after you applied the settings.

    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU - 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - blank
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

    After reboot, post your new TCP Analyzer Report.
    Comptia a+ n+

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7
    I tried as you instructed. However my download and upload speed on various servers are still the same. 35-39kb/sec.

    Heres new analyzer results (but no improvement in my performance!)

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 06.01.2008 20:20
    IP address: 70.244.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405a00103030e01010402
    MSS: 1440
    MTU: 1480
    TCP Window: 1073725440 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 14
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 63360, 126720, 253440, 506880
    BDP limit (200ms): 42949018kbps (5368627KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 17179607kbps (2147451KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 01000000 (64)
    Precedence: 010 (immediate)
    Delay: 0 (normal delay)
    Throughput: 0 (normal throughput)
    Reliability: 0 (normal reliability)
    Cost: 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit: 0 (correct)
    DiffServ: CS2 010000 (16) - class 2 (RFC 2474). Similar forwarding behavior to the ToS Precedence field.
    Last edited by Citrus01; 06-01-08 at 07:22 PM.

  7. #7
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    call them it seems like youar on just a 384 plain ,or you are really far from the central office which the distance can be what is slowing you up.
    Comptia a+ n+

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7
    I can't seem to get any help via tech support. They all speak with the India accent, and I can only make out a few words from what their saying. Someone please help me.

  9. #9
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    they have an online chat you can try see if this is better http://localization.att.com/loc/cont...ResHelpSupport
    Comptia a+ n+

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks I got a hold of someone who speaks English, it's still not fixed though.. here's what happened:

    The guy told me that my DSL package was the lowest plan yet I told him I ordered my new plan about 8 days ago, then he put me on hold, he came back and said it typically takes 10 days to reach optimized speed.

    So he says give it 5 more days to reach normal speeds. I seriously doubt it's going to work in 5 days unless they didn't eve process my order 8 days ago.. but I'll post back and see if it's fixed in 5 days.

    Again, thanks for the help.. you're an awesome guy.

  11. #11
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    The 5 days ia a ramp up period it should go though
    Comptia a+ n+

  12. #12
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    The earlier settings were for ramming up your MTU.

    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU - 1480
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 17280
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7
    Guys! Everything is working: The problem was At&t! They came out and fixed the lines today something outside, but if anyone ever has this problem... rest assure that it's probably the DSL company's fault!

    Thanks everyone for the help.

Similar Threads

  1. Slow DSL connection speed! Please help
    By nicker in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-28-07, 02:57 AM
  2. Need tweaking help
    By blackknights in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-08-07, 12:30 AM
  3. optimizing help
    By blackknights in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-18-07, 04:29 PM
  4. DSL subscribe speed change during offpeak hours
    By yoloksky in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-29-07, 07:03 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-27-07, 07:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •