Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 49

Thread: IP Addresses; Help would be appreciated!

  1. #1

    IP Addresses; Help would be appreciated!

    I IP change quite alot, all in the aim of getting the IP with the fastest PING. However, I have a lot of theories as to how one can distinguish how quick an IP address will be without actually using it. However I have no idea if it's working and if I'm really just losing good IPs.

    This is where I hope you budding IP address literate people might be able to help me. I know basically what an IP address is, but I'd like to know what the 3rd and 4th number actually means (XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX) and whether there is a system to distinguish which range of numbers will be quick in an IP.

    For instance, I had a 248.1 but tragically lost it in unfortunate circumstances, I currently have a 203.1 but it's awful and alot slower than normal IPs. I was really disappointed since I know .1 has been virtually the best IP I've ever had. Is there a reason for the contrast and if so is it possible to make it quicker (perhaps it's just been over used - if I'm talking nonsense will someone please set me straight about this!)

    Thanks in advance!

    Angrystrudel

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,000
    All of you people(usually runescape nuts) are crazy. Your IP does not determine your ping. Maybe you have spyware on your PC, or someone who had that IP assigned to them in the past did and is targeted more by some bots, or maybe bots are just randomly targeting some ranges more than others, but the IP number itself doesn't create different amounts of latency.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    All of you people(usually runescape nuts) are crazy. Your IP does not determine your ping. Maybe you have spyware on your PC, or someone who had that IP assigned to them in the past did and is targeted more by some bots, or maybe bots are just randomly targeting some ranges more than others, but the IP number itself doesn't create different amounts of latency.
    It might not be ping it changes but certain IPs are better than others for whatever reason.

  4. #4
    Peace Debbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    New Rochelle, New York
    Posts
    18,114
    Quote Originally Posted by Angrystrudel View Post
    It might not be ping it changes but certain IPs are better than others for whatever reason.
    YardofStuff just explained why.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Debbie View Post
    YardofStuff just explained why.
    Ok so if they have spyware on them how do I get rid of it (and hence improve it..?)

  6. #6
    Peace Debbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    New Rochelle, New York
    Posts
    18,114
    ccleaner
    spybot
    Adaware


    I am sure there are others that they can suggest

  7. #7
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,940
    Changing pings...you're still using the same IP...same route to the host...same primary gateway from your ISP..same backbone from your ISP. In other words...you're taking the same path to your destination. Getting a different IP from your ISP does not change your ping.

    Some people may think that their performance gets better when they change their IP. But behind the scenes...what many people do to change their pings..is reboot their modem and router. This "freshens up" the modem and router...emptying the IP tables, RAM, etc....so their performance goes up. It's because of this...that their performance goes up...not from the change of IP.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Changing pings...you're still using the same IP...same route to the host...same primary gateway from your ISP..same backbone from your ISP. In other words...you're taking the same path to your destination. Getting a different IP from your ISP does not change your ping.

    Some people may think that their performance gets better when they change their IP. But behind the scenes...what many people do to change their pings..is reboot their modem and router. This "freshens up" the modem and router...emptying the IP tables, RAM, etc....so their performance goes up. It's because of this...that their performance goes up...not from the change of IP.
    So why then do I go through 50 in a day and only maybe 1-2 are moderately quick. But they all differ in speeds.

  9. #9
    Forum Techie A_old's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    10,663
    i lol'd.

  10. #10
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,940
    Quote Originally Posted by Angrystrudel View Post
    So why then do I go through 50 in a day and only maybe 1-2 are moderately quick. But they all differ in speeds.
    Many variables there...timing of when you log into a server..current server loads at that time ....dunno.

    I online game in the morning and night..heavy loads with BF2...I never bother changing my IP...I go for months on the same one.

    Tuning your computer...keeping it clean, malware free, low impact antivirus
    Quality router, setup correctly...only 1x router..no double NAT'ing
    Be aware of other traffic loads on your network...router
    Quality ISP
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  11. #11
    Peace Debbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    New Rochelle, New York
    Posts
    18,114
    ::::::takes notes:::::

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Many variables there...timing of when you log into a server..current server loads at that time ....dunno.

    I online game in the morning and night..heavy loads with BF2...I never bother changing my IP...I go for months on the same one.

    Tuning your computer...keeping it clean, malware free, low impact antivirus
    Quality router, setup correctly...only 1x router..no double NAT'ing
    Be aware of other traffic loads on your network...router
    Quality ISP
    My ISP is bad but never had a problem before in terms of getting a good IP. As for keeping my computer clean I defrag files, optimise my internet connections and scan my computer daily.

  13. #13
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    499
    Quote Originally Posted by Amro View Post
    i lol'd.
    exactly

  14. #14
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,000
    Quote Originally Posted by Angrystrudel View Post
    My ISP is bad but never had a problem before in terms of getting a good IP. As for keeping my computer clean I defrag files, optimise my internet connections and scan my computer daily.
    Scan with what?

    Do you have a virus scanner as well?

    Router? Software firewall?

    For scanning for spyware/adware, start with CCleaner, then scan with spybot, super antispyware, and if you want a 3rd for good luck windows defender.

    To help prevent spyware use the immunize feature of spybot as well as install spyware blaster.

    Adaware has become useless IMO.

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by jasonb31 View Post
    exactly
    Yes, because replying on an internet speed website over 300 times is a better use of my time.

    Anyway, back on topic, thanks for feedback. I'll leave this obviously overnight see if any new information comes in. I do think however a lot of people's opinions on IP Adresses are wrong, I think they contrast more than people think.

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    Scan with what?

    Do you have a virus scanner as well?

    Router? Software firewall?

    For scanning for spyware/adware, start with CCleaner, then scan with spybot, super antispyware, and if you want a 3rd for good luck windows defender.

    To help prevent spyware use the immunize feature of spybot as well as install spyware blaster.

    Adaware has become useless IMO.
    AVG I use...and I have a firewall.

  17. #17
    Peace Debbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    New Rochelle, New York
    Posts
    18,114
    Quote Originally Posted by Angrystrudel View Post
    AVG I use...and I have a firewall.
    Not enough...

    As they said above

    Spybot
    Spyware Blaster
    Super Anti Spyware
    CCleaner
    Windows Defender

  18. #18
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219
    Changing your IP for better pings is like changing your house address so that your snail mail gets there quicker.

    Just like your data takes the same route to the IP, the mailman will too. Unless you leave him a bottle of good scotch, that might change his mind a bit.
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  19. #19
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,786
    Quote Originally Posted by Debbie View Post
    Not enough...

    As they said above

    Super Anti Spyware
    Check my thread in the software forum.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    6,471
    I heard that 127.0.0.1 is the fastest IP address you can get. I know for me I get <1 ms speed all the time.

Similar Threads

  1. Help DHCP and manually configured IP Addresses!
    By jcar23424 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-06-08, 12:51 PM
  2. How do I set up seperate subnet IP addresses?
    By snowtime in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-27-07, 06:44 AM
  3. Advice appreciated please!
    By AndySnapper in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-26-07, 06:37 PM
  4. How to know ip addresses on a router
    By Darioo in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-07-07, 11:28 AM
  5. DHCP giving invalid addresses
    By TheOnlyGonzo in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-04-07, 10:45 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •