Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Need help badly with my internet!

  1. #1
    Hi. I'm from Singapore and i'm using cable which is connected to a wireless.
    But i directly connected the wireless system (linksys) to my computer in fear of poor signal.
    My ISP is starhub and the advertised download upload speeds are 8mbps and 256 kbps respectively.
    My operating system is Windows XP.

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 05.31.2008 05:32
    IP address: 218.186.xx.xxx(proxy:218.186.12.11)

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030001010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 65535 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 40
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)


    Despite the advertised values, my results from speedtest.net are actually 507kb/s and 147kb/s!!! (Next try it was at 530, 207)
    And my friend, who subscribed for 3mbps download speed downloaded the same file at the same time from the same website in 15 mins, while i took 1 hour!
    Additional info: Time taken to load a 5 min video on YouTube = 10 mins.
    Also, sometimes the loading bar for the video while loading halfway suddenly "finishes loading", but the video plays till the part where it suddenly 'finished'.
    Lastly, i get disconnected in the middle of games such as Warcraft 3 suddenly sometimes.
    I fear my internet connection is unstable although it is directly connected (on-off-on-off)

    I've already tried applying tips given by this forum, but to no avail.

    PLEASE HELP!
    Last edited by lifeslikethat; 05-31-08 at 04:36 AM.

  2. #2
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU - 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 513920
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - checked
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

    After reboot post a new TCP Analyzer Report.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  3. #3
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 06.01.2008 00:41
    IP address: 218.186.xx.xxx(proxy:218.186.12.9)

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030301010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 513920 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 3
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 20557kbps (2570KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 8223kbps (1028KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 40
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    This are my values now. Thanks.
    By the way, where can i find out my computer's actual IP address? I googled it and found on different web pages stating different IP addresses for my computer. Only one matched the IP address given by the TCP analyzer.
    Also my results at speed test actually dropped to 400+/100+.
    Last edited by lifeslikethat; 05-31-08 at 11:56 PM.

  4. #4
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by lifeslikethat View Post
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 06.01.2008 00:41
    IP address: 218.186.xx.xxx(proxy:218.186.12.9)

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030301010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 513920 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 3
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 20557kbps (2570KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 8223kbps (1028KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 40
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    This are my values now. Thanks.
    By the way, where can i find out my computer's actual IP address? I googled it and found on different web pages stating different IP addresses for my computer. Only one matched the IP address given by the TCP analyzer.
    Also my results at speed test actually dropped to 400+/100+.
    If you want to see your IP address, click 'ShieldsUp' of this link:

    http://www.grc.com/default.htm

    Do a tracert to www.yahoo.com and post.

    To do a tracert, click 'Start' and then 'Run'. Type "cmd" into the box and click 'ok'.

    A DOS black screen will appear. Type after the C:\>

    tracert www.yahoo.com

    and press enter key

    When test is completed, move mouse cursor to the DOS black screen, click right and choose 'select all'.

    Move mouse cursor to the Quick Reply box of this forum, click right and 'paste'.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  5. #5
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Jing>tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net []
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms No resources.




    There it is. I can't go to c:/ alone once i enter there it goes to documents and settings blah blah.

  6. #6
    By the way, my internet speed has actually gone down surprisingly.

  7. #7
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by lifeslikethat View Post
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Jing>tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net []
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms No resources.




    There it is. I can't go to c:/ alone once i enter there it goes to documents and settings blah blah.
    What is the brand and model of your router and modem?
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  8. #8
    Linksys BEFW11S4 model for the wireless-b broadband router and SB5100 surf board cable modem of motorola.

  9. #9
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Log into your Linksys and set its firewall to allow ICMP pings. Save and reboot the Linksys and you should be able to do the tracert.

  10. #10
    Sorry but how do i do that? I've no idea.

  11. #11
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by lifeslikethat View Post
    Sorry but how do i do that? I've no idea.
    Click here to log into the router: http://192.168.1.1

    Use 'admin' for both username and password, or blank for username and 'admin' for password.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  12. #12
    I can't find it. There are five categories: Setup, Wireless, Security, Applications and Gaming, Administration, Status.

    None have any sign of ICMP pings or firewall.
    Double checked security but there's nothing there as well.

Similar Threads

  1. DSL Download Problems
    By rfzbaker in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-24-07, 02:27 AM
  2. WRT54G Wireless can connect to internet, Cannot connect to Local LAN PCs
    By Alterego in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-07-07, 04:11 AM
  3. internet speed fluctuated greatly
    By loki993 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-16-07, 07:01 PM
  4. winantivirus again
    By robertdempster in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-20-07, 08:57 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •