Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Please tweak my settings.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    23

    Please tweak my settings.

    Hey, can anyone tweak my settings. I pay for 768 connection (DSL) and i only get this

    I am also using a router if that matters.

    Here is my TCP/IP Analyzer report:
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 05.16.2008 19:04
    IP address: 70.233.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405ac0103030001010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 49368 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 49368
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 1975kbps (247KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 790kbps (99KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    Last edited by sinnerbaby; 05-16-08 at 06:14 PM.

  2. #2
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU - 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 17424
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    23

    Talking

    Thanks a lot trogers here is my current results:

    My last questions is if i have to do anything with my router settings. Once again thanks a lot for your help.

    and here is my new analyzer report:
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 05.17.2008 15:11
    IP address: 70.233.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405ac01010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 49368 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 49368
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 1975kbps (247KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 790kbps (99KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 01000000 (64)
    Precedence: 010 (immediate)
    Delay: 0 (normal delay)
    Throughput: 0 (normal throughput)
    Reliability: 0 (normal reliability)
    Cost: 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit: 0 (correct)
    DiffServ: CS2 010000 (16) - class 2 (RFC 2474). Similar forwarding behavior to the ToS Precedence field.

  4. #4
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by sinnerbaby View Post
    Thanks a lot trogers here is my current results:

    My last questions is if i have to do anything with my router settings. Once again thanks a lot for your help.

    and here is my new analyzer report:
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 05.17.2008 15:11
    IP address: 70.233.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405ac01010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 49368 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 49368
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 1975kbps (247KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 790kbps (99KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 01000000 (64)
    Precedence: 010 (immediate)
    Delay: 0 (normal delay)
    Throughput: 0 (normal throughput)
    Reliability: 0 (normal reliability)
    Cost: 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit: 0 (correct)
    DiffServ: CS2 010000 (16) - class 2 (RFC 2474). Similar forwarding behavior to the ToS Precedence field.
    Rerun the settings I gave. When correctly done, TCP Window should become 17424.

    I see no need for changing router settings. Your MTU is correct at 1492 for ADSL.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    23
    Thanks a lot trogers for all your help. I fixed the mistake and here is the analyzer report:
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 05.17.2008 17:21
    IP address: 70.233.xx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405ac01010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 17424 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 17424
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 697kbps (87KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 279kbps (35KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 01000000 (64)
    Precedence: 010 (immediate)
    Delay: 0 (normal delay)
    Throughput: 0 (normal throughput)
    Reliability: 0 (normal reliability)
    Cost: 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit: 0 (correct)
    DiffServ: CS2 010000 (16) - class 2 (RFC 2474). Similar forwarding behavior to the ToS Precedence field.

    and speed test once again:

  6. #6
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Do a tracert to www.yahoo.com and post.

    To do a tracert, click 'Start' and then 'Run'. Type "cmd" into the box and click 'ok'.

    A DOS black screen will appear. Type after the C:\>

    tracert www.yahoo.com

    and press enter key

    When test is completed, move mouse cursor to the DOS black screen, click right and choose 'select all'.

    Move mouse cursor to the Quick Reply box of this forum, click right and 'paste'.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    23
    Here is the tracert:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\>tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net [69.147.76.15]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms adsl-65-70-231-254.dsl.fyvlar.swbell.net [65.70.
    231.254]
    3 10 ms 10 ms 11 ms dist1-vlan60.fyvlar.sbcglobal.net [151.164.169.1
    46]
    4 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms bb1-g2-0.fyvlar.sbcglobal.net [151.164.169.241]

    5 25 ms 26 ms 26 ms ex2-p2-0.eqdltx.sbcglobal.net [151.164.240.225]

    6 25 ms 26 ms 26 ms asn10310-11-yahoo.eqdltx.sbcglobal.net [151.164.
    250.202]
    7 61 ms 61 ms 62 ms so-6-0-0.pat2.che.yahoo.com [216.115.96.61]
    8 75 ms 71 ms 63 ms so-4-1-0.pat1.dce.yahoo.com [216.115.101.144]
    9 65 ms 59 ms 66 ms ge-3-1-0.pat2.dce.yahoo.com [216.115.102.115]
    10 66 ms 66 ms 66 ms ae1-p141.msr1.re1.yahoo.com [216.115.108.19]
    11 59 ms 66 ms 66 ms ge-1-41.bas-a2.re3.yahoo.com [66.196.112.201]
    12 59 ms 65 ms 66 ms f1.www.vip.re1.yahoo.com [69.147.76.15]

    Trace complete.

    C:\>

  8. #8
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Tracert does not show problem with signal quality. Try testing at a few other US test servers of www.speedtest.net and see if your ping times get lower than 100ms.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    23
    Here are the test results using different servers:



  10. #10
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    See if these settings give better speeds.

    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU - 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 31944
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    23
    Alright I will give it a try right now. I really appreciate all your help trogers.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    23
    Here is the new analyzer report:
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 05.18.2008 13:07
    IP address: 65.70.xxx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405ac01010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 31944 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 31944
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 1278kbps (160KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 511kbps (64KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 01000000 (64)
    Precedence: 010 (immediate)
    Delay: 0 (normal delay)
    Throughput: 0 (normal throughput)
    Reliability: 0 (normal reliability)
    Cost: 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit: 0 (correct)
    DiffServ: CS2 010000 (16) - class 2 (RFC 2474). Similar forwarding behavior to the ToS Precedence field.

    and speed test:


  13. #13
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by sinnerbaby View Post
    Here is the new analyzer report:
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 05.18.2008 13:07
    IP address: 65.70.xxx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405ac01010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 31944 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 31944
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 1278kbps (160KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 511kbps (64KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 01000000 (64)
    Precedence: 010 (immediate)
    Delay: 0 (normal delay)
    Throughput: 0 (normal throughput)
    Reliability: 0 (normal reliability)
    Cost: 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit: 0 (correct)
    DiffServ: CS2 010000 (16) - class 2 (RFC 2474). Similar forwarding behavior to the ToS Precedence field.

    and speed test:

    Keep these settings. Though they do not raise your download speed, they help keep your upload speed above 300 kbps.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    23
    Ok. Thanks for all your help.

Similar Threads

  1. Help Tweak Alltel Wireless Settings
    By Krileon in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-03-08, 04:46 PM
  2. Looking for tweak settings
    By joelore in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-18-08, 01:26 PM
  3. Could somone please help me Tweak my settings:)
    By nghtelf in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-27-07, 09:08 PM
  4. need a tweak settings...
    By vhick04 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-22-07, 07:51 PM
  5. Suggestions for Tweak Settings
    By skat325is in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-14-07, 10:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •