Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: is there anyway you can set your WAN IP

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    19

    is there anyway you can set your WAN IP

    to be the same, using your router. ( speedtouch ST585V6)
    my isp (tiscali) offers me a dynamic IP, it usually automatically changes around every 3 days unless i disconnect.
    I just wondered if there is anyway if i could make my WAN IP last longer before it changes, i heard if you are active on the internet at the lease time they will not assign you a new ip.
    I Know some people who can log into their router and configure their WAN IP so it stays the same but i don;t know how.
    Help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    tell your provider your want static or use dynamic dns
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    19
    I thought using dynamic DNS just updates a website to your ip address, not actually keep the IP the same..

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    19
    any ideas?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    19

    any way to keep WAN IP the same/configure

    to be the same, using your router. ( speedtouch ST585V6)
    my isp (tiscali) offers me a dynamic IP, it usually automatically changes around every 3 days unless i disconnect.
    I just wondered if there is anyway if i could make my WAN IP last longer before it changes, i heard if you are active on the internet at the lease time they will not assign you a new ip.
    I Know some people who can log into their router and configure their WAN IP so it stays the same but i don;t know how.
    I WAS Reading about this and i wondered if anyone knows if it'll work.
    http://www.filedudes.com/Keep_My_IP-download-28198.html

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    19

    any way to keep WAN IP the same/configure

    to be the same, using your router. ( speedtouch ST585V6)
    my isp (tiscali) offers me a dynamic IP, it usually automatically changes around every 3 days unless i disconnect.
    I just wondered if there is anyway if i could make my WAN IP last longer before it changes, i heard if you are active on the internet at the lease time they will not assign you a new ip.
    I Know some people who can log into their router and configure their WAN IP so it stays the same but i don;t know how.
    People say dynamic DNS to me but i do not want to keep a website with my IP i just want my actual WAN ip the be the same.
    I WAS Reading about this and i wondered if anyone knows if it'll work.
    http://www.filedudes.com/Keep_My_IP-download-28198.html

  7. #7
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    i'm not sure of the webiste but look into noip which can do the same as above it might be the same i'll ask a few more people i know about this. Like you said many ways of doing this.
    Comptia a+ n+

  8. #8
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,940
    Your IP is governed by their DHCP service/policy..when the lease it up..it's up. You may get the same IP again..you may get a different IP....it's depends on their DHCP pool availability and what policies they have on it.

    If you try to trick things...and take that IP...you can ruin the connection for someone else that uses that ISP...you can get on their radar and cause an issue.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  9. #9
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    your right still there is no one way to do that keep it the same if there is any the isp would have a fit if you tried to keep it the same.
    Comptia a+ n+

  10. #10
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by mccoffee View Post
    your right still there is no one way to do that keep it the same if there is any the isp would have a fit if you tried to keep it the same.
    LOL...

    Not only the ISP will have trouble, but probably some other user in the network being assigned the same WAN IP address by the ISP's DHCP server will cause random disconnection of one or both internet lines, as no 2 devices can have the same WAN IP address within the network.

    If you want a static WAN IP address, subscribed for one from your ISP and they will issue you an address that is not in the dynamic pool.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    19

    question about releasing/renewing IP ADDRESSES

    Ok, so I've had an idea to keep my WAN IP the same, mine is dynamic my ISP usually auto changes it after about 3 days, unless i reset router.
    But on the command prompt it usually says my lease expires 24 hours after i obtain an IP, i was thinking i could release the ip then renew so it resets the lease.
    This way i was thinking my WAN IP would stay the same because i keep resetting the lease.

    I hope i am not completly wrong about this and that lease is to do with the LAN IP, i didnt think this would be true as my LAN IP doesn't change.

    Would this work?

  12. #12
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,940
    I merged all your threads..please keep same subject to 1 thread in this 1 forum..no need to make multiple threads across several sub forums.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    19
    its a differrent question
    ^^
    Ok, so I've had an idea to keep my WAN IP the same, mine is dynamic my ISP usually auto changes it after about 3 days, unless i reset router.
    But on the command prompt it usually says my lease expires 24 hours after i obtain an IP, i was thinking i could release the ip then renew so it resets the lease.
    This way i was thinking my WAN IP would stay the same because i keep resetting the lease.

    I hope i am not completly wrong about this and that lease is to do with the LAN IP, i didnt think this would be true as my LAN IP doesn't change.

    Would this work?

  14. #14
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,940
    Internal DHCP lease of computer to router...is totally different from DCHP and IP lease from router to ISP.

    You can upgrade your home account to a static IP account from your ISP.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Can I stop "Syn Flood ** (from Outbound WAN)?
    By Old Dog 62 in forum Network Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-03-13, 10:38 AM
  2. Help me tweak my 1024kbs line and MTU, RWIN plz (RWIN=1412)
    By boy84hn2002 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-12-10, 01:31 PM
  3. WAN MAC Address Question
    By Rookie in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-19-07, 02:51 PM
  4. What to set Rwin as?
    By Muere in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-12-07, 09:43 PM
  5. A dual WAN router for session-persistent connections
    By shivan82 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-29-06, 03:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •