Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Network Settings missing & explorer.exe corrupt?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    10

    Network Settings missing & explorer.exe corrupt?

    Yeah, I can't see my network connection settings. There's like nothing there.
    Any suggestions please?

    Also everytime I load up my computer, the desktop shows for like 5 seconds then everything dissapears and a window message comes up like 'windows-no disk' and it has these options: Cancel, try again, continue, (and the 'x' button). Either one I click does nothing. After I click any of them my desktop comes back to normal and then after 5 seconds the same message comes back up..ffs. Same thing happens over and over and over...Its got to do with the explorer.exe in the WINDOWS folder because whenever I press CTR+ALT+DEL, I see explorer.exe in the process appearing then dissapearing whenever the windows-nodisk message comes up.
    Please help me

  2. #2
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,403
    format c:
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

  3. #3
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    file corruption from spyware or a virus... could be hardware failure from the HDD going bad.

  4. #4
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    I do agree with the fromat ,but this would be a quicker way i would try a repair install after the spyware is removed ,and virus if there was one. If there is alot of junk in the test formate if not try below.

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u...ps/doug92.mspx
    Comptia a+ n+

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    10
    Thanks guys I'll try them all .
    Oh but one thing, I don't have my Windows CD so thats a bummer .
    I'll try formating c drive though .

Similar Threads

  1. few questions about my internet...
    By charlieC in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-08-08, 08:06 PM
  2. double network on same hardware...
    By knikola in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-07-08, 04:40 AM
  3. Network Adapter icon missing
    By jericom in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-03-08, 05:39 AM
  4. correct settings but no improvement
    By anderb in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-23-08, 01:49 PM
  5. help with mtu settings
    By MrZoot in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-28-07, 01:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •