Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Help High Ping

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19

    Help High Ping

    I can't play my 360 because of this ping. It went up after using the TCP Optimizer

    My TCP set up:







    It even goes higher than 78 sometimes.



    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>tracert www.bbc.co.uk

    Tracing route to www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.228.41]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms dslrouter [192.168.1.1]
    2 56 ms 52 ms 58 ms 10.32.84.1
    3 48 ms 54 ms 51 ms so-4-3-0-0.CORE-RTR2.NY325.verizon-gni.net [130.
    81.13.213]
    4 56 ms 57 ms 49 ms 130.81.20.178
    5 50 ms 57 ms 57 ms 0.so-4-3-0.XT2.NYC9.ALTER.NET [152.63.10.5]
    6 52 ms 55 ms 55 ms 0.so-6-3-0.XL4.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.0.73]
    7 43 ms 45 ms 44 ms GigabitEthernet7-0-0.GW1.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.
    20.53]
    8 47 ms 37 ms 38 ms teliasonera-test.alter.net [157.130.255.206]
    9 87 ms 86 ms 57 ms nyk-bb2-link.telia.net [213.248.83.65]
    10 123 ms 127 ms 132 ms ldn-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.249.248]
    11 114 ms 116 ms 128 ms ldn-b3-link.telia.net [80.91.250.241]
    12 133 ms 131 ms 127 ms siemens-ic-119241-ldn-b2.c.telia.net [213.248.10
    4.70]
    13 135 ms 142 ms 132 ms 212.58.238.133
    14 126 ms 126 ms 140 ms 212.58.238.36
    15 135 ms 137 ms 132 ms pos6-0.rt1.mh.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.254]
    16 138 ms 142 ms 138 ms www4.mh.bbc.co.uk [212.58.228.41]

    Trace complete.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>

    I can tell its messed up just by looking at that.

    Someone help please
    Last edited by DacoiT; 04-28-08 at 09:11 PM.

  2. #2
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    What speed are you paying for ?

    Post your TCP Analyzer Report.
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Rollingstone View Post
    What speed are you paying for ?

    Post your TCP Analyzer Report.
    don't remember its been a while

    Edit: Found it

    3 Mbps/768 Kbps


    Heres the report:

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 04.29.2008 07:09
    IP address: 70.23.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405ac0103030101010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 129228 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 1
    Unscaled RWIN : 64614
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 5169kbps (646KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 2068kbps (258KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 52
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    Last edited by DacoiT; 04-29-08 at 06:10 AM.

  4. #4
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 63888
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

    After reboot, post your new TCP Analyzer Report.
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    Here:


    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 04.29.2008 07:47
    IP address: 70.23.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405a401010402
    MSS: 1444
    MTU: 1484
    TCP Window: 63888 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 63888
    Reccomended RWINs: 63536, 127072, 254144, 508288
    BDP limit (200ms): 2556kbps (319KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1022kbps (128KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 52
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    Also just to let you know I'm using PPPoE


    Any ideas where i should put the connection speed bar at?

    I should be receiving 3 Mbps/768 Kbps

  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Any ideas where i should put the connection speed bar at?
    When use Custom Settings , no need to change connection speed bar.

    MTU: 1484
    You 're using PPPoE. Your MTU should be 1492. Log into your modem/router and set MTU (MRU) 1492 or MSS 1452. Reboot and post new TCP Analyzer Report.
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    Dammit can't find where to change it. My MTU is 1540. I can see that but can't find where to modify it.

    I'm using Westell Versalink Model 327W Modem.
    Last edited by DacoiT; 04-29-08 at 07:40 AM.

  8. #8
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - leave blank
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    Report after that ^

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 04.29.2008 15:41
    IP address: 70.23.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405ac0103030e01010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 1073725440 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 14
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 42949018kbps (5368627KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 17179607kbps (2147451KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)


    My download speed has gone down by 600 and ping is 60

  10. #10
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    TCP options string: 020405ac0103030e01010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 1073725440 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 14
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 42949018kbps (5368627KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 17179607kbps (2147451KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    Now your MTU returns 1492, optimum for PPPoE.

    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 63888
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect
    Last edited by Rollingstone; 04-29-08 at 09:17 PM.
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    I don't get this

    when i put 1500, It comes out as 1492 and when i put 1492 it comes out as 1484. It - by 8. The problem is that it - 8 from the MTU that i put there.

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 04.30.2008 07:46
    IP address: 151.202.xxx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405a401010402
    MSS: 1444
    MTU: 1484
    TCP Window: 63888 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 63888
    Reccomended RWINs: 63536, 127072, 254144, 508288
    BDP limit (200ms): 2556kbps (319KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1022kbps (128KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)


    I just noticed something:

    Default TCP Receive Window (RWIN) = 63888
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled TCP Receive Window = 63888

    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other RWIN values that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    508288 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    254144 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    127072 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    63536 (MSS x 44)


    It lowered the ping a little tho:
    Last edited by DacoiT; 04-30-08 at 07:10 AM.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    Quick Update: I just followed this guide: http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=73799

    I thought Search and Destroy was good enough. Then i downloaded Ad-Ware and it found over 300 Spywares. Removed them all and now my pc is running really good and faster than ever.

    Thanks for all the help

  13. #13
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    You want your MTU to be 1492 and TCP Window to be 63888.

    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU - 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 63888
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    I think this looks pretty good

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 05.01.2008 15:28
    IP address: 151.202.xx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405ac01010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 63888 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 63888
    Reccomended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104
    BDP limit (200ms): 2556kbps (319KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1022kbps (128KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    What do you think?

  15. #15
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 63888 (multiple of MSS)
    We would say your speed is optimum !!!
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

Similar Threads

  1. Rule the Seas! Browser game, REAL time waster!
    By YARDofSTUF in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 2445
    Last Post: 05-11-08, 08:02 AM
  2. High Ping Help Me
    By cjc1994 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03-13-08, 05:13 PM
  3. High PING Problem
    By deapsea in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 02-14-08, 03:18 AM
  4. High Ping Issue
    By pparker in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 06-13-07, 01:12 AM
  5. Internet Spike High Ping Issue
    By pingpong in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-11-06, 11:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •