Thread: Switch confusion and new topology

Switch confusion and new topology

here is the scenario I am still new to the function of the pieces of equipment in use so Please bear with me if my questions are a bit foolish

I have a DSL modem with 4 ports on it I assume it s a modem/router it is connected to a 16 port netgear switch wich is in turn connected to a 8 port netgear switch which is then connected to the punchboard going to each individual drop in the building.

We need to move to a cable connection due to problems with the DSL line and i already have a cable modem installed with nothing connected to it (I connected my system to it for to ensure it worked and it did)

The end user workstations are a mix of dynamic IP's and static IP's
    Here are my questions

1 Can I simply unplug the netgear conection from the DSL modem and plug it in to the cable modem power cycle the the cable modem ,switches and the end users and the system will come back up ( I may have to change anyone from static to dynamic IPs)

...or do I have to go into the settings of the cable modem and make changes there as well.

We also have a wireless access point to add the capability of wireless connectivity.

The overall topology is pretty bad we actually don't even need the 8 port switch the ports on the modem, the wireless and 16 port switch will easily cover the number of users.

Because I am connecting to switch can i simply move the connections around andto eliminate the extra 8 port switch and power cycle everything and have the new topology rebuilt.

We have two systems used as files servers that we all have shared access to different directories and to network printers I am think that as far as the printers go I set those a static IPS the servers as static IPs the end users i would also like to set to static after originally getting the IPs when they were setup dynamically and everything should be working again maybe I am being too hopeful.