Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 71

Thread: Windows Vista Tweaks

  1. #41
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by CatNoise View Post
    Is he right or not, should i disable nagle or not?
    @Catnoise.. Yes.. he is wrong

    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    You shouldn't disable nagling under normal use.
    @Philip.. You are wrong also...

    You can not disable nagling just making a regkey do disable it.
    You need to activate QoS on Vista because QoS is disable by default.
    Go to Start/Control Panel/ Programs and Features...
    Now on your left side you see Turn Windows Features
    On or Off after that just active Microsoft Message Queue (MSMQ) Server
    [you need to active all be under that MSMQ file by clicking on +].
    Now you can disable nagling happy tweak guys xD

  2. #42
    Regular Member 100 010 00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Between the legs
    Posts
    196
    QoS is enable by default in windows vista, because autotuning technology is based under Qos. There are about fifty articles in microsoft technet about it. read some of them

    EDIT: No one can disable nagle algorithm, unless u r a kernel substractive layer programming. U can modiefying some parameters yes, like philip describes in his article, but if u at last find a way to disable it, the results of tcp/ip is for fun. nothing works
    Last edited by 100 010 00; 04-08-09 at 05:42 AM.
    There is no patch for stupidity

  3. #43
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by 7even View Post
    @Catnoise.. Yes.. he is wrong



    @Philip.. You are wrong also...

    You can not disable nagling just making a regkey do disable it.
    You need to activate QoS on Vista because QoS is disable by default.
    Go to Start/Control Panel/ Programs and Features...
    Now on your left side you see Turn Windows Features
    On or Off after that just active Microsoft Message Queue (MSMQ) Server
    [you need to active all be under that MSMQ file by clicking on +].
    Now you can disable nagling happy tweak guys xD
    I don't MSMQ has anything to do with QoS.
    MSMQ is efficient way to send messages between processes or computers. We use it a lot in our corporate enviroment.

  4. #44
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    27
    Sir just a quick question, why is it every time I click on the Vista Patch link it directs me to this page with these written on it. It won't let me save it or download anything to my desktop.


    :: (c) Speed Guide, Inc. - http://www.speedguide.net
    :: Use at your own risk. No warranty express or implied.
    :: Permission granted to copy, distribute and modify, provided
    :: this message is not removed.
    CLS
    @ECHO OFF
    ECHO *** SpeedGuide.net Vista TCP/IP patch v1.3 2009-02-12 ***
    ECHO.
    ECHO This Patch optimizes Vista TCP/IP settings for broadband
    ECHO Use at your own risk. No warranty express or implied.
    ECHO.
    ECHO ------------------------------------------
    ECHO Type "y" to optimize Vista TCP/IP settings
    ECHO Type "q" to disable QoS reserved bandwidth
    ECHO Type "d" to revert to Vista default values
    ECHO Type "n" to cancell patch and exit
    ECHO ------------------------------------------
    :LOOP
    SET /P choice1= Type y,n,q, or d, and press ENTER:
    IF /I "%choice1%"=="Y" GOTO TWEAK
    IF /I "%choice1%"=="Q" GOTO QOS
    IF /I "%choice1%"=="D" GOTO DEFAULT
    IF /I "%choice1%"=="N" GOTO CANCEL
    :: ELSE
    GOTO LOOP

    :TWEAK
    @ECHO ON
    netsh int tcp set global rss=enabled
    netsh int tcp set global chimney=enabled
    netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=normal
    netsh int tcp set global congestionprovider=ctcp
    netsh int tcp set global ecncapability=disabled
    netsh int tcp set global timestamps=disabled
    @ECHO OFF
    cd %temp%
    ECHO > SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters]
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg "DefaultTTL"=dword:00000040
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg "EnableTCPA"=dword:00000001
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg "Tcp1323Opts"=dword:00000001
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg "TCPMaxDataRetransmissions"=dword:00000007
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg "TCPTimedWaitDelay"=dword:0000001e
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg "SynAttackProtect"=dword:00000001
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\ServiceProvider]
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg "LocalPriority"=dword:00000004
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg "HostsPriority"=dword:00000005
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg "DnsPriority"=dword:00000006
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg "NetbtPriority"=dword:00000007
    regedit /s SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg
    del SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg
    CLS
    ECHO * PATCH SUCCESFULLY APPLIED - PRESS ANY KEY TO EXIT *
    GOTO SUCCESS

    :QOS
    @ECHO OFF
    cd %temp%
    ECHO > SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Psched]
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg "NonBestEffortLimit"=dword:00000000
    regedit /s SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg
    del SG_Vista_TcpIp_Patch.reg
    CLS
    ECHO * QOS PATCH SUCCESFULLY APPLIED - PRESS ANY KEY TO EXIT *
    ECHO.
    ECHO * Visit SpeedGuide.net for more broadband info and tweaks *
    ECHO.
    @PAUSE
    EXIT

    EFAULT
    @ECHO ON
    netsh int tcp set global rss=default
    netsh int tcp set global chimney=default
    netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=normal
    netsh int tcp set global congestionprovider=default
    netsh int tcp set global ecncapability=default
    netsh int tcp set global timestamps=default
    @ECHO OFF
    cd %temp%
    ECHO > SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters]
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg "DefaultTTL"=-
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg "EnableTCPA"=-
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg "Tcp1323Opts"=dword:00000000
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg "TCPMaxDataRetransmissions"=dword:000000ff
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg "TCPTimedWaitDelay"=dword:ffffffff
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg "SynAttackProtect"=-
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\ServiceProvider]
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg "LocalPriority"=dword:000001f3
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg "HostsPriority"=dword:000001f4
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg "DnsPriority"=dword:000007d0
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg "NetbtPriority"=dword:000007d1
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Psched]
    ECHO >> SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg "NonBestEffortLimit"=-
    regedit /s SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg
    del SG_Vista_TcpIp_Default.reg
    CLS
    ECHO * VISTA DEFAULT VALUES SUCCESFULLY APPLIED - PRESS ANY KEY TO EXIT *
    GOTO SUCCESS

    :SUCCESS
    netsh int tcp show global
    ECHO.
    ECHO * Visit SpeedGuide.net for more broadband info and tweaks *
    ECHO.
    @PAUSE
    EXIT

    :CANCEL
    CLS
    ECHO * PATCH CANCELLED BY USER - PRESS ANY KEY TO EXIT *
    ECHO.
    ECHO * Visit SpeedGuide.net for more broadband info and tweaks *
    ECHO.
    @PAUSE
    EXIT

  5. #45
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by babolgam View Post
    Sir just a quick question, why is it every time I click on the Vista Patch link it directs me to this page with these written on it. It won't let me save it or download anything to my desktop.

    .....
    Click the link with your right mouse button and choose "save link as" or "save target as".

  6. #46
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    27
    yeah that's what I did but it opens as a notepad and when I tried opening it with cmd nothing happens. Sorry for being a noob. hehe..

  7. #47
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by babolgam View Post
    yeah that's what I did but it opens as a notepad and when I tried opening it with cmd nothing happens. Sorry for being a noob. hehe..
    When the file is open in notepad, click file -> save as..

    Select Save as type to All files (*.*) and save it as patch.cmd, not patch.cmd.txt or anything.

  8. #48
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    8
    Hi everyone,

    I am having serious broadband issues so I signed up to the forum and have been running through some of the tweaks.

    I have ran the TCPOptimizer and the SG_Vista_TcpIP_Patch.cmd. I am on Virgin Media's XL package in the UK (which boasts a 20MB line) and got the following results.

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 05.06.2009 14:28
    IP address: 81.107.xx.xx
    Client OS: Windows Vista x64

    TCP options string: 020405b00103030201010402
    MSS: 1456
    MTU: 1496
    TCP Window: 17472 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2 bits (2^2=4)
    Unscaled RWIN : 4368
    Recommended RWINs: 64064, 128128, 256256, 512512, 1025024
    BDP limit (200ms): 699kbps (87KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 280kbps (35KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 47
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    TCP Global Parameters
    ----------------------------------------------
    Receive-Side Scaling State : enabled
    Chimney Offload State : enabled
    Receive Window Auto-Tuning Level : disabled (have previously tried normal)
    Add-On Congestion Control Provider : ctcp
    ECN Capability : disabled
    RFC 1323 Timestamps : disabled
    This seems to have improved load times on web pages but since running the tweaks my download speeds have not improved and in some cases have gotten worse (in a few case not budging from 0kb/sec from a reliable server)

    I'm thinking this has something to do with my RWIN value being way too low.

    Any advice will be GREATLY appreciated.
    Last edited by Maffew; 05-06-09 at 01:43 PM.

  9. #49
    hello im new in this forum,
    i'd like asking some help from all of u guys........

    this my poor tcpip analyser
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 05.26.2009 13:15
    IP address: 114.58.xxx.xx(proxy:64.255.180.21)
    Client OS: Windows Vista

    TCP options string: 020405b40402080a90adbe260000000001030307
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 5888 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 7 bits (2^7=128)
    Unscaled RWIN : 46
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 236kbps (29KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 94kbps (12KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 48
    Timestamps: ON
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    what should i do first.....
    please....

  10. #50
    ups sory a bit mistake up here,

    this the true my tcpipanalyser:

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 05.26.2009 13:20
    IP address: 114.58.xxx.xx
    Client OS: Windows Vista

    TCP options string: 020402180103030201010402
    MSS: 536
    MTU: 576
    TCP Window: 16616 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2 bits (2^2=4)
    Unscaled RWIN : 4154
    Recommended RWINs: 65392, 130784, 261568, 523136, 1046272
    BDP limit (200ms): 665kbps (83KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 266kbps (33KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 103
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00001000 (8)
    Precedence: 000 (routine)
    Delay: 0 (normal delay)
    Throughput: 1 (low throughput)
    Reliability: 0 (normal reliability)
    Cost: 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit: 0 (correct)
    DiffServ: No valid DiffServ equivalent (000010)


    i need your help desperetly.......
    what shoul i do 1st..............
    thanks for your helps be4.........

  11. #51
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15
    Well your MTU is WAY too low and so is your RWIN. Go here: http://www.speedguide.net/read_articles.php?id=2574

    And follow what it says.

  12. #52
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1
    Hey guys,

    I'm new to this forum and I was wondering if I could get some feedback on my connect speed. I used the TCP Analyzer and this is what I got:

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 10.04.2009 20:26
    IP address: 67.182.xxx.xxx
    Client OS: Windows 7

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030201010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 17520 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2 bits (2^2=4)
    Unscaled RWIN : 4380
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 701kbps (88KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 280kbps (35KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 113
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  13. #53
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8
    sir,

    can you also help me tweak my broadband..
    is vista and windows 7 the same in the sense of running your patch?

    new tcp annalyzed values----
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 11.28.2009 06:46
    IP address: 110.55.xx.xxx
    Client OS: Windows 7

    TCP options string: 020405a00103030201010402
    MSS: 1440
    MTU: 1480
    TCP Window: 66240 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2 bits (2^2=4)
    Unscaled RWIN : 16560
    Recommended RWINs: 63360, 126720, 253440, 506880, 1013760
    BDP limit (200ms): 2650kbps (331KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1060kbps (132KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 116
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  14. #54
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    The vista patch does the same in vista and in windows 7
    Comptia a+ n+

  15. #55
    Regular Member 100 010 00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Between the legs
    Posts
    196
    Philip....., just for win7 and 2008, u can add in patch the NetDMA 2.0, which adds support for Direct Cache Access (DCA)
    two ways.........

    netsh int tcp set global dca=enabled
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \SYSTEM \CurrentControlSet \Services \Tcpip \Parameters]
    EnableDCA=1
    There is no patch for stupidity

  16. #56
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    Quote Originally Posted by 100 010 00 View Post
    Philip....., just for win7 and 2008, u can add in patch the NetDMA 2.0, which adds support for Direct Cache Access (DCA)
    two ways.........

    netsh int tcp set global dca=enabled
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \SYSTEM \CurrentControlSet \Services \Tcpip \Parameters]
    EnableDCA=1
    I was wondering how you set that thanks for the information. I looked it for it when 7 was still beta couldn't find it.
    Comptia a+ n+

  17. #57
    Regular Member 100 010 00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Between the legs
    Posts
    196
    i think it is leaked now via internet, just google it. i think that Intel is the researcher of this technology.
    There is no patch for stupidity

  18. #58
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    Quote Originally Posted by 100 010 00 View Post
    i think it is leaked now via internet, just google it. i think that Intel is the researcher of this technology.
    I saw the intel part of it a while back it did seem like at the time intel was going to make cards/software to fuly utilize that feature thouh I'll re read it again though.
    Comptia a+ n+

  19. #59
    Regular Member 100 010 00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Between the legs
    Posts
    196
    btw, enabling dca, internet is running smoothly and especially browsing it seems like you have stored all the webpages in your hard drive and everything runs so quickly, because the response times are 2 low, cause of not using the memory for these operations and the data are being tranfered directly to the CPU . DCA is futuring technology and that means the end of ram's life in a while, but u need latest cpu's for that.
    There is no patch for stupidity

  20. #60
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,331
    Blog Entries
    6
    I've added the EnableDCA registry setting to the Vista/7 TCP/IP patch, and updated the tweaking article.

Similar Threads

  1. "Windows 7 will run on Vista's recommended hardware"
    By Sava700 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-28-08, 06:54 AM
  2. Vista SP1 Due Feb4th!
    By Sava700 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 53
    Last Post: 03-05-08, 06:42 PM
  3. Microsoft Vista SP1 RC Public Release
    By Sava700 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 12-16-07, 11:11 PM
  4. nVidia and Vista Driver news
    By Sava700 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-25-07, 02:01 PM
  5. Yummy VISTA Home Premium
    By Lobo in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-04-07, 02:57 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •