Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 71

Thread: Windows Vista Tweaks

  1. #21
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,289
    Blog Entries
    6
    It works with Vista and Server 2008, haven't really installed/tested Windows 7 yet but it should work as well.
    I'd try some of the commands from the Vista tweaking article manually to test.

  2. #22
    Regular Member 100 010 00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Between the legs
    Posts
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    I've added a SG Vista TCP/IP Patch (thanks 100 010 00 for some ideas), allowing users to change all Vista related netsh/registry settings to their optimal values in a single step (except nagling and MTU, more info available in our Vista Tweaks article referenced above). The SG Vista TCP/IP patch allows for reverting all settings to their Windows default values as well.

    We may opt for a Vista Windows-based version ot the Optimizer for more granular user control sometime in the future, depending on demand.

    Any feedback is appreciated, as always.
    I have also added the priorites in here.....

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\ServiceProvider.......... works fine
    There is no patch for stupidity

  3. #23
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,289
    Blog Entries
    6
    Updated the Vista patch with DNS/Host priority tweak as well, thanks.

  4. #24
    Regular Member 100 010 00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Between the legs
    Posts
    196
    if u like, u can add the "0" limit of reserve bandwindth, also same like xp..

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Psched]
    "NonBestEffortLimit"=dword:00000000
    There is no patch for stupidity

  5. #25
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,289
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by 100 010 00 View Post
    if u like, u can add the "0" limit of reserve bandwindth, also same like xp..

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Psched]
    "NonBestEffortLimit"=dword:00000000
    Thanks for the suggestion ! This information is available in the tweaking articles, not sure whether to include it in the patch.

    The reason being, it only has effect in the presense of running QoS applications that request priority traffic... It may be a good thing to customize if the user requires QoS tweaking, but not necessarily applicable for everyone.


    Edit: I've added it as a separate user option from the menu when running the patch.

  6. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1
    thanks phillips pls can SG Vista TCP/IP patch work for dial up?i use a 460kbps but my download speed hardly go beyond 8KB/s

  7. #27
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    I've tried in it windows 7 it works
    Comptia a+ n+

  8. #28
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,289
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by mccoffee View Post
    I've tried in it windows 7 it works
    Great to know, thanks for testing !
    I'll have to install Windows 7 one of these days myself.

  9. #29
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    Philip not to thread hijack here is apublic download of the beta for it.

    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...-download.aspx
    Comptia a+ n+

  10. #30
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1
    "I've been seeing this nagle tweak thing all over the internet. I just had to finally say something in regards to Vista and this tweak. For windows Vista the correct registry key for TCPNoDelay can be one of two places:

    1st place is: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\MSDTC\

    2nd place is: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\ {in the game sub key}

    Do not add the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\MSMQ\Parameters registry entry to Vista, its not there by default for a good reason, because Vista doesn't use the Message Queue Server (MSMQ). The TCPNoDelay key is application and function specific, meaning, what ever software key it appears in is where it works, but heres the deal, it can only appear once in the registry. If its more then one place in the registry then it does not function. Sooo...dont go adding it to every application and game registry key, only add it in one place if you want it to be applied globally on Vista, and thats in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\MSDTC\ registry key.

    Now, the next thing I wanted to say, regardless of the pictures you have seen, or what some of the so called 'experts' on the 'net say, disabling nagles is a bad thing. When you do you basically break TCP/IP. In XP and Vista, the game doesn't work better because there is a flaw in the windows TCP/IP, it seems to work better because the code in the game is crappy to begin with and doesn't work properly with TCP/IP because the net code in the game that shapes the packets it sends doesn't correctly form the packets and as a result produces a smaller packet and lots of them, disabling nagles only seems to help because it makes TCP/IP more accpeting of the broken non-standard packet from the game. Next, disabling nagles, while you may get a lower ping reading in certain games, your really degrading your connection and bandwidth. The last thing I wanted to say about adding this to Vista, it doesn't work in Vista contrary to popular belief even if you turn off autotuning. Think about it, what happens when you turn off autotuning? So you turn it off, lock the TCP window size, and then further degrade that by turning off nagles? Come on now, get realistic folks."
    Is he right or not, should i disable nagle or not?

  11. #31
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,289
    Blog Entries
    6
    You shouldn't disable nagling under normal use.

  12. #32
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,289
    Blog Entries
    6
    Update: Vista TCP/IP patch has been upated to version 1.3, added TcpTimedWaitDelay registry entry to reduce unused dynamic port reallocation from 2 minutes to 30 seconds.

  13. #33
    Regular Member 100 010 00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Between the legs
    Posts
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    ........SET /P choice1= Type y,n, q, or d, and press ENTER:
    IF /I "%choice1%"=="Y" GOTO TWEAK
    IF /I "%choice1%"=="Q" GOTO QOS
    IF /I "%choice1%"=="D" GOTO DEFAULT
    IF /I "%choice1%"=="N" GOTO CANCEL.........
    Add the Q (QoS) choice that u forgot and either u can add the start-end ports of tcp-udp dynamicportrange in patch and at the end u can use the following or something like that, for the end user.....

    Code:
    :SUCCESS
    CLS
    @ECHO             * PATCH WAS SUCCESFULLY APPLIED - PRESS ANY KEY TO EXIT *
    netsh int tcp show global
    @PAUSE
    @ECHO            * THE TCP DYNAMIC PORTS RANGE THAT IS IN USE NOW ARE..... *  
    netsh int ipv4 show dynamicportrange tcp
    @PAUSE
    @ECHO            * THE UDP DYNAMIC PORTS RANGE THAT IS IN USE NOW ARE..... * 
    netsh int ipv4 show dynamicportrange udp
    @PAUSE  
    EXIT

    just a thought

    EDIT: I think the range of maxuserports is 5000-65534. The command that u wrote opens 65535. Correct me if i am wrong
    Last edited by 100 010 00; 02-14-09 at 02:22 PM.
    There is no patch for stupidity

  14. #34
    SG Wizard Ashdaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Smithfield, New South Wales, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    964
    I have Win 2008 server/workstation and I tried this but it didn't do anything for me? I was lucky that I have a dual boot with Win 7 and it allowed me to get back in and change the OLD tcpip.sys back so I could start my machine again.

    I noticed that on you FTP you have so many TCP.ip.sys files, do I get the latest one that is 1.4mb or?

    Thanks Philip for making this available though. I WILL try it again and see if I can do it properly THIS time

    PS, I wish my speeds were as great as the guy on Comcast Cable, I would LOVE that

  15. #35
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1
    As I am trying to open the Vista patch it only opens/saves as a text file...what do I need to do?

  16. #36
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    right click the vista patch and make sure you run as administrator
    Comptia a+ n+

  17. #37
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1

    Auto Tuning Level

    I read that the auto-tuning level can use a large amount of resources when using things such as BitTorrent and that it should be set to restricted or highlyrestricted, but I was wondering if it would benefit to set it to 'normal' since I have 4GB of RAM, or is it still not a good idea?
    Last edited by Zeriam; 05-15-16 at 02:17 PM.

  18. #38
    Regular Member 100 010 00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Between the legs
    Posts
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by Zeriam View Post
    I read that the auto-tuning level can use a large amount of resources when using things such as BitTorrent and that it should be set to restricted or highlyrestricted, but I was wondering if it would benefit to set it to 'normal' since I have 4GB of RAM, or is it still not a good idea?
    dont worry ....... cause of that, vistas tcpip.sys, turns by itsself to default value when limits the connections and recources. open your bittorrent client and after half an hour try an analyzer and see the results
    There is no patch for stupidity

  19. #39
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1
    Hey guys I dont know if here's the right place to ask for help but I'll give it a go

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 03.27.2009 13:43
    IP address: 79.117.xxx.xxx
    Client OS: Windows Vista

    TCP options string: 020405a001010402
    MSS: 1440
    MTU: 1480
    TCP Window: 64800 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0 bits
    Unscaled RWIN : 64800
    Recommended RWINs: 63360, 126720, 253440, 506880, 1013760
    BDP limit (200ms): 2592kbps (324KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1037kbps (130KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00100000 (32)
    Precedence: 001 (priority)
    Delay: 0 (normal delay)
    Throughput: 0 (normal throughput)
    Reliability: 0 (normal reliability)
    Cost: 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit: 0 (correct)
    DiffServ: CS1 001000 (8) - class 1 (RFC 2474). Similar forwarding behavior to the ToS Precedence field.
    Now the thing is that i've used Vista Patcher and nothing happen
    I am using Vista SP 2 and my internet connection is kinda of not working for the moment.

    I've used sometime ago TCP Optimizer on Vista SP1 and the halfopen patch and they did wonders, but now everything went from ok to verry bad...

  20. #40
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    The resualts don't show on the analyzer The changes will show in netsh though
    Comptia a+ n+

Similar Threads

  1. "Windows 7 will run on Vista's recommended hardware"
    By Sava700 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-28-08, 06:54 AM
  2. Vista SP1 Due Feb4th!
    By Sava700 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 53
    Last Post: 03-05-08, 06:42 PM
  3. Microsoft Vista SP1 RC Public Release
    By Sava700 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 12-16-07, 11:11 PM
  4. nVidia and Vista Driver news
    By Sava700 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-25-07, 02:01 PM
  5. Yummy VISTA Home Premium
    By Lobo in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-04-07, 02:57 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •