Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: We switched from Comcast cable to AT&T DSL Lite. Horrible speeds.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    8

    We switched from Comcast cable to AT&T DSL Lite. Horrible speeds.

    I'm horribly disappointed lol. My family was having issues with our old Cable modem. We were with comcast. I had cable and it was great,download and uploading were great.Pages opened in flashes, then one day it just stopped connecting online and oddly comcast couldn't even solve the issue. So my family decided to switch with AT&T DSL Lite. Now I thought DSL was just as fast as cable but I'm disappointed. It loads pages at an ok speed but it gets a little aggravating with pages that has a lot to load up. Especially on myspace.. it takes at least a minute or two to load everything on someone's page. The more junk that's on a website, the longer it takes for it to load the page up. The downloads are extremely slow for my liking. With cable I was able to download & upload at least 175/kb/sec, maybe even higher than that... Now with DSL it's like maybe 50/kb/sec and sometimes 80/kb/sec if I'm lucky. I already asked my parents if we could somehow switch back with cable and they declined. So I'm stuck with this.. Is there anything or anyway I could possibly speed things up... Is it normal for DSL to be that slow with uploading and downloading things?

    Please people bare with me, I'm not very computer savy. I have a HP Pavilion a1330n . HP Pavilion Media Center A1330n (Athlon 64 2.4GHz, 1GB RAM, 250GB HDD, XP Media Center)
    Manufacturer: HP
    Part number: EL466AA#ABA

    Product Short Spec:
    Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (2.4 GHz)
    RAM installed: 1 GB DDR SDRAM
    Hard drive: 250 GB Standard
    OS provided: Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005

    Someone suggested using a program called TCP Optimizer to speed things up but I'm a little scared to use it as I've heard great reviews and bad reviews. Some people say they've had an increase in speed and others said it's slowed them down and even messed up their computer. I'm very frustrated with this DSL.. My parents won't switch anything as their content with the issue. however since I'm a person who likes to download movies,video games and likes to upload things on youtube at a faster rate,This is an issue for me. I'm hoping someone out there can help.

    This is what my speed looks like




    Everybody has these great speeds but mines is sorry!! I know DSL can be faster than that!
    Last edited by Jeff1986; 02-29-08 at 03:09 PM.

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,001
    TCP optimizer is a good program, but you still have to use it correctly, post a tcp analyzer report here for us first.

    ATT DSL lite is 768/128 I think, so its going to be nothing like comcast. DSL can be fast, but a cheap package on any service is usually crap lol

  3. #3
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Should have kept on Comcast to fix the issue... I had to switch to DSL for a little bit while they fixed a issue with me but I was quickly happy to switch back to Comcast from the crappy DSL...

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    TCP optimizer is a good program, but you still have to use it correctly, post a tcp analyzer report here for us first.
    Hate to sound dumb but as I told you, I'm not very computer savy. How do you get a tcp analyzer report??


    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    Should have kept on Comcast to fix the issue... I had to switch to DSL for a little bit while they fixed a issue with me but I was quickly happy to switch back to Comcast from the crappy DSL...
    The thing is my parents are trying to save money and now they've gotten with AT&T and has a deal that's much cheaper than with comcast. They only browse websites so they're fine with the issue..However I'm the type to download,upload and stream videos. Which I like to do at fast rates. I was so used to that because we had cable for years. My parents told me I'm just going to have to stick with what they got so there's no way of me getting back with comcast or cable anytime soon I'm afraid . So I'm hoping I can find some way to get my DSL speeds the same as my cable was... or at least a little faster than what it's doing now.

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,940
    Quite a change...from Comcast..to DSL Lite.

    Bet the issue was as simple as a splitter. 99.9 of cable internet issues I run across...are due to a faulty splitter. Cheap quick part to replace.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    How do you get a tcp analyzer report??
    Click this http://www.speedguide.net/analyzer.php
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Rollingstone View Post
    THANK YOU...

    Here's my stats...

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 02.29.2008 18:46
    IP address: 68.211.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405800103030001010402
    MSS: 1408
    MTU: 1448
    TCP Window: 65535 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 64768, 129536, 259072, 518144
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)









    Home TCP/IP Analyzer

    SpeedGuide.net TCP/IP Analyzer

    TCP properties for IP = 68.211.150.134 (68.211.150.134)
    Browser/OS = Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.12) Gecko/20080201 Firefox/2.0.0.12
    Notes: Read the Analyzer FAQ if the above is not your IP address.
    TCP options string = 020405800103030001010402
    MTU = 1448
    MTU is not fully optimized for broadband. Consider increasing your MTU to 1500 for better throughput. If you are using a router, it could be limiting your MTU regardless of Registry settings.
    MSS = 1408
    MSS is not optimized for broadband. Consider increasing your MTU value.
    Default TCP Receive Window (RWIN) = 65535
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled TCP Receive Window = 65535

    Note: TCP 1323 Options need to be enabled for RWIN over 2^16 (65535).
    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other RWIN values that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    518144 (MSS x 46 * scale factor of 8)
    259072 (MSS x 46 * scale factor of 4)
    129536 (MSS x 46 * scale factor of 2)
    64768 (MSS x 46)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your TCP Window limits you to: 2621 kbps (328 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your TCP Window limits you to: 1049 kbps (131 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 51 hops
    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)

  8. #8
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff1986 View Post
    THANK YOU...

    Here's my stats...

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 02.29.2008 18:46
    IP address: 68.211.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405800103030001010402
    MSS: 1408
    MTU: 1448
    TCP Window: 65535 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 64768, 129536, 259072, 518144
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    What speed are you paying for ?

    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - leave blank
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

    After reboot, post your new TCP Analyzer Report.
    Last edited by Rollingstone; 02-29-08 at 06:32 PM.
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  9. #9
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff1986 View Post
    So I'm hoping I can find some way to get my DSL speeds the same as my cable was... or at least a little faster than what it's doing now.
    You will never get that DSL to work the same as the Cable was unless you accually buy into a really high package like 10meg+ for download and 1-3megs for upload.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Rollingstone View Post
    What speed are you paying for ?

    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - leave blank
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

    After reboot, post your new TCP Analyzer Report.

    I will try that but this won't mess up my computer in anyway can it??

  11. #11
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,001
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff1986 View Post
    I will try that but this won't mess up my computer in anyway can it??
    Nope but if your still worried, when it runs it makes a backup file of its changes in the same folder as the tcp optimzer program is in.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    8
    Well here's my new stats... I did everything you said.

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 03.01.2008 00:21
    IP address: 68.211.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 0204058001010402
    MSS: 1408
    MTU: 1448
    TCP Window: 65535 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 64768, 129536, 259072, 518144
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 52
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    Looks about the same as the last one.




    The speed seems to be a little faster which is cool.
    Last edited by Jeff1986; 02-29-08 at 11:31 PM.

  13. #13
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,001
    Try setting the MTU to 1492 and the TCP Receive window to 65340.

  14. #14
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff1986 View Post
    Well here's my new stats... I did everything you said.

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 03.01.2008 00:21
    IP address: 68.211.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 0204058001010402
    MSS: 1408
    MTU: 1448
    TCP Window: 65535 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 64768, 129536, 259072, 518144
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 52
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    Looks about the same as the last one.




    The speed seems to be a little faster which is cool.
    Your MTU should be 1492 for DSL.

    Log into your modem/router and try to set MTU (MRU) 1492 or MSS 1452.

    Reboot your comp and post TCP Analyzer Report.
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  15. #15
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    499
    Rolling stone, Sometimes you have to do the optimizer twice in order for it to stick. This person is not going to be able to log into the router I don't think. Just run the optimizer again and it should set it right.

  16. #16
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    499
    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 65340
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

    Set it to this and do it again if it dont come up right after you test it with the analyzer ok.

  17. #17
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Quote Originally Posted by jasonb31 View Post
    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 65340
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

    Set it to this and do it again if it dont come up right after you test it with the analyzer ok.
    I believe that we should make TCP Receive WIndow an Even multiple of MSS
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by jasonb31 View Post
    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1492
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 65340
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

    Set it to this and do it again if it dont come up right after you test it with the analyzer ok.
    Ok I did that.. It seems pages seem to load just a little bit faster. Here's another TCP Report... it looks the same. Maybe I can't really do anything.

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 03.01.2008 09:49
    IP address: 68.211.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 0204058001010402
    MSS: 1408
    MTU: 1448
    TCP Window: 65535 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0
    Unscaled RWIN : 65535
    Reccomended RWINs: 64768, 129536, 259072, 518144
    BDP limit (200ms): 2621kbps (328KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1049kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 51
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 000000


    SpeedGuide.net TCP/IP Analyzer

    TCP properties for IP = 68.211.150.134 (68.211.150.134)
    Browser/OS = Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.12) Gecko/20080201 Firefox/2.0.0.12
    Notes: Read the Analyzer FAQ if the above is not your IP address.
    TCP options string = 0204058001010402
    MTU = 1448
    MTU is not fully optimized for broadband. Consider increasing your MTU to 1500 for better throughput. If you are using a router, it could be limiting your MTU regardless of Registry settings.
    MSS = 1408
    MSS is not optimized for broadband. Consider increasing your MTU value.
    Default TCP Receive Window (RWIN) = 65535
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled TCP Receive Window = 65535

    Note: TCP 1323 Options need to be enabled for RWIN over 2^16 (65535).
    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other RWIN values that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    518144 (MSS x 46 * scale factor of 8)
    259072 (MSS x 46 * scale factor of 4)
    129536 (MSS x 46 * scale factor of 2)
    64768 (MSS x 46)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your TCP Window limits you to: 2621 kbps (328 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your TCP Window limits you to: 1049 kbps (131 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 51 hops
    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)

  19. #19
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,161
    Download Cablenut http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/N...CableNut.shtml and try the following settings :

    DefaultReceiveWindow = 16896
    DefaultSendWindow = 16384
    DisableAddressSharing = 1
    InitialLargeBufferCount = 200
    InitialMediumBufferCount = 480
    InitialSmallBufferCount = 640
    LargeBufferSize = 819200
    MaxFastTransmit = 64000
    MediumBufferSize = 150400
    Priority Boost = 0
    SmallBufferSize = 12800
    TransmitWorker = 32
    FastSendDatagramThreshhold = 4096
    EnableFastRouteLookup = 1
    EnablePMTUDiscovery = 1
    IgnorePushBitsOnReceives = 0
    GlobalMaxTcpWindowSize = 16896
    MaxFreeTcbs = 8000
    MaxHashTableSize = 16384
    MaxNormLookupMemory = 5000000
    SackOpts = 1
    SynAttackProtect = 1
    Tcp1323Opts = 1
    TcpLogLevel = 1
    TcpMaxDupAttacks = 2
    TcpMaxHalfOpen = 100
    TcpMaxHalfOpenRetired = 80
    TcpRecvSegmentSize = 1408
    TcpSendSegmentSize = 1408
    TcpTimedWaitDelay = 30
    TcpUseRFC1122UrgentPointer = 0
    TcpWindowSize = 16896
    MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server = 20
    MaxConnectionsPerServer = 10
    DefaultTimeToLive = 64
    DefaultUserTOSSetting = 0
    TcpMaxDataRetransmissions = 13
    DefaultTOSValue = 80
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  20. #20
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    499
    Quote Originally Posted by Rollingstone View Post
    I believe that we should make TCP Receive WIndow an Even multiple of MSS
    Ahh stupid me lol. It is for 1492 and did you even check to see if the op had service pack two before makeing him use Cable nut in that way? Jeff did you try the optimizer twice like I said?
    Last edited by jasonb31; 03-01-08 at 09:19 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. DSL to cable and back - Cannot acquire IP address
    By coil_nine in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-24-08, 11:37 AM
  2. Comcast Cable, good download speeds but high pings?
    By eidee in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-02-07, 02:45 PM
  3. Guide for fixing lost connection and speed issues on cable.
    By Rocky_Grim in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-18-07, 02:12 PM
  4. AT&T Yahoo capping DSL speeds below the paid rate?
    By Goddwyn in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-16-07, 05:12 PM
  5. cable vs dsl (is this still true? whats new?)
    By s1llym0nk3y in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-14-06, 05:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •