Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Please help diagnose this fault, really stuck at this point.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1

    Please help diagnose this fault, really stuck at this point.

    I was given a friends PC that had errors and kept on spontaneously rebooting at startup, looping on the safe mode screen. It would eventually boot up inot windows, and even if you left it in windows, after perhaps 20-30 minutes it would just shut itself off.

    I turned on the BSOD messages, and the first one was an error in config.sys, so I ran an XP Repair, which temporarily seemed to work. Then it gave me another BSOD reading fault_in_non_paged_area.

    I reseated the RAM and ran it through windiag and memtest x86 and the memory passed both tests. Again, it seemed fine, and then it started to BSOD with another message saying bad config info.

    I've replaced the RAM with two new matching sticks, and I've tried running it in singular and in pairs. In one slot one of the sticks blue screened the machine, but when I moved it, returned to normal state.

    The PSU seems fine, it's 350 watt and powering 150GB SATA disk and a Radeon x300SE. It is still having the problem of rebooting constantly, but because it's sporadic and even when the computer is left idle, I'm struggling on how to diagnose. Obviously, don't want to be buying parts for my friend if he doesn't need them. The CPU fan has also been replaced.

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,918
    Is this a homebuilt? Or an off the shelf brand?
    Is the memory compatible with the motherboard?
    What operating system? config.sys was used by Win9X, WinNT based OSs use config.nt. So config.sys should be empty.
    Clean of viruses/worms/malware?
    Windows updates?
    Latest drivers for all devices..starting with the chipset drivers for the motherboard?
    History of this computer? Clean install on this hardware, or hard drive moved intact from another PC?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Sounds like the PSU might be acting up and/or the HDD is dying.

    You said "PSU seems fine" that doesn't mean it is fine and 350watts for what your trying to run might not be enough along with the volt rails might be lower than what is needed.

  4. #4
    Switching & Routing Nerd cchooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Southern Oregon
    Posts
    245
    Look into all of the above and also: What temps are you running at? Could be heat related? ...
    Hacking router firmware since 2005

Similar Threads

  1. Access Point To Router
    By flyerspat in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-27-07, 02:20 PM
  2. DSL and Access Point
    By alex2761 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-26-07, 12:34 PM
  3. WLAN/Wi-Fi tweaking
    By anttu in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-01-06, 02:11 PM
  4. Access point speed which support a and b
    By clement_3117 in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-13-05, 05:07 AM
  5. Adding Router to a LAN point running on Domain Controller
    By CapFelix in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-21-05, 11:05 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •